We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay...”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I waited until the last minute to decide to go to Gatlinburg for the Memorial Day weekend. Unable to get a "reasonable" on-line reservation through the various travel/hotel websites, I thought about Carr's. My family vacationed there many times when I was a child (more than 50 years ago!). Very much to my surprise, I was able to get a room at Carr's for a reasonable rate. I had an enjoyable room with a balcony that overlooked the creek. The room was large with two queen beds and was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bk8mile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    117
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
202
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved our cabin! We had a jacuzzi in the room that was amazing! Great value and great staff! Definitely would return! Just outside of downtown but close enough to walk to downtown and avoid all those parking fees. Perfect!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DOuellette0337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

An interesting combination of various architectures.
Our room had a kitchen. It has seen some years; but was clean and well provisioned.

The staff was friendly and very helpful.
We enjoyed the hot tub each evening.

Far enough out of Gatlinburg to be away from the crowds, but easy to get into town and to the Great Smokeis National Park.

Good value. We would return for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Georgia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My family stayed here for 2 nights very nice clean place to stay. Not real fancy but rooms were clean and it was on the river.It is less than half the price of other hotels in Gatlinburg so if your looking to save some money this is your best choice . It's only a mile out of town so you could walk to town in just a few minutes. Great place will stay again next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great place to stay with kids. We had a two bedroom place with living room, kitchen and family room with fireplace. It was very clean. The bathroom was basic. This place was very outdated though~ very outdated. The beds were a little uncomfortable but very CLEAN. no frills though. The furniture is old and saggy. The countertops were old and the dishes were mismatched and old. The tv is old and the remote was dirty and didn't work. There is a playground and a hot tub and swimming pool outside. Overall this was a great place to stay with four boys and two adults but it is not fancy at all. Good value with nice staff. But you definitely get space and not luxury.There is a grocery store within driving distance away from the shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachcomber39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at Carr's in Jan. 2014, and had a great stay. It is an older motel however, VERY clean! A little outdated, could use some updating. Reminded me of being a child and staying places with my family. But, I was extremely pleased otherwise. The only negative that I have is the bed could be replaced it sagged in some spots so had to adjust. I appreciated the kitchen where I prepared some meals for myself to reduce my overall budget. Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. Overall, my stay here was great and I look forward to staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was our first time staying at Carr"s . I wasn't sure what to expect, on reviews I read great to not so great. We simply LOVED it. The cottage we had was clean, up to date and just perfect. Take your regulars like shampoo , hair dryer . I always like to know about a coffee pot there, YES the was , Bring your coffee and filters which I did . They already have cooking pans and pots . I brought a few of my own and used those . This place is not fancy , but it is clean and very nice for couples and families. My family will be back!!!! Carr's Family Thank You So Much !!! We Enjoyed Your Cottage , The Young's from Connelly Springs,NC

Room Tip: We were in cottage 406 , It was right beside the stream. Just beautiful listening to the water and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chanda y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#38 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoders Inn & Suites
Zoders Inn & Suites
#11 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#33 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.6 mi away
Johnson's Inn
Johnson's Inn
#42 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Town N' Suites
Country Town N' Suites
#65 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Property: Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Address: 421 W Laurel Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5072
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#21 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently closed for a complete remodel. For those of you that had reservations for 2017... due to the loss of our office, laundry, and other structures in the recent wildfire we are currently unable to comfortably accommodate guests. However, our future is bright as we continue to move forward. We are very excited for this new chapter in our family business. We would like to thank our loyal family of guests for their love and support. The Carr Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing