We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch for a bait and switch”
Review of Gillette Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gillette Motel
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We hand selected a room ahead of time. Charges were made to our card ahead of time. Day of arrival they said that room is no longer available, but we gave you this other room. Upon inspection the second room was no near the level of the first room but yet the same price. We asked for an equivalent room, which the front desk person replied "there is nothing we can do about it" then refused to give us a refund. No other resolutions were offered. The real kicker is I think I was talking with the owner. We cancelled and walked away, losing out on the money. When we went back into the office later they said they already rented it out, charging us and them. My husband asked "if that is so how is it you are charging us?" She then begrudgingly gave the refund

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 119 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Gillette Hotel for over 35 years when we go to Gatlinburg. Although it is not the most luxurious hotel anywhere, it is the cleanest. You can never doubt that your room and bath will be spotless. The location is also the best, just across the street from the Civic Center, and blocks to downtown. The hotel has been family owned since it was built and has a super friendly staff. I highly recommend the Gillette, the only negitive is watch the hot water it gets extremely hot fast. We have stayed several times at other hotels in town but never got the peace of mind to know our room would be clean.

Room Tip: Love the office side view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked at the last minute, the gentleman that I talked with was very nice and helpful. The rooms are a little dated, but are very clean and well maintained. The bed was super comfortable. The ladies in the office were very friendly and helpful. We definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tgree6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was my first stay at the Gillette. It has been recommended by colleagues, but I have always been a bit hesitant about staying there. I will not be hesitant any longer. It is somewhat dated, but the facility is well-cleaned and well-maintained.

I arrived without a reservation, on a Thursday night in the height of 'leaf-season', and was promptly and politely provided a room with a king bed for $75 plus taxes. The room was extremely spacious and very clean. A small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker (including a pre-packaged coffee pack with sweetener and creamer) were provided. The Wi-Fi worked well in my room. The king bed was very comfortable. Soap was available, but no shampoo. There was a hair dryer. The staff with whom I dealt were friendly and accommodating.

The Gillette's convenient location is directly across the street from the Convention Center, and it's a short walk to the Parkway's restaurants and shopping. The Gillette Motel will be on my short-list of places to stay on future trips to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meriartn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good location to down town Gatlinburg. And close to bypass roads around town. Clean rooms and grounds. We aim to please attitude. Great restaurants all within walking distance. Convention center across the street. Pigeon forge is 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestAbeOCALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel has everything you could wish for without going overboard in luxury. It was very clean with friendly staff and within walking distance of anything you wished to do. The Log Cabin Pancake House is within a very short walk and many other eating establishments. The hotel is family owned and very economical as far as your vacation budget is concerned. We had a balcony overlooking the road as well as a side balcony where a group may gather and just sit. Our refrigerator and microwave was very clean and met our needs. They actually had a room with a Jacuzzi available but we did not want to take advantage of that option. We definitely will consider staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed in this motel several times over the past 3-4 years. The rooms are big and always clean. We have previously been attending events at the Convention Center, which is directly across the street. It is close enough to the main street for a short walk , but far enough to give you a little more quite time. It is an older motel, but has always been very clean and is a very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg South
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#32 of 78 in Gatlinburg
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#54 of 78 in Gatlinburg
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reagan Resorts Inn
Reagan Resorts Inn
#40 of 78 in Gatlinburg
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillette Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillette Motel

Address: Historic Nature Trail Road, Post Office Box 231, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Gillette Hotel Gatlinburg
Gillette Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing