We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveler rating
886
181
49
23
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
886
181
49
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the mountains full kitchen national park small kitchen gas fireplace the great smoky mountains living area suite creek balcony accommodations retreat woods bear fires lodging
Filter
Updating list...
982 - 987 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Amazing views of the smoky mountains from the porch and from the bedroom. Very comfortable, clean and cozy rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. I have no complaints. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aritchie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear aritchie105,
Thank you for your review! We love being able to offer a view from each of our uniquely decorated suites. There is truly nothing better than sitting by your in-room fireplace and gazing out at The Great Smoky Mountains. Our "friendly and helpful" staff is awaiting your return to make your next stay just as cozy and comfortable as the last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Over all our stay was not pleasent. The food did not meet our standards (got better service at Bob Evans). On the menu it did not show prices with dollar signs just numbers, I had to ask the waitress. Our room was very clean, but the cleaning staff was very noisey with the room next to ours and very nosey had to close our kitchen window (they keep looking in). Then for dinner there was only four choice to choose from and no veggie choices. The prices was very high, the cheepist one was $32.00.
At the end of our visit they wanted us to pay $200 for smoking in our room with the information that the staff had been in our room without our concent. We did not pay, this about it was remove from our bill. When we checking no one told us that the rooms was nonsmoking and there was not nonsmoking sign in any of the lodges. We only saw these signs around the resturant.
The view was great but had the feeling that we didn't meet there standard of people, not high class enought for them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Check in is a gas in a replica of an outdoors camp store. Every room in the main house/restaurant is different. Lots of beautiful wood and glen plaid wallpaper [Scottish and authentic]. Dining on the deck overlooking the Smokey Mountains any time of the day is terrific. The rooms are like very few you will encounter traveling. You feel like you're in someone's guest cabin. Wood burning fireplace is a must for my wife. Ride to the bottom of the hill in one of their ATV's and sit by an open fireplace,listen to the creek and have a beverage. Nothing's perfect but this place comes close.

Room Tip: Any of them
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TedNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had been to Buckberry for an office retreat and spent a wonderful weekend three years ago and were very much looking forward to going back. This time, although the rooms had not changed, the food and service definitely had, and not in a good way.

We had reservations for seven people for dinner and the meal took several hours to get on the table. We sat down at 7 and were not served our meals until past 8:45, and the lamb in particular was nearly inedible. When dessert was offered they only had two. We naturally thought this was a choice of two, but nope. Only two portions! If it had been a busy Friday night, I would have given them the benefit of the doubt. However there were only two other tables in the restaurant, one of which had small children playing loud video games.

The next morning, the food was no better and it is hard to really mess up breakfast. When we saw the meager servings on our plates and asked for some toast, we were told that toast was extra. Hmmmm. When we got our bill it was eight dollars.

The only bright spot was lunch because our server, a young woman, was very pleasant.
When we returned to our rooms, it was obvious that someone had gone through our group's personal belongings, and a pair of diamond earrings was missing. As this was a special occasion, no one wanted to return to the lodge for dinner, so we ended up hiring a driver and eating in Gatlinburg.

The only think I can think is that Buckberry Lodge must be struggling financially. That would explain the Groupon deals, the meat that is served well past its prime, the security issues and the understaffed kitchen. To make up for the loss of income, they have chosen to nickle and dime their customers who pay full price. I have recommended Buckberry to several friends in the past, and now I am sad that I can longer do so.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LisaKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was our second trip to the Lodge at Buckberry Creek--went in the fall two years ago, and in January this year. The Lodge still excels at customer service, and the staff goes above and beyond to help. We stayed in a grand suite--I would recommend the top floor, as the lodge has lots of wood stairs and walkways and they can be noisy. Also, the top floor has the wood burning fireplaces as opposed to gas logs in the lower floors--if you like to build your own fires and hear the snap/pop of burning wood. The rooms are great--spacious and decorated in the grand tradition of an Adirondack hunting lodge--in fact, it is more reminiscent of a lodge up north, with lots of white birch accents, etc. No white birch trees in the Smokies! But very attractive, nonetheless. Full kitchens, though we only used the full size fridge with icemaker and the micowave. All of our meals were eaten out.

Definately the best place to stay in Gatlinburg--a nice change from the kitchscy, dated and lower star tourist motels on the strip. In fact, we liked the fact that you can go from the park to the lodge via the bypass and never have to go through the tourist areas in Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. In fact, have dinner at the Park Grill and just skip the rest of Gatlinburg--how much funnel cakes, fudge, and Ripley's museums can you stand? The restaurant in the lodge looks still to be good, though we did not eat there this time around. Go for great sightseeing in the park, then stay here at night and you have a winning combo.

One comment to the Lodgekeepers---make a note to stock up with seasoned firewood--green firewood is very frustrating to get lighted with those little firestarters you give out. We splurge on the Grand Suite on the top floor for the wood burning fireplaces, but did not count on taking so long to get the fire started!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have wood burning fireplaces and you don't hear folks walking above you.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nantucketdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews