We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it and already planning our next visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it and already planning our next visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Located in the remote mountains away from the downtown tourist area. But not to worry, it's about a 5 minute drive to downtown. It is a true gem. They offer a fine dining experience with breathtaking views.

Tips: Has a full kitchen- so to save time bring your groceries with you. If not, there is a grocery store not far away. Also, they provide a nice washer and dryer, so bring some laundry detergent with you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobih3514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
278
630
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is a truly wonderful hotel. I adored every second of my stay and am already plotting how I can get back. I've stayed at plenty of resorts and this one topped them all. Rustic yet luxurious and comfortable. Rooms were impeccably clean. Location can't be beat. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RackleJPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

The lodge does not rate 4 stars in my opinion. Remember, you are staying in the mountains maybe the rating is appropriate for there? On a hotel rating, not trip advisor I would say maybe 2 and a half stars. It is a lodge not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DVP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Lodge and were impressed with the friendly, helpful staff. They gave us lots of great suggestions for the area and for restaurants. We had a beautiful dinner at their restaurant on the terrace one evening and enjoyed everything about it.--including the great view of the mountains at sunset.
Our room was extremely clean, with a comfortable bed and cozy sitting area. Our balcony had a great view-(we were on the second floor in Building 5) and as mentioned in other reviews the Lodge is like a private retreat away from the crowds of Gatlinburg, but close enough to town that we could get there easily when we wanted to.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste60634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

My family of four (two elementary aged boys) visited the Smoky Mountains and Asheville and stayed at the lodge. I was very relieved that the lodge is far enough away from the cheesiness of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg that you can forget those spots are even nearby. The lodge is set up in the mountains -- peaceful and well appointed. We stayed in a gallery suite and had plenty of room for the four of us. We never made it back in time to have dinner in the restaurant but the continental breakfast was nice. We also hung out one evening at the pavilion by the creek -- cocktails for the parents while our boys splashed around in the creek. It is a lovely property and we would gladly stay there again.

If you're visiting the national park with elementary aged kids, definitely take advantage of the Junior Ranger program. It keeps them engaged and busy on hikes, guided hikes, etc. The rangers made a big deal out of the oath at the end and the boys proudly wore their badges for the remainder of the trip.

We also took a day trip over to Asheville to tour the Biltmore. It took about an hour and a half from Gatlinburg and was well worth it. We did a behind the scenes tour as well as the audio self-guided tour. The boys really liked the audio players and stayed interested through the whole house.

Room Tip: Gallery Suite worked well for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nova5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

We completed a 4- night stay at The Lodge. The setting was picturesque and far removed from the bustle of the Gatlinburg strip making it a perfect hotel option for those who want to be close to the Smoky National State Park but stay in a refined, rustic retreat. The staff was small (when we arrived at 7 pm there wasn't additional staff available to help us with our luggage) but friendly.

Each room comes equipped with a full kitchen, your choice of fas or woodburning fire place, a whirlpool soaking tub and a balcony with views of the smokies. A compkimentary continental breakfast is served each morning in the dining room but you can order items a la carte as well. The dining room also serves dinner but since we were traveling with children it was a little too upscale for our little ones.

The property includes a pavillion area, which is a steep half-mile hike downhill. Adirondack chairs, fire pits, a covered dining area with a fireplace all are beautifully landscaped beside Buckberry Creek. Keep in mind a fee things: the path is very steep, not lighted if you are there at night, and while the hotel mentioned to us that the maintenance staff would be available to pick us up, when we called at about 8 pm as dusk was descending, we were told that maintenance was gone for the day. Luckily, we were prepared with flashlights otherwise it would have been a dangerous climb back.

We stayed in a Lodge suite, which had a separate bedroom and was roomy enough for our family of four. Our expectations might have been too high given its 4-star rating, however, because we felt the amenities to be a bit outdated and the facilities a bit worn. The suite had one television in the bedroom, a old tube tv with poor reception and broken volume and there were burn marks in the carpet by the fireplace. While these are minor issues they would seem to be easily addressed at a hotel as highly rated as The Lodge is.

We would definitely return but with different expectations that The Lodge operates more like condo rental with daily maid service and a continental breakfast included than a full-service hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadBestTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

We stayed at the buckberry Creek lodge from Feb 18 thru the 21st. Forget the negative comments. There are always people you just can't satisfy. Have no illusion's friends, this is a world class lodge. The Grand suite was nearly 1000 square feet with two fireplace's and an 80 gallon hot tub. Two decks with a very comforting view. Buckberry is nestled away about an 8 min drive up the mountain from the endless activity of Gatlinburg. In addition, it is only a few miles from the National Park. I have been to Hawaii all the way back to michigan and I have never felt so satisfied after a trip. You can hear a pin drop from the lodge, as it is cozy and quiet with the smell of campfire and breakfest filling the air. Drive down the mountain a bit and it's all the activity you can handle. Many outdoor activities that do not hit your wallet. You can spend two or three days without spending more than a hundred dollars. Only word of warning..... If you go during a busy time like winter break, stay and eat breakfest at the lodge. You won't get in anywhere else without waiting for an hour. A+ across the board other than that. We will return many times. Millions of childrens activities if thats what you need and equal amount of adult activities. Forget Florida campers, come to Buckberry Creek. You will thank me.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganAngler065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to wildfire. No re-open date yet. Visiting our rustically elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 44 luxurious individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing