We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barbecue delight”

Bennett's Pit Bar-B-Que
Ranked #12 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving the area's best slow-smoked ribs, beef, chicken, sausage and pork for almost a quarter of a century! Come find out why we are voted BEST RIBS and BEST BBQ year after year by the readers of the Mountain Press. Come taste the difference homemade makes, with our delicious BBQ beans, cole slaw, potato salad and so much more that perfectly compliments our mouth watering BBQ. And we don't stop there, with homemade appetizers like Fried Pickle Chips, Spicy Mozzarella Squares in Pork Chili, AMAZING chicken wings and many more. All this delicious food is served by the friendliest staff around. We also feature a full All You Can Eat Soup and Salad Bar every day, as well as an All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet. We have a complete kids menu to satisfy their tastes as well. Finally, remember we are locally owned and operated for almost 25 years.
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Barbecue delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The bbq sampler platter was more than the sum of its parts. Brisket to melt in your mouth, fall off the bone ribs, pulled pork, and smoked chicken, and slaw. Wow. Substantial salad bar, too. The place is large, accommodating both a pizza place and the restaurant, and it's very popular. There are other places for barbecue in Gatlinburg, but this one was instantaneously recommended by a couple of different people. I'll try others in the future, but this one performed extremely well both in food and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerWisconsinWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,474
    779
    352
    107
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We ate here on our honeymoon 13 years ago and enjoyed it. So we just had to go back. It was even better than I had remembered. The waiter was great. One of the best that I have ever had. Thanks to Bennetts for hiring a veteran. Thanks for being a great place

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I should have bought a shirt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had supper here on Dec 2nd, 2013. Very quiet night, post thanks giving rush. I has the half rack of rib and quarter chicken combo. My wife had the fried catfish. Wow what a meal. the chicken we excellent, well smoked, the beans were perfect with great Bbq flavor. My wife tells me the catfish coating was light and airy, not heavy, but with a nice flavour. The ribs, well they were perfect. Smoked well, pink throughout, nice basting of sauce. Just enough bark on them to make them fun to eat. The pit master stopped by and I made a point to tell him compared to another nearby restaurant, his ribs were tops. We ended with pecan pie...did not have room but ate it anyway it was that good. If in Gatlinburg, go down behind the Hampton to Bennetts, it's off the min drag, but so worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fleetwood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quick Seating - Great Food - Excellent Service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to Bennett's once before so we decided to go again during our Thanksgiving weekend in Gatlinburg. We feared it would be packed like the other restaurants on Saturday night but our party of 10 got seated immediately. Very roomy and a lot of seating at Bennett's. Service was really good and the food was excellent. A little pricey but good portions. Another good trip to Bennett's Pit BBQ. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank SCtravelers2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the place for Thanksgiving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Ate Thanksgiving dinner here on family vacation at their buffet Thanksgiving buffet. Smoked turkey was good and ham was OK. Had good salad bar. Had a decent selection on the buffet. Was extremely overcrowded. Long line for the buffet. Buffet was in a horrible location. They were offering the buffet or you could order from the menu. I wish we would have ordered from the menu. Ribs looked great. Wasn't impressed with the buffet. Over priced buffet. Not a very enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
Thank strokerace25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Pit Bar-B-Que also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Bennett's Pit Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing