We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gretna, La
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very bad rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

This place was recomended by a few friends, but I won't recomend this place to anyone. The room was smelly , the sheets on the bed did not fit, they kept coming off, there was no maid service unless requested. At over a hundred dollars a night, we should not have had to ask for maid service. It was very depressing to me and my friends. We had reservations in the hotel and couldn'tstay in the room because it was so nasty. They gave us another room but did not compensate us for the incovenence. We had to move three times. We cut our stay short because of this.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank missyGretna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    117
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
202
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

My wife and I stay at Carr's more than 4 or 5 times a year and have done so for the last 7 years since we got married in the Smokey Mountain National Park.

We honeymooned there on the recommendation of friends of ours that have been going to Carrs for over 25 years.

This is a family owned property and is family run.

Not many places left that don't jack the prices up on Holidays and weekends. Carrs' doesn't

We have stayed in many different rooms at Carr's and they have all been clean and comfortable.

While compared to mulit million dollar hotels that you pay a lot more per night Carr's might not be the most modern it definately feels like "home" and the service and staff go out of their way to help.

They also have the best coffee in town in the office. And it is free!

Maid service is optional and you can exchange your towels when you get your coffee. Nobody knocking on your door in the morning in broken english saying "housekeeeeping".

The shade, the creek and the wonderful pool are nice.

It is located off the main strip so it is quiet but still close enough that you can catch a trolley or walk to traffice light 3 and be on the main strip.

  • Liked — Great pool and location
  • Disliked — Its full most of the time and cant go there more
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wyattlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

My family has stayed on and off here for the past 20 years. We bring my parents as well and while Carr's is not brand new, the peace and friendliness of the staff is refreshing. We have attempted to stay elsewhere (somewhere in downtown or a newer place) but we always return to Carr's. I have stayed in wonderful resorts and hotels around the states and this is a sweet step back in time. I love the fact that there are no phones in the rooms. They really want you to relax and trust me, we do.
A great new pancake house is across the street and you are extremely close to the main road to Pigeon Forge. If for some reason you are not happy with your room, just let them know; I am sure they will do whatever they can to accomodate you.

  • Liked — hearing the water from the stream outside your balcony
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yqcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

This was our 2nd time at Carr's Cabins. We were very impressed the 1st time with the setting, cleanliness and the courtesy and friendliness of the staff. Our suite consisted of a kitchen, bedroom and bath...I liked their kitchen better than my own. The 2nd time was even better. We stayed in a suite with bedroom, bath and kitchen/living room combo. IT WAS OUTSTANDING. We were right by the creek, we had chairs and tables on the patio and chairs, swings and tables by the creek. It was quiet, shaded and the smell of cedar, pine and flowers was so soul satisfying. We have deceided we will stay no where else

  • Liked — Quiet,very clean,well kept,family friendly,pricing,restful
  • Disliked — The lighting in the living room/kitchen, not enough lamps to readyby
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentuckygirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

After researching Gatlinburg cottages, I selected Carrs because several reviewers on various sites described it as peaceful, beautiful and talked about how they returned year after year. As soon as we pulled into the hotel I was disappointed. It was run down looking and depressing. The cottage which was not cheap, had stained carpet, there was a hole in a bedroom door where someone had put their fist through the door. The decor was from the seventies. Outside were broken air conditioning units. Overall, we did our best to stay in town or the mountains as much as possible.

  • Disliked — Decor, upkeep
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Izzieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

If you are looking for a fancy hotel, this is not where you need to stay. If you are looking for an affordable, peaceful stay - This is the place for you. I have stayed here on and off 15 years. The staff is always friendly. Rooms are always clean. Most units are right on the stream which is very peaceful to go to sleep and wake up hearing. The grounds are clean, and they have picnic areas also. Its far enough from town to get away from the noise. But close enough you can walk to and from. Trolley stop is up the hill....

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Good Location, Affordable
  • Disliked — Rooms need to be updated
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkpantherjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bartlett, tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

Stayed there several times, balcony over creek, very peaceful away from the main strip but still with in walking distance, friendly staff. good for family

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — older building
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#46 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages
Roaring Fork Motel & Cottages
#55 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zoders Inn & Suites
Zoders Inn & Suites
#12 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#35 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Property: Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Address: 421 W Laurel Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5072
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#21 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently closed for a complete remodel. For those of you that had reservations for 2017... due to the loss of our office, laundry, and other structures in the recent wildfire we are currently unable to comfortably accommodate guests. However, our future is bright as we continue to move forward. We are very excited for this new chapter in our family business. We would like to thank our loyal family of guests for their love and support. The Carr Family ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing