We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Perry, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Love this place!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are looking for a great location to enjoy Gatlinburg this is the place- walking distance to the strip. If you have to stay in a 5 star hotel this is not for you. I stay in the newer units on the creek and we love it!

Room Tip: Ask for newer units on the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    117
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
202
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gurley, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is our 4th annual trip to Carr's for a fun gathering of our Church Sunday school class. Carr's is always helpful in getting all of us our reservations and very understanding when some have had to cancel. My husband and I have been coming to Carr's for several years, especially for the Gatlinburg Christmas Parade. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The front desk folks always friendly and willing to make recommendations for fun and food when asked. The location is just perfect - not too far away from downtown Gatlinburg (you can walk down the hill to Gburg if you want), but, not located right on the street. Nice,quiet, secluded area. Love the ramps up to the 3rd level of the hotel section! Easy walk up ! The stream is so pretty and there are fire rings and grills for anyone wanting to have a marshmallow roast or cookout. Plenty of swings, tables and chairs available for reading/resting or having a picnic. Also, a playground for the kids. We so enjoy this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthego5135748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Carr's is located about a half mile from the parkway traffic light #3.(up a big hill) the property is spread out , some of the rentals look like they could use a little updating , we stayed in Cottage # 410 over looking the creek (loved the sound of creek) , the cottages are the newer units, we had the one bedroom which had 2 queen beds (comfortable) and a sofa sleeper in living room. they had a flat screen in the living room area, but no tv in the bedroom . (dislike!!!) I actually purchased a tv from the hotel next door for $20 to put in the bedroom. next time will bring my own little tv. When you need new towels you have to take them to linen room. (next to office) only wi-fi on property is in the office. lots of space for kids to play. I had hoped for the Hot tub by pool to be open , it wasn't. over all i'd give it a 7.5 ! and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayes here five nights was told you stay four you get a free night like wwe always get as we checked out they told us no becauae of valentinea day but this is are third time stYing amd mever had preoblem like this before plus we called ahead and they told us this deal..very upset..plus the hot water always was out had to take cold ahowers every morning they couldnt fix that problem we had to switch units cause number 24 had a fire place in the middle of the room and very uncomfterble and the lock on the door did not work and a three yr old could get out easy they need to put locks on top for chikdren..toliet ran all day and nifht a towls were veru though lime sand paper.

Room Tip: Do not get room 24 and unit 15 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reremonkey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyatCarrs, Manager at Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank You for your recent stay at Carr's. As you know from your last several stays at Carr's, all of our accommodations are different and unique. One of our unique features is not broken locks. The lock in #24 is a self-locking door with an additional deadbolt. The knob will still turn on the inside but the deadbolt should also be engaged. It is actually illegal to have locks at the top of doors due to fire regulations as well as the difficultly of use for elderly, disabled, and those of smaller stature.

Your recent stay with us occurred over a holiday weekend and we were not offering any specials other than our off season rates. The rate as well as the total for your stay were given to you in your confirmation-as per your request. However, you did receive a free night for the inconvenience of not having hot water between the hours of midnight and 7am on one night during your stay. We were happy to offer the free night and a 3 hour late check out as compensation. We are also happy to report that the problem we were having with the pilot light on the gas water heater was quickly corrected. Thank You again for your business and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bean Station, Tn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'm amazed that anyone could give a bad rating on Carr's. From the first time we saw this place we were in love with it. We go away a couple of times a year to Gatlinburg and just to stay here. Never had a bad room and always clean with very friendly staff. It is not advertised as a 5 star resort but cottages. If you need shampoo go visit the dollar store but where else can you go get the quietness of the mountains but be within walking distance of Gatlinburg? Love this place and planning a trip in March once again

Room Tip: New section on the stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST EARL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My family and I have been coming the last 7 years. We usually stay at Brookside Resort(across) the creek. The place has changed hands and not for the better. I went over to Carr's while staying at Brookside last year and was very welcomed. I decided to take another trip and stay at Carr's this time(this was in August 2012) and my family and I loved it. We then booked for this year to and will continue to do so. As far as the WIFI I agree but Carr's rates are very good and the cleanliness is good compared to Brookside. So if you want the WIFI and dirty rooms that cost more then Brookside is the place. If you want Clean a little outdated but nice and reasonably priced then Carr's is the way to go. By the way I go to Tennessee to relax and enjoy nature so to me this is perfect! Thanks Carr's and keep up the great job of pleasing your guests!

Room Tip: The creekside is great but if you have real little ones I would stay up top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stay here a lot, but noticed several little items that need attention. 1 burner on stove didn't work. AC/Heater vents need replacing. Front door has gap letting cold air in. Very hard mattresses. There were 8 of us in the 3 bedroom townhouse and we all thought so.
Was hot upstairs and cold downstairs. Next time, we will get the one floor. Otherwise, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#38 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoders Inn & Suites
Zoders Inn & Suites
#11 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#33 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
Johnson's Inn
Johnson's Inn
#41 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Town N' Suites
Country Town N' Suites
#65 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Property: Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Address: 421 W Laurel Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5072
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#21 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently closed for a complete remodel. For those of you that had reservations for 2017... due to the loss of our office, laundry, and other structures in the recent wildfire we are currently unable to comfortably accommodate guests. However, our future is bright as we continue to move forward. We are very excited for this new chapter in our family business. We would like to thank our loyal family of guests for their love and support. The Carr Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing