We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved Carrs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
piqua, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved Carrs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

Carrs is a great value forthe money. we stayed in a jacuzzi room #40. very private with a fireplace and a great view of woods and greenery. they leave you alone here, no one nocking on your door all the time wanting to clean. and we thought this place was very clean and well taken care of, it was raining so we drove to parkway- but the 2nd day we walked and it really was a nice walkl only would seem long if you are lazy, it is really close to the HARD ROCK cafe also!! all in all our next trip to Gatlinburg- which will be ASAP will also be at Carrs Cottages...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlong666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    117
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
202
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed there with our 3 small children and loved it. We stayed in a motel room facing the creek and the kids loved the creek so much they did not want to leave the room. We roasted marshmellows and spent many evenings outside by or in the creek. We even got to see a bear walk by. The room reminded me of the rooms I stayed in as a kid. They are not full of all the modern things but they are one of the cleanest motels I have stayed in,in the Gatlinburg area. The people there are nice and we had no issues with noise at night. The only things I found to have an issue with was the beds could be updated they are a little old and there was not a phone in our room and we could not get service on our cell phone. Other than that we loved it. We will be going back there when we visit next year

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltown, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed here for three days in July 2009. The staff was very friendly and helpful to our entire family. The rooms were nothing fancy, but very cozy and clean. The walk to downtown Gatlinburg was easier than waiting for the trolley. I really enjoyed the picnic area. We grilled and our kids enjoyed splashing around in the stream. When we went to open our supplies, we realized that we forgot aluminum foil. No problem...the staff provided us with some. Our daughter needed a band aid for a blister on her foot.....no problem....the front desk clerk provided us with neosporin and a band aid. I really appreciated the fact that they were so helpful to our family. My husband and I have decided to make stays at Carr's a family tradition. Our four children(teens and preteens) really enjoyed the pool and recreation area. The only way to describe the way I feel about our stay at Carr's is pleasantly surprised. This was our first of many stays to come! Thank you to the Carr family for making our weekend getaway special.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dachshundmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

We had a very good stay at Carr's. Interior was a little out-dated for price, but was very convenient to all of Gatlinburg. We will recommend it to friends and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesaylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Would I return?? Probably not

Pros:
1. Pool area was nice, clean, and fun
2. Nice playground and picnic area
3. Very accessable to everything (on property and to downtown Gatlinburg)
4. Awsome area by the stream with plenty of seating and grilling areas
5. Townhome spacious

Cons:
1. Townhouse was very outdated and needed maintanence (upkeeping)
2. Beds were harder than sleeping on floor
3. No deadbolts on doors. The doors only locked from outside, so my 20 month old could open and door and go outside and we had no way to keep him in.
4. Oven didn't work

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glsmith2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro,Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

Very cozy and peaceful,we come here every year and love the woodsy atmosphere. My wife and her family have stayed here since she could walk and we love it enough to have made it part of our family tradition.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Rod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

Carr's is a great place to stay if you don't need all the extras in a hotel. There's no wi-fi, telephone, or little shampoos, and the room service is by request. However, the room was great, and at a great price! The room had a jacuzzi and kitchenette as well. The only problem we had while there was a trail of ants that went to the trash bin in the kitchenette. Seeing as the kitchenette was at the front of the room, I just put the bin out and there was no problem.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#38 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoders Inn & Suites
Zoders Inn & Suites
#11 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#33 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Johnson's Inn
Johnson's Inn
#42 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Town N' Suites
Country Town N' Suites
#65 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Property: Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Address: 421 W Laurel Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5072
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#21 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently closed for a complete remodel. For those of you that had reservations for 2017... due to the loss of our office, laundry, and other structures in the recent wildfire we are currently unable to comfortably accommodate guests. However, our future is bright as we continue to move forward. We are very excited for this new chapter in our family business. We would like to thank our loyal family of guests for their love and support. The Carr Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing