We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They charged extra for flavored syrup. Not good if you want repeat cusotomers.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pancake Pantry

Pancake Pantry
Ranked #15 of 194 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family owned and operated restaurant that specializes in great food and friendly service. We are a tradition for families and a landmark for Gatlinburg. So come enjoy our house...
Johnstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They charged extra for flavored syrup. Not good if you want repeat cusotomers.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have eaten at the Pancake Pantry three other times over the years. On this particular trip we had to wait in a line outside. No big deal. Even though the place is huge, it is a place where everyone wants to try their pancakes. I ordered chocolate chip pancakes and when I asked for more chocolate chips the waitress informed me that it would cost an additional $1.60 more. I made due but did not eat all of my pancakes because I don't like plain pancakes. My 21 year old daughter ordered the silver dollar pancakes and asked for flavored syrup to which the waitress informed us would also be an additional fee. What? They already charge more than the other pancake places to begin with. Apparently if you want the flavored syrup you have to order the pancakes that goes with the flavored syrup. Example: blueberry pancakes, blueberry syrup. Our waitress was effecient, but was very unfriendly. We decided that we would not be returning to the Pancake Pantry ever again and would take our business where we had eaten earlier in the week, "Flapjacks" restaurant. The food was very good & less expensive plus you could find 10% off coupons everywhere and the service was friendly & fast.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieDG143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,078
    760
    427
    154
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“The best pancakes by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Decided to eat here after seeing pancake after pancake house in the area. A local recommended this restaurant to us and I am glad she did. The pancakes are delicious and there are so many types to choose from... blueberry to sweet potato cinnamon spice to buckwheat to buttermilk pancakes. The service was quick and friendly. The whipped butter that is scooped on top of the pancakes is so yummy. Each plate of pancakes come with 5 pancakes so the portions are generous. Some of the different pancakes come with their own syrups like bluberry compote to cinnamon sugar syrup to regular. Oh so yummy. This sure is a good treat while visiting the area.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly5182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Upon first arrival we thought this would be a great place from the reviews and how busy it was. We were placed at a table crowded in a overpacked place. The prices were a shock for pancakes. When it finally arrived there was a large scoop of butter on top of cold pancakes. We only saw our waitress three times, when we ordered, when the food came, and when the checks came. The policy was separate checks for each person at a table. The table next to us had ten people, I could hear them trying to figure out a tip, and complaining about the separate checks. We've had better food and service at fast food restaurants.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WmpMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothin like it in my book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

I can't say anything negative because I was blown away ! We were the 3rd group to go in and have a seat. We arrived 10 minutes prior to opening time. There was no waiting time but on friday there was ( we went on wednesday ). Had a window seat. Sister ordered Strawberry Crepes.. Amazing and Beautiful.. real tasty ! Mother had Pigs in Blankets, not what you would imagine.. Yummy !! I had Cinnamon and Spice Pancakes. I ate these with NO syrup they were That good ! A little pricey but I knew that in advance and bought accordingly. I walked out paying $15.00 for myself but well worth it. There is NO other place I have been too that serves yummy tasting food like the pantry. Staff was Very Friendly ...

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelzzzzz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-priced & greasy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Third trip to area & normally eat here at least once for breakfast (never had lunch here so not sure if any better). Service good but prices have gone up. Regular pancakes were just average but the hash browns were way too greasy to even eat! My mother loves the Smoky Mountain Buckwheat pancakes. She may be the only one in our party that will return. Would not recommend.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancake Pantry also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Pancake Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing