We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This motel makes "Retro" cool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gillette Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gillette Motel
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
North Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This motel makes "Retro" cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

You start with a plastic key holder and actual metal key to unlock your door...but trust me when I say you will like this place. The room was spotlessly clean, even white bedspreads, white towels, tile bathroom floor, and the carpet. Every items was in perfect working order including the TV, heat/air, hair dryer, small refrigerator, and microwave. The Gillette is located right across from the Gatlinburg Convention Center so we could walk to all the shops and food easily. Be sure to checkout the old paintings in the lobby of the Gillette's humble beginnings--very interesting.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms were great for in-laws and grandkids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
32
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Gillette Motel has been our choice for the past 10 or more years. We attend wholesale shows for our business and not only is the location the best so is the overall accomodations. The rooms are always clean and the houskeeping staff is top notch and so friendly. Thanks again Gillette for another great stay will call u soon to book again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were in town for a dance competition and it could not have been a better place to stay. So very convenient - close to all major attractions and restaurants. The room was spotless and the housekeeping staff was friendly and accomodating. The front desk staff was friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. The rooms are a great size for a family or just the two of us with dance costumes and all that comes with them. Wonderful, wonderful stay! Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmbvtgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed the first weekend of Dec. 2010. We were there for the cheerleading competition at the convention center. Our room was very clean, very friendly at the front desk and quite surprised it was also very quiet. For the money you can't beat it. If you want luxury this place is not for you. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etowner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

This place saved our trip last April when we had to move out of another hotel down the road. We were able to get a nice suite with a balcony and had a pleasant stay! Husband was there for the bridge tournament and we will stay at this place again next year! It is a older no frills kind of place in a great location across from convention center!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starsoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Our motorcycle group stayed here for 5 nights in late June. The hotel staff was very courteous and made certain accomodations for our group. The rate was very fair, the rooms clean, and the cleaning staff did a great job. The hotel is well located about 2 blocks from the main street, where there are plenty of restaurants and activities. The hotel itself is far enough away from the crowds to be quiet.

This is an older hotel, family-owned, but well kept and worth the stay. The only complaint we had was the beds, which were very hard.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTxGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

I have stayed at the Gillette Motel several times and keep going back every year. My parents and I were there over the 4th of July holiday weekend and we were not disappointed. (I am an adult traveling with older parents.) My elderly dad enjoys sitting outside on the porch; the chairs are very comfortable even for him. The rooms were very clean and the staff is friendly. I have not taken advantage of the pool in recent years, but it is a good-sized pool and looks like it is still nice. The location is perfect - about 1 1/2 blocks off of the Parkway, which is not bad to walk. It is next door to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant on one side and very close to Log Cabin Pancake House on the other side. Across the street is the Convention Center and a trolly stop.

The decor is dated but is just fine. The rooms are brightly lit, which I like; I've stayed in many hotels/motels which do not have enough light and/or have a dark corner. There is a very good light over the sink for putting on makeup. I like the white cotton bedspreads for two reasons: (1) they are not heavy if you want to sleep under them, and they can be rolled down to the end of the bed if you don't need that much cover - I usually have to take the heavy comforter-type bedspreads completly off the bed at other hotels. (2) More importantly, the white cotton bedspreads can be washed and bleached right along with the sheets, so they are much cleaner than the comforter bedspreads that other hotels have and probably rarely wash.

Unlike the other posters here, I had no problem with the wireless internet. I don't know how long they have had it - their website says it is "new." I've only had a laptop available for travel for the past couple of months. It detected two wireless networks for Gillette; I tried the Network 2 and had no problems connecting or staying connected. I did notice that it times out after 24 hours and you have to re-connect, but it wasn't a problem.

Their rates are usually a little less than other motels in Gatlinburg, too. So I expect to stay there again the next time I want to stay in downtown Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastTNBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#22 of 82 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#30 of 82 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#4 of 82 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel
Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel
#57 of 82 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillette Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillette Motel

Property: Gillette Motel
Address: Historic Nature Trail Road, Post Office Box 231, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Gillette Hotel Gatlinburg
Gillette Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing