We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“You get what you Pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ragland, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You get what you Pay for!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was searching for a resonable place for my husband and I to meet on a spur of the moment getway. He is in the military and was driving to a halfway for us to see each other. I have been to Gatlingburg many times but have never stayed on Laurel Rd. when I called to make the reservation I was told we could walk into town. . .wrong! It is a older place inside and out but I can handle that but I cant handle a dead spider on my bed sheet when I pulled down the cover. The carpet was so dirty that my husband wore white socks and they were black after one night. The bed was so hard that each morning we got straight out of bed to a hot bath/shower so we could movefor the day. We wont stay there again but it was reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Reponza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    117
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
202
120
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked this place after reading the reviews from Tripadvisor. I've been to Gatlinburg many times but had no idea about this place and it turned out to be great. When I drove up to sign in I was a little worried because the buildings are older and it is off the main area of Gatlinburg but after I got in the room I was good. The room was cleaner then most of the rooms that you will rent in Gatinburg and if you stay in the rooms next to the creek it is a nice setting. If you are wanting a room that is up to date or high end and don't mind paying $200 plus a night this is not the place for you but if you want a great value and a quiet place to lay your head you should check it out. The only drawback is you will have to pay to park if you go downtown, it's to far to walk.

Room Tip: Stay in a room near the creek and in winter get a room with a fireplace. They provide the wood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesscribner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a hard time finding Carr'S but when we did, the checkin was efficient and friendly. The host provided helpful information on where to shop and where to eat. We opted for the motel room facing the riverside. Spacious and clean...reasonable value for the cost. However, though there was coffee available in the reception building there was not a coffee maker in the room. Internet is available only in the reception building. Also, room comes equipped with soap, but not shampoo or conditioner. Hike to the tourist zone was 15 minutes for us. Plumbing was a bit noisey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

For the price it's very average. It is an older place and kept up for the most part. However not having a alarm clock, coffee maker, decent soap or hair dryer at the price charged didn't leave us with a good feeling. Didn't sleep well as the beds are pretty firm and old. Others love it from the reviews. However we didn't find it to be the best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inthewaterky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed 4 nights on the bottom floor in a river front room, Nothing fancy, dated rooms. But they were clean and spacious, but could have used a few repairs. There is no coffee pot in the rooms, so I brought my own, there is free coffee in the office lobby. The staff was very friendly. Bottom line, it was a good value for the location. We did walk from town one day and it wasn't that bad of a walk it took about 20 minutes to walk from the aquarium, there is a trolley stop across the parking lot of the hotel across the river.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GA-Go-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I guess I missed something some place. This was without a doubt one of the most disappointing stays of our trip to North Carolina. From the reviews, I expected Carr's to be a older facility to stay at, but this was beyond reality. There was no soap, no shampoo, no alarm clock, and a sink that would hardly drain. The door in the bath room looked like a dog had chewed on it, and the room had a definite odor to it. On top of that the ladies in the office were less than friendly, as was some of the other staff. In case you wonder, we stayed at 4 other places on our trip and this was the only one we were unhappy with, so we don't complain very often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank grant2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the motel. Enjoyed the room on second floor with high ceilings. Nothing fancy, but very clean and quiet. Very peaceful to sit along the little stream that goes thru the property. Is within walking distance of the main street in Gatlingburg, but without all the noise.
Incredible bargain for this town.

Room Tip: Prefer second floor, more privacy when sitting on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#34 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoders Inn & Suites
Zoders Inn & Suites
#11 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Johnson's Inn
Johnson's Inn
#42 of 78 in Gatlinburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Property: Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Address: 421 W Laurel Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5072
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#21 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently closed for a complete remodel. For those of you that had reservations for 2017... due to the loss of our office, laundry, and other structures in the recent wildfire we are currently unable to comfortably accommodate guests. However, our future is bright as we continue to move forward. We are very excited for this new chapter in our family business. We would like to thank our loyal family of guests for their love and support. The Carr Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing