We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friends Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Versailles, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Friends Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We enjoyed the Hotel, it was quiet and peaceful and the beds were excellent. The breakfast was great. They had everything except eggs and meat. They have remodeled some of the rooms and are going to work on the rest. They have a large pool, kiddie pool, and hot tub.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 thru 8 are almost on top of the river. We had our window open all week and really enjoyed li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonitajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    239
    207
    128
    73
See reviews for
328
334
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and i took our anniversary trip to Gatlinburg and after a lot of research decided on this hotel, i do have to say i was a little worried b/c of some reviews BUT this hotel was very nice. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a king bed. The balcony/river view was so relaxing, perfect for is to sit by at night after a long day of walking around. A big plus the window slides open and there is a screen so we slept to the sounds of the river at night! The loveseat in the room was a little stained and there were a few stains on the carpet near the door. Breakfast was good, the make-your-own waffles were very yummy but the biscuits they offered were not that great, maybe an option of some sausage or bacon would also be something for the hotel to consider (or just bring your own microwave breakfast biscuits for your room like we did) Our one complaint would have to be the hot tub jets didn't work but it was still nice to sit in anyway. The hotel is a 10 min walk from town (12-14 mins to the aquarium) The trolley does have a stop outside the hotel but everytime we waited for it it was just quicker to walk to town. Overall a very nice hotel would recommend to others. We will be back to stay next time we come to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJtrip24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

My best friend and I had planned a weekend getaway to help me get away from the stress of planning my wedding and her from the stress of school. We were so exacted and thought we had got such a great deal at Days Inn on the river, ta reviews didn't seem to bad. We were so disappointed when we checked in, the floors of the room were dirty, there were thick cobwebs behind the beds, cobwebs so bad on the balcony that I had to take tissues and clear them away so I could go out the door, dust an inch thick or more on the lights, lamps and tv. Our beds were clean but when I was looking for bedbugs I found a bug, it wasn't a bed bug, thankfully, but nonetheless it made me paranoid. There were cobwebs, spiders and bugs in the window. Thankfully the bathroom was clean, so we were still able to use the room with the clean beds and bath, but we will not be staying here again. The maids seem to need a lesson in cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smkymtnlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby P, Owner at Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apologies for the problems experienced from you room. If your room was not occupied recently enough to have cobwebs, we certainly needed to check it again before your arrival. I would like to know what room you were in so I can find out where our housekeeping inspection measures let you down. If you could please call April at the front desk and give her your contact name and room information, this will help us avoid this type of problem in the future. Again, I am so sorry and hope you will give us another chance to win back your business during your next trip to Gatlinburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Little further from town than I wanted. But we got to take phones of a bear trying to get into the garbage. Some people freaked out about it. However from the upper levels. We enjoyed it. Breakfast wasn't that bad.. read reviews saying only cereal and that was not true. Waffle maker was very nice. The room needed some minor repairs, sink leaked. great view from balcony.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcook15dq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby P, Owner at Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your trip to Gatlinburg. I am so happy you had a fun girls weekend. I agree that it is fun to see the wildlife. Hopefully, during your next trip you will see our neighbor ground hog and some of the ducks as they glide down the river. We appreciate your business and thank you again for staying at the Days Inn on the River!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

we went through gatlinburg to break up our drive from Myrtle Beach to Illinois (home) and were looking for a quiet place to get some sleep and sit see a little and this was the wrong choice. First of all, Check in was at 4 and at 4 when we showed up the room was not ready. They said it would be 20 mins so it could be cleaned. 45 mins later, the room was ready. or so they said. the room was musty, the window screen was broken. the lamp shade was melted and flaking off onto the floor. the beds were so bouncy that when my husband moved i almost fell on the floor. At midnight, I woke up and thought i heard gun shots but it was fireworks (not the hotels fault) but even with the windows shut i could hear the constant flow of semi trucks and cars driving past the hotel. ALL NIGHT LONG!! The view from the balcony was pretty, over looking a river. that was the only thing i enjoyed. I would never recommend this hotel. EVER. It was cheap but none of us got any sleep.And on the top of every piece of furniture was about a half inch of dust. The microwave had old food under it and the mini fridge was completely iced up. The hotel staff did bring us a fold out bed for a child but a spring was poking out of it. terrible, terrible terrible. All 5 of us woke up the next day with sinus problems from the dust in the room. Oh, and the toilet would not flush. i think that pretty much covers it.

Room Tip: always check reviews. i wish i had
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twhitney1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby P, Owner at Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems with your guest room. I am so sorry your room was not up to our standards. Could you please call the hotel and speak to April to let her know your name and what room you were in? This will be very helpful in fixing these issues. Again, I am so sorry and hope you will forgive us for not properly inspecting your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This Days Inn suited our needs just fine. Room was fairly large and clean. I LOVED the balcony over the river! Only complaint would be the continental breakfast: nothing but breads, cerial (out of that one morning), and waffles. Carbs carbs carbs with not a piece of fruit in sight. We only ate it twice during our five nights there. The location is close to the main "strip" but not close enough to easily walk to most things of interest. Overall it was a very nice stay and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a decent and clean hotel in the Gatlinburg area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby P, Owner at Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay with us in Gatlinburg. I am so glad you enjoyed the riverfront balcony as a great way to take in the sights of the smokies! Next time you visit, you may want to take advantage of the trolley stop by the hotel where a quarter will zip you wherever you need to go. Please come see us again soon. Again, thank you so much for choosing the Days Inn on the River!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Not the Hilton but very clean and friendly. Great location to stay while visiting Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. River running out the balcony was excellent. The beds were very clean. The free trolley was just out the back door. Will stay again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommap1462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.1 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#41 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#38 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River

Property: Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Address: 304 Hemlock St, State Route 441/321, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing