We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice place to stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gillette Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gillette Motel
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Boaz, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked at the last minute, the gentleman that I talked with was very nice and helpful. The rooms are a little dated, but are very clean and well maintained. The bed was super comfortable. The ladies in the office were very friendly and helpful. We definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgree6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
32
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was my first stay at the Gillette. It has been recommended by colleagues, but I have always been a bit hesitant about staying there. I will not be hesitant any longer. It is somewhat dated, but the facility is well-cleaned and well-maintained.

I arrived without a reservation, on a Thursday night in the height of 'leaf-season', and was promptly and politely provided a room with a king bed for $75 plus taxes. The room was extremely spacious and very clean. A small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker (including a pre-packaged coffee pack with sweetener and creamer) were provided. The Wi-Fi worked well in my room. The king bed was very comfortable. Soap was available, but no shampoo. There was a hair dryer. The staff with whom I dealt were friendly and accommodating.

The Gillette's convenient location is directly across the street from the Convention Center, and it's a short walk to the Parkway's restaurants and shopping. The Gillette Motel will be on my short-list of places to stay on future trips to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meriartn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good location to down town Gatlinburg. And close to bypass roads around town. Clean rooms and grounds. We aim to please attitude. Great restaurants all within walking distance. Convention center across the street. Pigeon forge is 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestAbeOCALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel has everything you could wish for without going overboard in luxury. It was very clean with friendly staff and within walking distance of anything you wished to do. The Log Cabin Pancake House is within a very short walk and many other eating establishments. The hotel is family owned and very economical as far as your vacation budget is concerned. We had a balcony overlooking the road as well as a side balcony where a group may gather and just sit. Our refrigerator and microwave was very clean and met our needs. They actually had a room with a Jacuzzi available but we did not want to take advantage of that option. We definitely will consider staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed in this motel several times over the past 3-4 years. The rooms are big and always clean. We have previously been attending events at the Convention Center, which is directly across the street. It is close enough to the main street for a short walk , but far enough to give you a little more quite time. It is an older motel, but has always been very clean and is a very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room is clean, which hearing the stories from friends in nearby hotels can be difficult to find around here. There is a small working fridge and microwave which is nice. The bed is ok, sore back in the am. Pillow are pretty bad, my friend is using her travel neck pillow because they are pathetic. The tv has been upgraded to a flat screen which is nice. Some improvements in the bathroom could make a HUGE difference - new vanity and better bathroom harware, the shower head is a bit of a joke and the towels are thin. We had really hoped for a hot tub to relax in after work, but there isn't one. Think of this as a cousin to a motel 8. The bonus of this is just that it is incredibly convnient to the convention center. A quick walk across the street and you are there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattlenailgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our second trip to Gatlinburg in the last three weeks. We stayed at the Hampton last time and I decided to go back to Gillette becuase it is so much less expensive ($79 vs $149). The Gillette is a family owned property and what you get is a large room that although dated somewhat is neat and extremely clean and the employees are very friendly. We have stayed here numerous times and always enjoy our stay. It is about a block off the main street so if you like a little more peace and quite this is perfect. They have upgraded to flat screen TV's and also have microwaves and mini-fridges in each room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 82 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#30 of 82 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 82 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel
Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel
#56 of 82 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillette Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillette Motel

Property: Gillette Motel
Address: Historic Nature Trail Road, Post Office Box 231, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Gillette Hotel Gatlinburg
Gillette Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing