We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for great price”
Review of Bales Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bales Motel
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay for great price”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The photos I viewed on here before we staied did not do this place any justice, so I uploaded some to update the photos a bit. Anyway, we will definitely be returning back to this hotel next time we come to gatlenburg. It was family owned and very friendly people. My husband is active duty military and they gave us a great rate for the room. Along with that, the room was clean and a lot larger than we thought it was gonna be. It was great cause or 4 year old son was excited he has his own little room! All in all it was a great stay. And we will definitely return here next time we go through there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ng2006babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very nice and family owned. Always clean and fresh rooms! Great walking distance from all Gatlinburg shops , and attractions . Owners are very friendly and helpful, and always has a cup of fresh coffee in the mornings for you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dhill229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Bales and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The motel is older, and there is nothing fancy about it at all, but if you are looking for a clean place to stay at a great value, this is the place to stay in Gatlinburg. It is very close to the Aquarium and within walking distance to almost everything. Mr. & Mrs. Bale are so nice! The rooms are large & the beds are comfortable. The water pressure is amazing! The only downside to the room was the towels were thin & a little rough, but for the price you pay, you can overlook that. Our family will definitely be staying at Bales again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maleahscraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

+'s are huge room, good bed, convenient location, nice tub/shower combo in large bathroom, refrigerator, microwave, good parking, nice people running it, and good rate (BTW, the only place I have stayed in the last 15 years where you could pay upon leaving but I paid up front). The -'s are a small TV set and the lighting was a bit weak. But you get what you pay for in this old fashioned type of motel...I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tfberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bales. Very nice family,friendly and accomadating. Loved the rocking chairs outside the room! Very quiet environment
clean rooms, walking distance to downtown. Loved it can't wait till next time!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelone777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

...then this is the place for you. The Bales Motel is an older establishment in Gatlinburg that has seen better days. While the property is clean, the rooms could use a little upkeep. The toilet in my room (#206) had at least a 15% tilt to the left which made for some interesting experiences. The carpet and some pieces of furniture was stained and there were holes in the bedding. The owner was friendly and accomodating, but I honestly can't think of anything else to praise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scalba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

While this is definitely an older motel, it is clean and comfortable. It is located on a back street in Gatlinburg, which to me, is a great plus. Gatlinburg itself is an insane place with all its crazy dinner shows and tchotchke shops. And in summer, the main drag is bumper to bumper with traffic. This little motel is owned by the grandson of one of the original settlers of this area. See the Bales farm on the Smoky Mountain NP Roaring Fork motor trail. Wifi was fine, more stations than I expected on the TV, and there was a frig and microwave in the room. I'll stay here again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank novastorm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites
Economy Inn & Suites
#48 of 78 in Gatlinburg
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#67 of 78 in Gatlinburg
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Johnson's Inn
Johnson's Inn
#43 of 78 in Gatlinburg
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
0.0 mi away
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
#33 of 78 in Gatlinburg
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bales Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bales Motel

Property: Bales Motel
Address: 221 Bishop Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3532
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a family-run motel in the heart of the Smokies and that means we're clean, we're quiet, we're cozy, and we're cheap. And that's all we think you need on your next vacation. Give us a try. *Closed from November to March every year.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bales Town And Country Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing