We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious donuts”
Review of Donut Friar

Donut Friar
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Jackson, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious donuts”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very tasty pastry as always. My wife had the raspberry filled and I had the cinnamon and the icing filled and they were delicious. Best doughnuts in Gatlinburg for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason63755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,463
    316
    125
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White House, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hot Choclate!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We always grab a hot Choclate here and people watch in the village. Hot Choclate with whip cream will warm you up on a cold mountain night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Binkley0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“You can smell you way to this place”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

They start making the donuts at 2 in the morning. All fresh with many European type pastries as well. Love the coffee and atmosphere. Located in the Village. They offer the best selection on weekends January through March,

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppes1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unicoi, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven in doughnut form”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Somewhat pricy but well worth the price, best pastries in gatlinburg by far excellent coffee as well really nice to chill n the upstairs that many people dont notice

Helpful?
Thank DylanUnicoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent donuts, especially the coconut ones!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped by the Donut Friar on a recent trip to Gatlinburg, after reading the recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were very impressed! It was a busy Saturday afternoon, with a line winding out the door. Service was very quick though. We ordered a glazed donut, a crueller, a chocolate cruseller, and a coconut donut. Our total was around $6. All of the donuts were good, but the coconut one was awesome! Very light, mild coconut flavor, and not at all greasy. I highly recommend them! Our only regret was we didn't get to go back for a second time during our stay. I would have loved to try more flavors and taken some coconut donuts home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommytoaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donut Friar also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Donut Friar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing