We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Wonderful Food”

Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #22 of 197 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Temporarily Closed Unfortunately our Alamo Steakhouse location in Gatlinburg was lost in the wildfires in the area on Monday November 28th. We had celebrated 18 wonderful years in the building, and we are heartbroken at the loss. We are committed to rebuilding our beloved restaurant in the same location in 2017. The timeline is uncertain, but we will keep you posted.
Overland Park, KS
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were there in September and went there because we were hungry and the smells coming from the restaurant were enticing. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady and seated and our waiter was extremely nice and helpful. The salads are gorgeous and delicious and the entrees were very good. My only complaint was that they cut the prime rib so thin that that you could almost see through it. It isn't for a family with lots of kids unless you have money to burn. The atmosphere was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    474
    252
    144
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central Lake, MI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything as advertised”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The outside sign says "Best steak for years running". Well they didnt lie. I've had steaks at many many places but not like here. Each and every bite was moist, tender, and delicious. Putting any type of steak sauce or anything else on their steak would be an insult to the chef and the establishment. The prices, staff, pleasant dining atmosphere well match the prices that are offered. If you want a great fine dining experience, this is the place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaytonShepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesville, Georgia, United States
1 review
“very disappointed”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

after a long day of driving we had decided to relax and chow down on a nice juicy steak. we were really disappointed. the steaks were very tough not juicy and no flavor. we would have been better off at macdonalds. sorry alamo never again and we go to pigeon forge at least twice a year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly J, Owner at Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
To read us being compared to McDonalds is horrifying! You said your steak was tough and lacking flavor, and I apologize. We buy top quality meat, season it, hand cut it and cook it over an oak fire, so it is surprising to read that it lacked flavor and tenderness. But we do make mistakes, and so I am sorry. I only wish your server or a manager had known of your displeasure, as we would have gladly gotten you another steak immediately. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YUM-O!!!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We LOVE the Alamo in Gatlinburg, Tn. We always go there when we are in town which is 2-3 times a year...The staff is amazing and the food is beyond compare!!!! The steaks are always cooked perfectly and served promptly. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Gatlinburg. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wardell, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best meal we had on our trip. Bacon wrapped shrimp, perfectly grilled steaks, a waitress named Liz that was just great, and a terrific atmosphere!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing