We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place completely exceeded my expectations. The lodge was beautiful, the rooms were amazing, and of course you can't beat the views. We did not realize that July 4th weekend is one of the busiest and so Gatlinburg was completely overwhelmed. We went into town one afternoon and never went back. But once you're back up in the mountains at the lodge, it's like no one else exists. If we're ever back in this area, we will definitely stay here again! Fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
279
631
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompey, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As you may already know, the majority of Gatlinburg is a very busy tourist trap. However, the Lodge at Buckberry Creek is the exact opposite. With it's Adirondack great camp architecture, the lodge looks as if it belongs with the woods. It is a perfect place to relax in a peaceful wooded setting. As you sit on your own private porch, the only thing you hear are birds and the creek running through the trees below. The attention to detail is impeccable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The staff makes you feel as though you are staying with family. The concierage (Helen) is extremely helpful and just a delight to talk with. The day starts with fresh, delicious pastries, that are baked by the lodge's chef, on the porch of the main lodge overlooking the smoky mountains and ends with fresh baked cookies on your bed at night. The rooms are very clean and well appointed. The pavillion at the creek is incredibly relaxing. There is a fireplace, comfortable rocking chairs, Adirondack chairs, a hammock, a CD player with nature CDs available, an outhouse (the best we've ever seen, complete with chandelier) and a phone to call up to the lodge. A friendly staff member will drive you to and from the creek, or you may walk. The only thing this lodge is missing is a pool, but they have plans to build one in the near future. However, there is a jacuzzi in every suite. Other perks include free use of a washing machine and dryer, in-room massages (extra fee), or you can order s'mores and the fire will be built and waiting for you along with all the fixings. It is close to the center of Gatlinburg but far enough away to leave it all behind. This is a relaxing gem that feels like home. This was our first visit and we plan to return to the lodge. If you decide to stay here you will not be disappointed...a perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MercsMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was everything I hoped for and more! A beautiful rustic lodge with beautifully appointed rooms all with a lodge theme. We stayed only one night which was a mistake, it just wasn't long enough! We took the trail down to the creek, this is a must for anyone staying here. The hammock by the creek was so relaxing. We had dinner at the restaurant and sat out on the deck to enjoy the most beautiful view. Food and service were excellent. I hope to visit again some day and bring kids and grand kids who would all love this place. We did not see any bear while at the lodge, but there had been recent bear activity! Very convenient location to the Park, and just far enough away from downtown Gatlinburg. I highly recommend the Lodge at Buckberry Creek!

Room Tip: We were in building 5, I would request building 3 if available as I think they may have the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had such a wonderful night at Buckberry last Saturday night. It never disappoints. We stayed in one of the top floor suites and they really have nailed the whole "rustic elegance" thing in the styling and feel of the property. You feel well taken care of here. You feel you've escaped. You breathe more deeply, looking out over the mountains and rolling clouds.

We happened to be on a last-minute getaway for our wedding anniversary and even on such short notice, the staff at Buckberry really rolled out the red carpet for us. We arrived to chilled champagne and dessert waiting for us in our suite! Perfect. It happened to be a very rainy and drizzly night and even though it was summer, it was very mild that night and I managed to talk my husband into lighting the wood-burning fire in the living room fireplace. And sitting there by the crackling fire in that beautifully-decorated Adirondack suite, sipping our champagne with a view of the mountains off our balcony...well, it just does not get better.

Such a great place to press the "reset" button and we feel like we've really gotten away and breathed in the Smokies. Buckberry is the only option for travelers to Gatlinburg who desire an experience that is head and shoulders above every other hotel in the area. There is just no one else at their level.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L_B_Douglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
263 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We are returning guests to Buckberry and stayed over the July 4th holiday. We love the Adirondack feel of the lodge and the view of the mountains is spectacular. Seeing the fog roll in and out in the mornings truly defines why they're called "smoky mountains". Sitting on our deck watching the Ober Gatlinburg tram cars go up and down the mountains, hearing the birds sing, and enjoying the large comfortable room brings us back. It was nice having a full working kitchen even though we only used the coffee pot! The homemade scones and pastries for breakfast on the porch is a wonderful way to start the day. The staff, especially Helen, are helpful and friendly. With only 44 units the property is quiet so you can enjoy the outdoors. The landscaping and the grounds are well kept. If there is one concern it would be the sign for the entrance is small and guests not familiar they might miss it.

Room Tip: Rooms in Building 4 on the 3rd floor have above tree-line views and can see the tram cars go up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a great stay at the lodge. Very quiet area with amazing amenities! Awe inspiring views and the most down to earth staff and owner (who was amazingly hospitable). Highly recomeend eating at the restaurant, we had an amazing beef tenderloin meal that was out of this world. Exceeded expectations in every category!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good location. Clean rooms. Bad customer service. The ladies at the front desk all seemed busy on some paper work, so I waited and finally asked "Can someone help me here?". One lady came out and gave me the direction to the trail with a very rude attitude. On check out they overcharged us. After I checked their web site and called to dispute, they claimed that the web site information was not updated! I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAXCAT125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to wildfire. No re-open date yet. Visiting our rustically elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 44 luxurious individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing