We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Once Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We planned a 27 mile 2-night overnight hike in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park to continue our quest of hiking all the trails in the Smokies. What better way to pamper yourself ahead of time than staying at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek! We LOVE staying there. The rooms are roomy and comfortable. We had a delicious dinner with a beautiful view of the mountains and of couse the staff is delightful. We will continue to use The Lodge as our base of operations for many more of our hikes. You don't have to hike to enjoy it either. It is very convenient to Gatlinburg and also just sight-seeing in the Park.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
278
630
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Located high above Gatlinburg with scenic mountain views, we stayed in a small suite that was clean, comfortable, and dark at bedtime. Continental breakfast (no extra cost) was delicious, but limited, with excellent service. Full breakfast can be ordered for additional cost. Restaurant hours and days are limited, so you may need to go off site for dinner and/or lunch. Kitchen in suite is available for meal preparation, as an alternative to eating out. A great place to relax and take in the mountain scenery.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Beautiful view of Great Smokey Mountains in Tenn and NC. Excellent breakfast, bed and accommodations. Need a GPS to find lodge in mountains but worth the trip. IN Gatlinberg Tenn but close to NC and at entrance to the Smokey Mountains and Dollyville.

Room Tip: on-site free parking. Fall / spring colors amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I spent 6 nights there and ate two dinners and several breakfasts there. The room was very nice, especially the modern and spacious bathroom. The balcony is a little small and cramped but it did not detract from the experience. The dining was excellent and the overall service was great. The location is very convenient to the Park. all in all, we would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just stayed there this past week to celebrate my 5th wedding anniversary. Beautiful place, rustic, heavenly retreat in the Smokey Mts. Rooms are great and have majestic views. The staff are great. The restaurant is very good however the portions are on the smaller side for the price you pay....It's not the Ritz Carlton by any means but its the best place to stay in Gatlinburg. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were going to stay in Maryville en route to Nashville but at the last minute we stayed at Buckberry Creek. It was a little oasis, especially when we ventured into Gatlinburg and saw the awfulness of all that was on offer there!
The welcome at the front desk was wonderfullly efficient and well..welcoming.
Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed the night we arrived at the Lodge so we had to go into town. That was a shame....But we had a lovely restful night and breakfast in the morning was very nice -no plastic utensils or crockery that we had come to expect on our trip to the USA!!

Room Tip: Our 'unit' was large and overlooking the woods - sun soaked in the morning. Serene and wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our first visit to the Buckberry Lodge...and it will most likely be our last.
Since we arrived 2 hours before check-in time, the front desk took my cell phone number and said she would call when our room was ready...she never called. The place is beyond rustic and needs some TLC. The rooms and fireplaces are great but need the carpets, TV's and some of the wood laminate updated. The screen door for the balcony appeared to have had a run-in with a runaway child and is in tatters. The mattress on our bed had that nice, broke in feeling. You know, the one with the hammock sag in the middle. I definitely expect better for $293.00 per night.
The rooms do have kitchenettes and I advise using them in lieu of the restaurant, unless you like "fine" dining at "fine" prices. Being first-timers, we made diner reservations for our one night there. The food we received was good but not great. We've dined in "fine" restaurants before and are okay with higher prices but this was definitely sticker shock. Two small steaks about the size of a small cell phone, two slightly larger portions of sides, and sodas for $125.00 plus tip. The biggest surprise was the drinks. After receiving a glass of soda each, we had them refill the glasses one time each and then asked for a soda to go. When I looked at the bill, they had charged us $3 each for the refills and the "to-go" sodas for a total of $18. I wish they would have told us about the refills being extra, just to be courteous about it.
Over all, we will most likely stay somewhere else on our next trip to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry that your room was not available until check-in time, which was why you did not get a call before then. As a note, we are just entering a building renovation and room refresh phase here at Buckberry.
We have repaired the screen door; they sometimes get battered in the wind up here on the mountain and require a quick adjustment.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience as most of our guests do. The chef and his team try very hard to offer innovative and interesting dishes that vary each night. Your comments did provoke retraining with the restaurant staff regarding non-alcoholic drinks; refills, and pricing. We always want to use these opportunities to make needed changes and adjustments for the benefit of our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to wildfire. No re-open date yet. Visiting our rustically elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 44 luxurious individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing