We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place/great wedding venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Amazing place/great wedding venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just attended a wedding at Buckberry and were completely amazed by the beauty of the lodge. There are million dollar views and incredible rooms that all have such a rustic and romantic feel. We were given first class service by everyone and have already looked at coming back later this fall. This is the ideal place for a wedding and will recommend Buckberry each chance I get. Thanks for the great service and we will back soon!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
278
630
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, LA
Level Contributor
527 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wish I could give the Lodge more that 5 stars - we are absolutely in love with this place. The décor is great felt like a real camp in the Adirondacks, but it is luxury all the way. We had a beautiful living room, large full kitchen, amazing huge bedroom with a king size bed and a bathroom to die for. There was a very large double vanity, very large whirlpool tub, and separate tile shower. The sliding glass doors went out onto a patio. We had a magnificent view of the mountains. I do wish we had been one floor up so that we would have had one of the small balconies, but still the accommodations were wonderful. We never turned on our cell phones, TV or lap top in two days and had the most perfect relaxing time. We ate breakfast twice - once the full breakfast from a menu and once a continental breakfast (which was included in the price of the room). Both were very, very good. We also had dinner there twice. Food was good but not spectacular - still the best you will find in Gatlinburg for gourmet meal. Prices are a little high, but to be expected for the location and quality of food. We were fortunate to have nice enough weather to sit outside for all four meals so we could enjoy the views - which can't be beat. I can't wait to return! The staff is outstanding! Friendly, warm, and couldn't do enough for us. After watching the traffic in downtown Gatlinburg, why would you not want to stay in the beautiful, quiet and secluded place. As for the room amenities - great shampoo, conditioner, and wonderful large white towels. Kitchen is well equipped as well with coffee, tea and hot chocolate.

Room Tip: Building 3 is probably the best for views. Ask for 2nd level or, if you want a wood burning fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewOrleansfirstgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I, and ann looked up this resort and it looked beautiful. We called and asked for a 2 bedroom, kitchen and most of all, a view. We were told we were getting a 2 bedroom and they charged our bank card for $367 dollars right away. We drove 8 hours to Buckberry Creek Lodge. When we got there our room was downstairs with NO view, but of the bottom of trees. When we opened the door, the room was filthy with old food, beds not made, the couch was pulled out with sheets and pillows everywhere. The bathroom has hair and other unmentionable things. We called the front dest imediatly and asked them to come look at the room. We were also upset because it was one bedroom with one bathroom. They said they would give us a free upgrade to one king bed for us to share, for our trouble. We did not plan for us to all sleep in one bed! Then they took a week to credit us our $367 back to our bank. We were forced to find another hotel with our 367 dollars out of our account. NO consideration from them at all!!!! They put us out and did not give our money back for a week!!!!!! They lied about the bedrooms and expected 2 couples to share the same bed and bathroom for $367 dollars. We stayed at the Hilton on River Rd, by the main strip in Gatlinburg for 159 each a night and has the most wonderful service, rooms were very clean and it was walking distance for everything. Wish we never wasted our time at The Lodge of Buckberry Creek!!!

Room Tip: Go to Hilton on River Rd or rent a cabin in the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Kristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
As our Front Desk Manager expressed to you over the phone, the owners and staff are truly sorry that you were sent to a room that was not fully clean and ready for your arrival. As you know, even after you left us, we tried to offer you a tangible apology. We wish that you could have taken us up on the manager’s offer for a free meal (for all of you) in our fine dining restaurant, with no requirement to stay with us, which was a $200 value.

Regarding the refunded monies: we voided your payment in our system immediately, so that it was as if it never occurred. This was done to insure a quick elimination of any holds on your credit card. Any delay in refund you did experience was from your own bank’s processes, not due to a delay in our actions or our bank’s processes.

It is unfortunate that we could not find an appropriate room configuration to please you before you left that night. For everyone’s information, we do not have (nor ever had) 2 bedroom units here. The agent on the phone could not have offered what we do not have. It is clear that there was some profound miscommunication in the attempt to accommodate your last minute reservation.

The Lodge at Buckberry Creek is an all-suite hotel. The suites range through three sizes, all with one very large bathroom accessed through the bedroom. The smallest suite is a studio-type layout with a king bed, and a queen sleeper sofa in the sitting area. The next size up is a one bedroom suite with either a king bed or 2 double beds in the bedroom, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living room. The largest suite is over 900 sq. ft. and is always a king bed and bedside fireplace in the bedroom, with a large living room containing a queen sleeper sofa. For guests that need multiple rooms, we have a small number of connecting suites.

Given time that night, we would have tried to find and offer you two rooms near each other. We do understand why you decided to leave immediately and find another place to stay, and only gave us the opportunity of a phone conversation after your departure to try to make amends for the calamity of that night.

To send a guest to a room that was not perfectly clean and inspected, even when by accident, is anathema to all the service goals to which we aspire. The embarrassment from this event felt by the management and owners is sincere. This entire event is definitely an aberration of the quality of care and service our guests can, and do, expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We love it here! It was rustic and beautiful. The suite was roomy and comfortable. The view was breathtaking. The only drawback was that our kids were tired from the ride so we didn't feel up to going to the restaurant. The only place that had delivery let their delivery person go, so I had to drive to Pigeon Forge to pick something up. This wasn't a huge deal. We loved staying here and would do it again. The staff are very friendly and the property is well kept and gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferwelsh3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for our 27th anniversary. We stayed in a third floor suite which had a fantastic view of Mt LeConte from the bedroom. There was also a folding door/window that allowed you to see the view from the jacuzzi tub in the bath. There was a private balcony and a real wood burning fireplace. We splurged and had an in room couples massage, which I was a little leery about. It turned out great. The spa folks were extremely friendly, professional and state licensed. They recommended a dinner reservation but it seemed as though there was plenty of seating for walk-in dining. The cuisine was exceptional. This place is a true jewel of the Gatlinburg area, so expect to pay the price for such an experience.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor if you want better views or a lower floor if you don't want to carry everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramage54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lee , new jersey
Level Contributor
577 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I spotted this lodge online while searching for accommodations around Smoky Mountain National Park. Decorated as a great camp of the Adirondacks in upstate New York it reminds one of The Lake Placid Lodge or The Point. Congrats to Buddy & the two other owners! Our room was constant in the theme with a great view of the Smokies. The restaurant was excellent. Few steakhouses offer the quality of the tenderloin they offer. Breakfast or dinner on the deck offers a great view with a gracious staff. Only drawback was the fireplace smell in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfbmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for selecting The Lodge at Buckberry Creek for your recent stay in the Smokies! We are always pleased to hear of guests enjoying our property as much as we do.
Just a note for everyone, the fireplaces on the top floors are all real wood burning fireplaces, as opposed to gas on the other floors - and unlike other hotels and cabins in the area, we allow our guests to use the fireplaces all year round. Which is why these guests might have smelled a slight lingering odor of wood smoke in their room - from the last guests' use of the fireplace. If these is an unpleasant odor for you, please request a lower level room. We want your stay to be as perfect as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I went in April with a friend. The room is decorated in full wilderness theme with log beds, etc. we had a fireplace, small kitchen and great balcony with a view that was amazing. We ate breakfast there on the outdoor area. The food was great, well priced and again amazing views. They have a sitting area by the creek and they light a fire in the fireplace and fire pits every night. There are blankets if its cold, seating for about 20 and a bathroom which is great because it is a mile walk uphill back to the resort. But if that is too much, which it was for us one night after a 13 mile hike earlier in the day, you just call the resort and they will drive down and pick you up. They have a great bar area with comfortable couches, tables and views for a happy hour. The only reason I didn't give it a fifth star was our room was a little warm and it was only April. We called and said our air wasn't working and they sent someone to fix it, but when we returned from our hike it was still a balmy 80* in the room. We had to sleep with the deck door open. So I would never go there in the heat of the summer. We didn't ask to be moved, so maybe other rooms are ok. The location is only 5 minutes from all the stuff in Gatlinburg, however it is so remote looking, you think you are all alone in the Smokies. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We encourage all our guests to let us know immediately whenever there is a problem, and give us the opportunity to fix it for you. We certainly would have moved you to another suite when the repair did not effect the desired result! All our guest room rooms have modern heat/air for the comfort of our guests, which are all generally in top working order. We are sorry to hear that this one issue, that could have been fixed, marred your vacation time with us. Please do come back, we would like to make sure you have the best holiday in the Smokies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to wildfire. No re-open date yet. Visiting our rustically elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 44 luxurious individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing