We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Nearby Hotels
$107
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Edgewater Hotel(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$119
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$150
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zoders Inn & Suites(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gatlinburg Inn(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveler rating
879
180
48
23
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
180
48
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgallery suitethe smoky mountainshiking trailoverlooking the mountainsfire pitfull kitchencontinental breakfasttop floorsmall kitchenbeautiful propertyrocking chairsliving areashort drivegatlinburg areajacuzzi tubthird floorpigeon forge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
982 - 987 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We've stayed at this lodge more than once and each time enjoyed all it has that separates it from the pack of hotels/motels in Gatlinburg area. It's at an elevation that allows nice views from most all balconies and has that feel of being so far away from everything - yet you're only 5 minutes from main street of G'burg. The main attraction may be the authentic lodge feel/atmosphere when you check in and think you're at a personal B&B instead on a lodge with so many rooms. They have a small restaurant on in-house, but I prefer seating out on the balcony surrounding the restaurant. I would not recommend their restaurant for breakfast...only because you must be seated and order even the basic Continental breakfast (coffee, juice, pastry, etc). In other words, there is no breakfast buffet, but that may be due to space limitations there. The rustic appearance (but well maintained and understated instead of 'over the top') is similar to a fishing or hunting lodge (may have been its roots decades ago), but, you don't sacrifice any comforts in this rustic accomodation. They pamper you with everything you would want, including firewood provided for the fireplace. Yes, you pay for these amenities (not cheap accomodations), but it's much more of an experience than most hotels. For instance, they have a short (1 mile roundtrip) hiking trail in back of the property that goes down to a mountain stream (perfect for trout fishing) and they've constructed a log, roofed pavilion next to the creek that comes complete with picnic tables, chairs, and a huge stone fireplace for group gatherings. It even has restrooms connected to the pavilion. Someone put a lot of thought and planning into all the details of this overall lodge and it shows.

Room Tip: All rooms come with balconies and chairs. Not a bad view anywhere, as far as I could see.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Casting for Recovery held its April retreat for breast cancer survivors at the Lodge at Buckberry Creek. The lodge staff was wonderful - they made special meals for anyone who had special food requirements. They greeted all participants, they participated in the Sunday parting event, making pictures with us, etc. The lodge is beautiful and the service was outstanding. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFRguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My husband and I came here for our 7th anniversary and fell in love with the place. We didn't want to stay in a cabin since we would only be in town for one night and most cabins require at least 2 nights stay. We found this to be exactly what we were looking for.
As we drove into the entrance, the lodge was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Both the front desk associates were so friendly and inviting and the lodge felt so warm and cozy. We went to our room (we chose a Gallery Suite) and fell in love with everything about the place The beautiful fireplace already had wood ready and all we had to do was use the little 'fire starters' to get it going. The furniture is unlike any other I have seen in any type of rental. The couch wasn't leather but was a very plush material and was wonderful. There was also a fantastic leather chair and ottoman with dog heads carved into the arms!
Our view from our private porch was beyond words. My husband had never been to the Smoky Mountains before and this was the most perfect view possible! Amazing.
The kitchen has everything you need from dishes to cooking utensils. Full size fridge, wonderful sink and great cupboards.
The bedroom was even more cozy. The king size bed had a beautiful patchwork quilt and bedding, the whole thing made for a great night sleep. Bathroom has a huge jetted tub, double sinks and a super large walk-in shower.
The attention to detail is absolutely amazing. From the carved furniture to the leather key tag that holds the key for the room, they have thought of everything. At the lodge there are several areas with real wood burning fireplaces and fire pits that are always burning and in the perfect areas for the best views. On many of the chairs outdoors, there is a blanket folded in case it gets too chilly outside.
Pros:
Great views
Very clean
Attention to detail is fantastic
Large rooms
Very comfy beds
All around cozy

Cons:
If the weather is bad, it may be hard to get to
The continental breakfast was lacking but there was an option to order from the menu

Room Tip: We reserved our room online and asked that it have the best view possible. We stayed in building #5 on the top floor. Amazing!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We have been visiting the Great Smokey Mountains for years but was unaware of this lovely retreat until reading tripadvisor last week. We were looking for something other than your "run of the mill" hotel room. Buckberry Creek Lodge exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back. There are three levels of rooms. The upper level rooms have the wood burning fireplaces. The other levels have gas fireplaces. The rooms were very clean with extra touches like homemade cookies, an assortment of teas, and nice soaps. The bed and linens were very comfortable. The information book provides instructions for operating the fireplace and jet tub. Very peaceful! Next time I will look forward walking to the creekside pavilion on the property.

Room Tip: I booked my room through expedia which was the same price the lodge was offering. I did not get the wood burning fireplace that I had requested which would have been available through the lodge reservation.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent a few nights here in October 2011. Wow---what a treat.

Expensive---yes, I suppose it is. But after driving down the main drags of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, I knew I had made the right decision.

Our room was more like a condo than a hotel room. Large kitchen with the amenities. Bathroom itself was larger than some of the motels I've stayed in during my lifetime. Fireplace, comfy chair, Wi Fi, comfortable beds----it had it all.

A few minutes away and you are in the National Park.

The restaurant has a huge porch overlooking the mountains and the trees. Dollywood is nowhere to be seen or heard.

You can buy groceries down the hill if you choose to have a snack or a glass of wine. The restaurant also will sell bottles of wine, but it can be pricey.

This is a great getaway, and I would certainly love to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdxjeff1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews