We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible/ i would not let my dog stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
southcarolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible/ i would not let my dog stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2008

In feb my family and me stay at this dirty days inns. first let me say the floor was not clean at all we walk in our shoe. could not sleep. there was lights that did not work due to the plug in was on the other side of the room.ashes was in drawer and the room was clean the day before. they say. and this was a non- smoking room. there was dirty wash rags in bathroom were someone has taken a showing bed was lower on one side than the other because it was a old bed. the next day i call the desk and was told i would be charge for 3 day if i still are not. show pic to staff and got move to another room and guess what i found, a hot water tank at my door. this room was dirty to. it was not my weekend at all there.got back and complain to days inns office and all i got was sorry. i would not let my dog stay there.note they did e-mail me back and to this day i guess they don"t care.

  • Liked — when i left this placed
  • Disliked — bad weekend
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank harleycat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    277
    232
    148
    91
See reviews for
389
379
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Have just returned from a 4 day 3 night getaway to Gatlinburg, and have to say we had a great stay. This is not our first time to Gatlinburg, but was our first stay at the Days Inn Gatlinburg on the river. Very nice, newly remodeled rooms. Our room's carpeting had just been cleaned and was impressed with the cleanliness of the Inn. The staff that we came in to contact with was very helpfull and friendly. Inexpensive and worth the price we paid. It is a little walk to the downtown area, but we visit the town to walk the strip and all the shops anyway.

Helpful?
Thank Birdman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed at the Glenstone Lodge in June of 2007. We absolutely loved it! The rooms were very clean and the staff was so courteous-talk about southern hospitality!! Everyone was attentive. The front desk helped us with directions to local attractions. We even got to meet the General Manager. She was very friendly and thanked us for staying there. I highly recommend this hotel. There are a lot of hotels in Gatlinburg but this one is first class!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank suzannemccreight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We made last minute reservations, but I really wish I would have looked around first. To start with, checking in and out through all the cigarette smoke in the front office was terrible. Their prices were way to high for the ammenties you get. There's no HBO, no wireless internet. When sitting on the toilet bowl, "room 229" it would move about 6 inches on you. The childrens pool was the dirtiest pool I've ever seen at any hotel. I'm very surprised this is a Days Inn. I will never stay at another one. My company uses Days Inn for all our employee's reservations for their vacations. I work in Human Resorces, and I will personally make sure our account with Days Inn is stopped immediately. I've always used hotels.com, and I'm very disappointed they even use this branch in Gatlinburg.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank leebarnes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Georgetown, KY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

We had wanted to stay in Pigeon Forge for our post labor day trip to Dollywood, but there was a car show & the hotels which had vacancies were outrageously priced. So, we went on up the road to Gatlinburg & found there were a lot of places with reasonable rates. I am really leery of the Days Inn chain in general, but this is a really charming hotel, it was clean, the rooms were well laid out & overlooked the creek. It had a great pool, that graded from 2 feet to 5 feet deep & that was perfect for small children to play in. The hot tub was a nice feature also. The breakfast was a little bland, but all in all It was a really nice stay & we will stay there again.

  • Liked — Pool and the location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room with a fireplace
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KentuckyDollywoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. We decided to stay at Rocky Waters because my parents stayed there 2 years ago and enjoyed it, this was before the new owners took over. We had reserved a king suite. When we arrived we were booked for a 2 queen room. We found out that when we had reserved it they knew we were only going to get a Queen room but they did not try to let us know even though they had our home phone, cell phone, email address, and home address. We had booked for Rocky Waters but actually stayed in Days Inn. We had a long walk to the front and it was not very close to anything. The room was old, dingy, and dirty. The carpet was pulling away from the door ways and was not clean. The bathroom was tiny and creepy. We decided to check out after talking to the owner Bobby Patel on the phone he offered to get us a King room for the 2nd night and give us 10% off for the first night. NO THANKS! We ended up going to Zoder's Inn for the 2nd night and had a wonderful time. There are a lot of hotels to choose from and I think that this is probably the worst. Even the staff hates it here! I believe this probably used to be a nice place but the new owners have not kept it up. The staff keeps quitting and the whole experience was no fun! The only thing I can say positive is that the staff was friendly. They felt sorry for us that we chose to stay here and completely understood that we wanted to leave. The only problem was they couldn't help us because they have no authority, just the rude, unhelpful owner.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Momof3sweetgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 9, 2006

We stayed at the Days Inn Gatlinburg for our anniversary trip in March of 2006. I was not at all impressed from the moment we walked in the door. The staff as we walked in did not greet us with a friendly attitude but more of a great we have been interupted again personality, one that they kept for the duration of our stay. This hotel has rooms with balconies that look out over the water. We stayed during the week and based on parking it seems as if the hotel had maybe 10-20% of its rooms occupied during our stay. We were given a room that looked out into the street at not a pretty view. It was quiet and that was good. Housekeeping was funny. There were cobwebs in the corners of our room. Excited about going out we forgot to hang the do not disturb sign to keep the maids out. Well... they went in and made the bed THATS ALL. The best part is the bed had rather personal items on it that they moved. However they did not get obvious garbage and empty plastic cup out of the floor or wet towels out of the bathroom. The hotel did not affect how much fun we had in Gatlinburg and we will return just no to the Days Inn.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#48 of 78 in Gatlinburg
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#33 of 78 in Gatlinburg
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River

Property: Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Address: 304 Hemlock St, State Route 441/321, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing