We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BBQ”

Bennett's Pit Bar-B-Que
Ranked #14 of 197 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving the area's best slow-smoked ribs, beef, chicken, sausage and pork for almost a quarter of a century! Come find out why we are voted BEST RIBS and BEST BBQ year after year by the readers of the Mountain Press. Come taste the difference homemade makes, with our delicious BBQ beans, cole slaw, potato salad and so much more that perfectly compliments our mouth watering BBQ. And we don't stop there, with homemade appetizers like Fried Pickle Chips, Spicy Mozzarella Squares in Pork Chili, AMAZING chicken wings and many more. All this delicious food is served by the friendliest staff around. We also feature a full All You Can Eat Soup and Salad Bar every day, as well as an All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet. We have a complete kids menu to satisfy their tastes as well. Finally, remember we are locally owned and operated for almost 25 years.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT BBQ”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We ate at Bennetts twice while in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, and have eaten there before when visiting the area. In both locations, the food is as good as you can find in BBQ and I am speaking throughout several states. While the taste of the food is great, I would not get the BBQ sandwich again because they put it on a roll which comes out greasy as all get out, so I trashed the bun and ate my wife's cornbread. I do think these restaurants chain needs some fine tuning with their service staff. We actually wrote up one of the servers for about the worst attitude anyone could find in the business, and the other one was very slow to seat although many tables were available.. If the food was not so good, we probably would skip the place next time. Great good and great service go hand in hand. Bad service destroys the positive food experience and causes non repeat visits. Retraining is in order for this chain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,611
    837
    372
    117
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Third best Bbq restaurant I have eaten in and that is saying something. Everything was excellent. The chicken was served perfectly. Very nice touch serving warm sauce on the side. The Mac and Cheese side dish may have been the best I have ever had. Everything was hot and fresh. You can just feel the ownership knows what they are doing. What's missing is that nothing was unique and different. But it did not matter, it was a great dinner and the entire staff made every effort to make us feel welcome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“skip the breakfast buffet”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was bland and tasteless. The bacon was even awful. The only good thing was that they charged me children's rates for my 14 and 16 year old!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank renae a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue Joint in the Smokys!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a nice unexpected find in Gatlinburg, a great change of pace amidst all the "chain" restaurants. It is also a little removed from the main downtown area, so a bit easier to get to. The food was excellent; we most enjoyed the pulled pork and the beef brisket, though i suspect you can't go wrong with any of the choices on the menu. I suspect parking could be a challenge depending on the time of day; we came around 5pm and did not have trouble finding a spot, but parking is limited in the restaurant lot and I am not sure what alternatives exist. Definitely put this place on your "must do" list when you visit the area; it is perfect after a long day of hiking in the smokys!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!!!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was craving some Tennessee ribs and Bennett's did not disappoint! The bbq is amazing, the meat is fall off the bone and their famous sauce is so flavorful. My hubby could not get over the brisket and the delicious flavor of the pull pork! The sides were equally yummy. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with very friendly and efficient service. The food came out quickly and everything was just as we ordered. Very surprised this was not on Gatlinburg's Top 10 list...
Thanks Margo and staff for the most pleasant dining experience we had in Tennessee!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonandVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Pit Bar-B-Que also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Bennett's Pit Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing