We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$130
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$279
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gatlinburg Inn(Gatlinburg)
$159
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$249
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Edgewater Hotel(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$133
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$135
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$449
$269
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$965
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveler rating
879
180
49
23
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
180
49
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe smoky mountainsoverlooking the mountainsbeautiful propertygas fireplaceliving areashort drivegatlinburg areajacuzzi tubpigeon forgesuitesmokiesbalconyaccommodationsretreatkitchenettewoodsbear
Filter
Updating list...
1,046 - 1,051 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We have just returned from this hotel, went as a family with two children aged 3 and 5. Stayed in a gallery suite which was plenty big- the children sharing a good quality sofa bed in the separate lounge. Rooms were really charming, nicely decorated with the touches you would expect like Molton Brown in the bathrooms, lovely fluffy bathrobes etc.

The staff were very friendly and the children made to feel very welcome. The setting is stunning. Gatlingburg is well... different- very much like a an old fashioned British seaside town (minus the biting cold wind!)- all fudge shops and tacky amusements but harmless enough. Nevertheless, once you realise that the road to your hotel is taking you up and up above the town you'll be very relieved!

The walk down to the hotel's pavilion was lovely and we even saw a bear- thankfully he changed direction when he saw us- and the children played for ages in the little creek. The lift up in the army truck was a great service.

I think the time share expansion plan will change things rather a lot- go now while its still perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmumatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This is a very nice hotel in a lovely setting. A couple of miles away from the shopping and amusement park nightmare that is Gatlinburg. The room had a completely stocked kitchen so you can cook and avoid Gatlinburg restaurants too. Only drawback was unfriendly staff. At check-in they were rather snooty - we asked to make a reservation for their "fine dining". The time we wanted wasn't available so we chose an earlier time. Arrived for our reservation and we were told to wait and no one even approached us for 15 minutes. When we finally asked what was happening, they said the hostess hadn't shown up that night and they sat us (25 minutes late) in an almost empty dining room. Only 1 couple showed up after us - so don't know why we couldn't reserve the time we wanted. Don't call it fine dining and charge those high prices if you can't provide the service one expects.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calgal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

My fiancee' and I are researching places to have a wedding. We stayed at Buckberry over the weekend. The lodge was full, and we hardly noticed any other people there. We felt very catered to, and in the evening we walked down to the pavilion to drink a bottle of wine. Afterwards one of the employees drove down to the pavilion to pick us up at 10:45 at night as we were debating walking the road or the trail back to our room. The staff and service is extraordinary, and the food is excellent. The only "complaint" I would have about the entire place is the wine selection at the lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFPadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The great advantage of the Lodge at Buckberry Creek is its location, up above the horror that is downtown Gatlinburg (and the even more horrific Pidgeon Forge down the road). Campbell Lead Road is above the valley, and the Lodge sits along the road along with a number of other upscale properties, far removed from the hordes of tourists wandering aimlessly down Gatlinburg's commercial nightmare, pondering the choice of Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum versus the Hollywood Cars of the Stars museum -- all of course with the Great Smoky Mtn National Park a mile or two away.

Be aware that the 26 pristine acres promoted in the Lodge's literature are mostly straight downhilll towards the creek. The functional Lodge property is no more than a couple of acres right off the Campbell Lead road. One drives in a short driveway, and is confronted by a large parking lot, the entrance to the main Lodge and the backs of the room buildings. Visible a short distance up are other buildings and a large concrete retaining wall. There is a bit of grass on the other side of the buildings before the property plunges downwards in the woods, but the vision of a Lodge set amidst acres of verdant green grounds, lawns and paths is definitely not the reality.

The Main Lodge has been done up by the owners in fine fashion to represent an upscale Adirondack type lodge. It's quite nice. There is a reception area in which Barbour coats and other clothing of the British landed gentry are on sale (whether or not any are sold, it's a nice touch to have them on display), the "gathering room" (as they call it), a board room that presumably one could rent out for one's board meetings, and the dining room. The nicest thing about the main lodge is the wrap around porch with dining tables, and from which most of the promotional pictures on the website were apparently taken. One should be sure to eat the free continental breakfast on the porch. The views are great -- to be truthful, the views from the main lodge porch are the best thing about the whole palce -- and it is peaceful to sit out there in the morning.

The dining room -- 'fine dining" as it is advertised -- is there for the evening meal. For the price, the food and service don't come up to standards at similarly priced places in major cities, but relative to 99% of Gatlinburg places to eat, it's Buckingham Palace.

The rooms all have views, and vary in size from what i can tell. All are outfitted with wood and logs ala the Adirondack style chosen by the owners. The views seem to vary in their wonderfulness. From our suite we saw a lot of an incongrous Indian teepee perched on a hill a hundred feet away. Why it is there I do not know, but one can climb up to it and peer inside if one is so inclined. But the mountains are certainly visible in the distance.

The rooms have luxury toiletries and are on the whole pretty nice. Ours had a kitchen. Two rooms. Frequent travelers will be able to see missing details and style points that would be usual at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, but on the whole the rooms are good. And, should I say it again, for Gatlinburg, wonderful.

The prices are not outrageous compared to big city standards. We paid at the Lodge about what we had paid earlier in the week at the Opryland Hotel in Nashville for a standard room.

The directions offered on the website cleverly direct the incoming guest to wind his her way through the GSMNP and come up the Gatlinburg bypass, thus neatly avoiding Gatlinburg proper all together. Great idea. One can us the bypass and travel down into the park and actually accomplish one's entire stay at the Lodge without setting foot in downtown Gatlinburg. Which is a great idea as well, unless one has sociological impulses to study mass tourist behavior.

There appear to be some efforts underway by the owners to extract more income from their property by moving into a timeshare operation "The Buckberry Residence Club". There are pamphlets in the rooms and main Lodge and at least one sign on the property. But these efforts appear to have been stillborn by the recessionary economy for the moment. Should they pick back up, and new construction begin, the character of the place could be changed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newjerseycommentator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This place was amazing! My husband and I found this place after staying in a terrible time share... We decided to spend our own money and stay the rest of our trip at the Lodge. This place is nestled up in the Smokey Mountains, right on the edge of the Smokey Mountain National Park. The whole place is luxurious, classy, romantic, and so beautiful! The food was delicious. (A little pricey, but worth it!) If you are willing to spend a little bit o money and spoil yourself, you will have a beautiful and relaxing time here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmh509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews