We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, and comfortable with beautiful scenery!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our family of four stayed hear in early April and had a very nice time. Well kept, spacious room with a large bathroom (large shower and seperate tub) and nice kitchen ammenities. Comfortable bed with decent linens. The Molton Brown toiletries were a treat also! We had one bedroom and a convertible couch for the kids in the living area. Nice deck with beautiful view. I believe the name of our room was the "Dancing Bear" in building 3 - right next to main building.

The resort is beautifully decorated...definitely a "lodge" feel. Beautiful fireplaces, nice lounge area with lots of pictures of the history of the Smokies. Also many "stuffed" animals. We did walk the trail on the property as well which was a nice hike.

We had the continental breakfast most days which consisted of coffee, juice, pastries, cereal, fruit and yogurt. Plenty to get you started for the day. There is also the option of ordering off of a menu for breakfast. Dining area is has limited seating, but very nice and cozy. We also ate dinner one evening in the restaurant and it was fantastic - we reserved the evening before and the dining room was full when we ate so I recommend making reservations if you plan to eat dinner there. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this lodge but I do have to give one piece of advice - Campbell Lead Rd is super twisty and turny, especially if you take it into Gatlinburg where it branches off behind the Aquarium. I was white-knuckling it the whole trip. The Bypass isn't nearly as bad. Keep it in mind if that kind of thing bothers you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jldsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

The best part of this room was the balcony with a view toward the mountains. We sat out and watched the sunset. The suite was spacious and comfortable, although the TV was small and dated. The lodge is a bit out of the way, but it feels well-removed from the bustle of Gatlinburg. Nice common room in the lodge.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony looking out toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Several rooms/suites have a view of an overgrown berm, some tv remotes don't work, horrible location for enjoyment of local sites. Restaurant food overpriced and subpar...carrot shreds in Gazpacho? Soup portion that barely covers the bottom of the bowl. Pasta sauce (filled with carrot shreds) tasted an awful lot like the soup. Allot an hour and a half minimum for dinner. Continental breakfast is equivalent to that of an Econolodge.
Skip this place...you can do much better.

Stayed: April 2013
7  Thank Florab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL37738, Owner at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

I would like to answer these comments specifically:
Most all of our suites have mountain views. There are a couple on the garden level that do look out onto the natural topography (of an incline) with mountain views above. Then there are some that have partially wooded/partially mountain views. Our Lodge is in the natural environment. As the owners, we did not clear the mountainside to create unobstructed views, but left the land as original as possible with curves and vegetation.
All TV remotes usually work, unless batteries go out, just like at home. Guests just need to make sure they are using the bedroom TV remote on the bedroom TV, and the living room TV remote on the living room TV.
Our guests enjoy the location (as you can read in the other reviews). We are less than 2 miles up the mountain from downtown Gatlinburg, away from the crowds and noise, but very easy in and out to get to the National Park or down to Pigeon Forge. Most of our guests want to be away from the tourist strip and enjoy the Park surroundings.
Our restaurant is highly rated, and enjoyed by thousands of guests. It is one the few fine dining venues in our area. When we host special packages that include a tasting menu, we are giving our guests a dining experience that allows them smaller portions of multiple courses to fully enjoy a full, well-rounded, and diverse meal. We hope that our guests will enjoy a long leisurely dinner; where they purposely will not be rushed out of their seats to accommodate an over-booked schedule. And yes, our menu changes daily and will include chef inspired creations, not typical brand store fare.
Other hotels rarely have fresh baked pastries including scones in their free breakfast offerings.

It is so rare when we have a guest that looks at life as a glass half empty after leaving our lodge; where we go above and beyond to try to please them, especially when one of the owners get involved. But in this case after 4 moves, we still could not please.

If you are hoping for a unique and original place to stay when in the Smokies, where you will be treated like a guest in the old style of accommodation, relaxation, serenity, and in sync with the natural environment; we hope you will consider staying with us. If you enjoy a vacation experience without the pressures of crowds, time, and the cookie-cutter hotel experience; then we hope you, also, will consider staying with us. If this doesn’t sound like your ideal getaway, then you might want to ‘skip this place’ after all. But, we hope you will consider the value of what we offer that no one else in our vicinity does: a family owned and operated independent 4-diamond hotel, a beautifully designed and appointed lodge, with quality service, natural environment and panoramic views, and luxury accommodation and dining - all on the top of a mountain adjacent to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights with our two girls, 12 and 6. It was a real convenience to have the full kitchen and the fireplace was a big hit. We had beautiful views and my little one cried when we had to leave. She wanted to move there. It is very close to the bustle of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge but allows for you to get away from the neon of both places. The free breakfast options are limited but you can pay for a full breakfast with eggs, etc. Regardless, it is nice to be able to just walk to the main dining hall for a few pastries, granola, mild and juice.

Room Tip: Only the third floor units in our building had 'real' fireplaces. The others had gas firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Totally loved this resort - it felt isolated, quiet, peaceful but was quite close to everything and the crowds of people who visit the area. We had a gallery suite - had room for all 5 of us - ( 3 kids)_ plenty of space for our weeks worth of luggage - and a kitchenette - for making picnic food for hiking. We loved making fires, hiking the small trail at the resort - and eating, relaxing by the stream. We ate dinner in the resturaunt 3 times - great each time. Breakfast was only cereal, fruit, and danish, but fine. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Would happily return for a visit.

Room Tip: likes the higher floor - but depends if you want to see trees only - or other hotels and lights in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We didn't stay on property, just ate dinner there and it was THE best dinner in Gatlinburg! Zac was a great server. Not only did he serve us, he entertained us, informed us, took our picture, and generally did everything he could to make our dinner special. The staff was extremely pleasant and acommodating from the time we got in the parking lot to the time we left. And the food was outstanding! It truly was a 5 star quality dinner. The drive up was beautiful, as it really is UP the mountain. The view was perfect. We will definitely be going back and recommending this to everyone.

Room Tip: Get an early reservation so you can either sit outside or sit by the window to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMF2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Gatlinburg is all fun but at some point it is nice to come back to some sanity. This is the place..... The owner (Buddy) is involved and such a nice person and the staff is great too. They accomodate you any way they can. The food and dining room are great which is a BIG step above downtown Gatlinburg. Love the vibe of the place! Fireplaces in the rooms, great detail to the little things, and a special feel that can't be explained in this posting. I would come back to Gatlinburg just for this place which is saying a lot since I am not from even close to this area!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bufind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#6 of 78 in Gatlinburg
718 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $165 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek has brought the elegance of the “Great Camps” of the Adirondacks to the pristine beauty of the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Designed to reflect the retreats created in the Adirondack Mountains over 100 years ago by some of the East Coast’s wealthiest families, Buckberry Lodge pampers guests with the true natural grandeur of the Adirondack architectural style. Nestled away high above Gatlinburg, Tennessee, The Woods building offers 14 luxury-suite rooms from 600 square feet to 750 square feet. Rooms feature fireplaces, private balconies, bathrooms with separate showers and Jacuzzi tubs. The majority of our suites have a King bed but we do have a few rooms with 2 Double beds. Rest, recharge, and relax within your suite or enjoy the area attractions of Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains. Our property is less than 2 miles from the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and all the beauty it holds. We are also less than 2 miles from Downtown Gatlinburg. There is a firepit which overlooks Mt. LeConte – a great spot to unwind & relax. Although we have experienced a great loss since the November 28th fire, we are very fortunate to have The Woods building to share with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek for your Smoky Mountain lodging destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing