We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist stop, but a good one!”
Review of Pancake Pantry

Pancake Pantry
Ranked #15 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We are a family owned and operated restaurant that specializes in great food and friendly service. We are a tradition for families and a landmark for Gatlinburg. So come enjoy our house...
Campbellsville, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tourist stop, but a good one!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Got the wildberry smothered stuffed pancakes... simply amazing. Sausage was just a frozen patty. My wife got the chocolate chip pancakes and seemed pleased but not wowed. No wait on a Tuesday morning at around 9:30. Staff was friendly. Food was expensive. Again, nothing but a tourist stop, but a pretty good one IMHO!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,232
    804
    445
    163
    110
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MILLINGTON
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our breakfast at this lovely restaurant. Our wait was around 30 minutes which is not bad for this place. When we were seated, we sat 5 at a table for 4 which was a bit crowded. Everyone enjoyed there food and the service was very good. They do not accept any plastic at all but there is an ATM by the register for the customers convenience

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R&MRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Traditional Stop”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

You have to eat there even though there is always a line. We did. We waited outside and thankfully they had coffee outside for guys like me. Once inside the slow theme from Dollywood prevailed. We waited forever for a waitress who finally showed up and acknowledged us then wandered off for a while before coming back. As always though, the food was great and we loaded up the tummies for a day of snow tubing. The wait was very minor compared to the food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Arrogant !!! Aloof !!!....Home of the $31.00 Breakfast !!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I visited the Pancake Pantry this morning April 9th, 2013 at 10am. When we arrived at the restaurant, we stood in the front door for 3 or 4 minutes waiting to be seated. Finally a self-absorbed older woman came and greeted us by saying "Two"? Not another word and we were wisked off to a table looking out the front window. We look around the dining room and it was about 25% full with many empty tables. About 5 minutes later a waitress appeared and took our drink order. Another 5 minutes passed (which seemed like an eternity given the emptiness of the restaurant) and she returned with a cup of coffee ($2.30) and a 10oz glass of unsweetened tea ($2.30). My wife and I then ordered 2 eggs with bacon combo ($8.80) and a side of hash browns (2.30). It took another 10-12 minutes for the food to reach the table. When it arrived i was stunned to see two cold scrambled eggs at the top of the plate along with 3 pieces of 3"inch long bacon (which was cold) along with a plate of luke warm hashbrowns. To say the very least i was disappointed !!!.... We tried to get the waitresses attention but she disappeared somewhere in the back until she came back to refill my 10oz tea glass and drop off the check. We choked down the food and went to check out. We were given seperate tickets that totalled 15.47 per person. So for $31.00 we got sat by someone who obviously viewed us as an intrusion into her day, waited on by a waitress that only visited the table once after she delivered the cold food to the table and to top it off when we got to the register the cashier and handed her my AMEX card and the checks, I was informed rather rudely "you need to read the sign, we dont take credit cards here" but you can "move out of line and use the ATM over there to pay us". At this point i was done with this place. I stepped out of line, got cash and went back to pay for our meal.

This place is ABSOLUTELY living off of it reputation from the past. I feel it is time that people start stepping up and telling the truth about this place. It wont be until people stop going there that they will change how they conduct business.

All i can tell you is STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE !!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rickinharbourtown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and wonderful atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food here is amazing. They have so many different varieties of pancakes and other breakfast food. The service is good and the food presentation is so pretty you'll want to take a picture!
Tip: they only accept cash

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancake Pantry also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Pancake Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing