We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mountain getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great mountain getaway”
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Just like most people have said, the Lodge is a great place to get away for the weekend. It was our first trip to Gatlinburg and we were impressed by the size of the place. Very touristy - lots of gift shops and pancake houses, and FULL of tourists everywhere. Bring your patience. The Lodge provided a nice retreat from that madness. It is by far the nicest of the places we saw there. Set high up on the mountain (watch the roads during bad weather, not an easy drive), it provides great views. The rooms are very comfortable. The bathrooms are very elegant, the rooms are more rustic in their decor. They have lots of nice service touches (free sodas and bottled water, cookies on your bed every day). And they serve a decent breakfast in the main lodge which I believe is included in all rates. One note - if you want a wood burning fireplace, ask for a unit on the top floor. I believe all the others have gas fireplaces. Overall, a nice break from city life, and a great place to stay while getting away.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank alandubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
279
631
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

My wife and I went to the Lodge at Buckberry Creek for a weekend getaway without kids. First, I want to say that management was very helpful, and honored a gift certificate we had for our stay that had expired. They were very courteous and could not have been more helpful.

The property is beautiful and has great views. The lodge is extremely well-done and very classy while exuding a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are huge - we had the middle sized room of the three choices, and it had a living area and a separate bedroom that were very large and spacious. We have traveled extensively, staying at Four Seasons hotels, Rosewood properties, and other luxury hotels, and we thought the rooms were very nice and comfortable (although not quite the level you would expect from a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton -- the rooms are a tad less luxurious and have a more rustic feel, as you would expect given the location).

The food was excellent, and surpassed my expectations. It far exceeded what was the supposedly best restaurant in Gatlinburg (the Cherokee Grill), which was scarcely better than an Applebee's or something like that. If we return, I won't go eat in Gatlinburg at all. In fact, I would avoid Gatlinburg altogether. It is junky and trashy, and its really pretty sad it was developed in that manner given its proximity to the Smoky Mountains National Park (it is right next to the park). The lodge is virtually within the park, and is a great launching place for hikes and drives within the park. On the day of our departure, we saw a black bear crossing the road near our room.

Lastly, if you have a chance to drive to Asheville to see the Biltmore, its worth the 4 hour round trip.

In sum, the Lodge was a great experience and I would not hesitate to return or to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, MS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Just returned from a four night stay at the Lodge at Buckberry Creek ( we had been guests at Buckberry also in October 2006 ) with part of our family. We had a Lodge and Gallery Suite in the Woods building on the third floor and over all we were very pleased with our rooms and service. Two maintenance issues ( broken bath tub drain and turn lock to patio door were taken care of very promptly ). We did enjoy the wood burning fireplaces which were in the third floor rooms–our previous stay had been on second floor level rooms which featured gas log fireplaces. We took the .5 mile walking trail to the Pavilion Saturday morning where we enjoyed the fire pit area, the fire place and sitting area in the Pavilion itself and the TV for watching some SEC football. Due to the drought that Tennessee and much of the mid-south is experiencing the creek water level was down somewhat. A call the front desk got us a quick pick-up by the Lodge's Swiss military vechicle that seems to be their version of a Hummer/Jeep.

We enjoyed dinner in the Lodge's dining room on Friday night. As noted in other reviews the menu is not large, but our food was prepared as ordered and served by a very attentive staff in a timely manner. During our stay in Gatlinburg we also enjoyed dinners at the Cherokee Grill, the Park Grill and at the Buckhorn Inn. The Buckhorn offers a preset dinner only at 7:00pm and by reservation only (menu can be viewed on their website). The Cherokee Grill and Park Grill do not take reservations but do offer "Call Ahead" seating. Just call and provide your name, party number and dinner time and they will place you ahead of those who have just "walked-up" to get on the dinner list.

We spent part of one day shopping in the outlet areas of Pigeon Forge/ Sevierville and found the best shopping (Brooks Brothers, Coach, Polo,etc. )at the Tanger Oaks outlet in Sevierville. Traffic can be intersesting at certain times of the day here.

Again our experience at the Lodge at Buckberry was very good and we hope to return again. After seeing what is available in Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge I think the owners have a premier facility

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank OrthoDoc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

What claims to capture the "splendor of the great American camps of the Adirondacks" is, in fact, just a hastily constructed hotel (albeit on a beautiful piece of property) with lots of stuck-on
"logs" and Eddie Bauer-style kitsch. The room was quiet and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and accommodating, but this hotel, in my opinion, is not worth the price.

When we checked in we were assumed to be members of a large convention group which was staying there. The dining room was reserved for this group, and frankly, we felt like we didn't really belong there.

You wouldn't go to Manhattan for the hiking and you don't go to Gatlinburg for sophisticated elegance. Smoky Mountains National Park is one of the most beautiful and primitive natural places on earth, and Gatlinburg is what it is. I recommend that you stay someplace
"real" and spend your money on Aunt Mahalia's homemade taffy and a good pair of hiking boots.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
13 Thank Imokyrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaroslaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

The Lodge was not easy to find, but once there it was worth the tortuous drive up the mountain.
We had a rather large suite, living room/kitchen, bedroom and large bathroom. Two wood burning fireplaces. Great views.
Exceptionally clean, unique and quiet. Rustic sophistication.
You must take the easy hike down to the creek! The owner told us we must. We did, and we liked it! You will too!

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tommmmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Had a wonderful one night stay in mid-September. Wish we could have stayed longer. Others have described the facilities well so I won't repeat. We arrived a few hours before check-in time, and our room wasn't ready. We were given directions to town, with an offer to call us on our cell phone just as soon as the room was ready, which they did. One of the owners introduced herself to us as well, and showed us some fall pictures of the the landscape of the leaves as they change. We didn't do dinner there, but did the continental breakfast. Nothing fancy, but fresh muffins, pastries, plus choice of juices, cereals, etc. Very, very nice, plus of course one could order a full breakfast. They did have an "advertising" in the room indicating they plan to put a pool in one day ... I suspect for the teens this place could be viewed as BORING ... but leave the kids home! Not overpriced at all compared to similar properties I have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

This place has the concept of rustic luxury figured out. We were lucky to get an upgrade to one of the upper-level rooms, a true suite. The appointments and details were really wonderful; I really felt like I was on vacation when we checked in. The staff were extremely accommodating. Food at the restaurant was very good, though choices were somewhat limited and the wine list needs a complete revamp. Very nice separate living room with a deck off of it, jacuzzi tub, comfortable bed, robes, and complimentary beverages in the fridge. Our room actually had a real kitchen so you could even cook if you wanted to. Definitely would recommend this to anyone really looking to relax.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bunnies88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to wildfire. No re-open date yet. Visiting our rustically elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 44 luxurious individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing