We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton Ga
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek. We loved it! The room was great. We had a terrific view with a porch to enjoy it from. Breakfast was delicious. I wish we had eaten dinner with them instead of the mediocre, rushed meal in town.
We thought our room rate was a good value. I've stayed in more polished places, but none that were any more comfortable than this one. We will definitely visit again and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
278
631
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placida, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed one night and loved it. The staff was incredible, the decor outstanding, the comfort top notch. The view was wonderful. You feel as if you are away from it all, but the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg was only moments away. I bit higher priced then the chains in downtown Gatlinburg, but well worth every single penny. We have stayed all over the U.S. and this is my favorite experience by far. The owner was even up and about at breakfast to make sure everyone was enjoying their stay - WOW.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Lovely wooded rustic lodge..great spacious rooms..with great views of the unspoiled smokies..peaceful quiet. Fits in perfectly with the mountains.
Delicious food at the restaurant...although its fine dining at dinner can be quite pricey, I definitley recommend this place. They have kitchens in the room so you can buy groceries and cook your own food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joann82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our four night stay was very relaxing. The view is extraordinary and being away from the noise and "glitter" of the more intense tourist areas is welcome. Our rooms were comfortable and well cared for. Only two nits. The shower head is poor quality and leaks. No big deal. And the "included continental breakfast" is three steps down from a Sleep Inn. I guessed it may have beeen designed to encourage you to order the not-included custom fare from the kitchen instead. Still, overall the view and the quiet overcome a lot.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 27countriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Bottom line up front: This is the best place we could have possibly stayed at in Gatlinburg, TN. It was everything we could have expected and more. It is located above Gatlinburg nestled in the mountainside. The view are incredible. But more importantly is the design and operation of the lodge. The design is rustic and spread out so you are not on top of one another. They have done a terrific job with daily operations. They continental breakfast is awesome- cereal, tea, coffee, a plate of fruit and scones, yogurt, and other small items. This was more than enough to fuel us throughout a day of hiking, or zip lining, or white water rafting.
The lodge provided us with a critical sense of peace at the end, or during the day. As you know, Gatlinburg is a terrific place to visit but overly commercialized. BB allowed us to decompress from all the riff-raff of the town below. We even spent an afternoon in/around the lodge due to the peacefulness of their surroundings. Another welcomed addition to the Lodge is their trail through the mountain. I enjoy physical fitness and this was an awesome run up and down the mountain. It is only a total of a mile long but the elevation change provides more than enough of a work-out.
Overall, this lodge is amazing, for either a romantic getaway for a family trip to G-burg. Can't wait to go back next year with the whole family.

Room Tip: The suites are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Major Smith,

Thank You for your kind comments about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you, your wife and your family for all you sacrifice for our country. We look forward to your return next year with your entire family, after this deployment.

Sincerely,
Buddy McLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

For just a bit more you can have your own cabin from Chalet Village/Others at the top of the mountain with a home like feel. The views are further up on the other side of the mountain and some include both Gatlinburg city lights at night & Mountain views.There you'll also have pool access, Large kitchen, Private hot tub on your balcony, and total privacy for about $215.00 & up.

We stayed at this lodge two times and I was not all that impressed! We did ok the first visit. The second was not so pleasant. They knew it was our 10th anniversary.We were promised the same room we had our previous visit they didn't deliver. They didn't even make room for the guests that are wanting to dine with them on the reservation list. We brushed it off as a fluke the first time. They make it so you feel you have to reserve a table 2 weeks in advance to dine at the hotel restaurant. ( It would have been nice to know this during our booking) We ended up going down into Gatlinburg to eat all three nights we were there because they would not let us eat at the lodge because the locals had made reservations. We were paying over $200.00 a night to stay there I would think they would leave a few slots open for their guests. Just a FYI not that fabulous. Some ppl are so in love with the "IDEA" of the mountains they see what they want to see while they are there. My realistic view is that they charge toooooo much for what the offer. Do your homework you will agree. Research is always the best tool. All sites that have reviews are good tools. I just hope this helps. Happy Lodging......:)

Room Tip: Top floor is best .....You don't listen to ppl stomping on the floor overhead.... At first we go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My mother, son, and I stayed here and loved every minute of it. There is a pavilion down the back hill, which borders the Great Smoky Park. The pavilion sits near a gorgeous creek. Perfect for wading and splashing. There are fire pits outside the pavilion, and tables and fireplaces inside. There is a hammock next to the creek, if you must nap in nature with the sound of water lulling you to sleep. Bliss. Wildlife and nature.... Fabulous customer service. From the Pavillion, you can ring the front desk and someone actually comes in a jeep to transport you back to the lodge. We loved it. Friendly staff, gorgeous views from balcony, huge room, gigantic shower and tub, delicious supper. We did not eat breakfast at the inn.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lisalaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to wildfire. No re-open date yet. Visiting our rustically elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 44 luxurious individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing