We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always where we stay when visiting Gatlinburg!”
Review of Bales Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bales Motel
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Laurens, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always where we stay when visiting Gatlinburg!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Quiet, clean rooms. Very nice staff and owners. Location of this motel is very good. We always walk downtown to the Villiage and to all the shops and eaterys. Close to trolley stations. We have been coming to Gatlinburg for 10 years or more and ALWAYS stay with bales motel. Its our home away from home. Not fancy or brand new, but we wouldnt give our money to anywhere else!

Room Tip: No elevator, only small spiral stairs or cement ramp to upper level. Fireworks going off downtown ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBeth1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a ground floor room with a kitchenette . The room was very clean, and the kitchenette had every thing we needed. The bed slept great, and the parking was good. Mr. Bales and the staff there were very friendly. This is where we'll stay everytime we return to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A simple inexpensive and clean place to stay. The rooms are always clean and the owners and staff are very nice. Very country and simple. A Great place to stay on the weekends, Close to the main strip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was the nastiest, motel I have ever been in. The shower in the room we were supposed to stay in was leaking into the office. The air conditioner was not working correctly. There were roaches in the room. There was something that looked like rat crap in the bed between the sheets. Will not ever stay there. Not a suggested stay, unless you like filth.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The photos I viewed on here before we staied did not do this place any justice, so I uploaded some to update the photos a bit. Anyway, we will definitely be returning back to this hotel next time we come to gatlenburg. It was family owned and very friendly people. My husband is active duty military and they gave us a great rate for the room. Along with that, the room was clean and a lot larger than we thought it was gonna be. It was great cause or 4 year old son was excited he has his own little room! All in all it was a great stay. And we will definitely return here next time we go through there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ng2006babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very nice and family owned. Always clean and fresh rooms! Great walking distance from all Gatlinburg shops , and attractions . Owners are very friendly and helpful, and always has a cup of fresh coffee in the mornings for you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dhill229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Bales and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The motel is older, and there is nothing fancy about it at all, but if you are looking for a clean place to stay at a great value, this is the place to stay in Gatlinburg. It is very close to the Aquarium and within walking distance to almost everything. Mr. & Mrs. Bale are so nice! The rooms are large & the beds are comfortable. The water pressure is amazing! The only downside to the room was the towels were thin & a little rough, but for the price you pay, you can overlook that. Our family will definitely be staying at Bales again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maleahscraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites
Economy Inn & Suites
#47 of 78 in Gatlinburg
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#66 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.4 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Johnson's Inn
Johnson's Inn
#41 of 78 in Gatlinburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bales Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bales Motel

Property: Bales Motel
Address: 221 Bishop Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3532
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a family-run motel in the heart of the Smokies and that means we're clean, we're quiet, we're cozy, and we're cheap. And that's all we think you need on your next vacation. Give us a try. *Closed from November to March every year.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bales Town And Country Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing