We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Early dinner at Alamo”

Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #20 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Temporarily Closed Unfortunately our Alamo Steakhouse location in Gatlinburg was lost in the wildfires in the area on Monday November 28th. We had celebrated 18 wonderful years in the building, and we are heartbroken at the loss. We are committed to rebuilding our beloved restaurant in the same location in 2017. The timeline is uncertain, but we will keep you posted.
Morgantown
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Early dinner at Alamo”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After hiking all day in the Smokies was definitely hungry. Excellent appetizer of bacon wrapped shrimp that was barbqued. Large salad, large sweet potatoe, large steak and all were excellent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,161
    473
    250
    144
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very busy. Long wait. No waiter in the bar. Food average. We ate about 8:00 on Friday night. Probably not going back too many other choices in the mountains!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNTraveler1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and friends wanted to treat ourselves to a great meal. We could not picked a better place! Our server, Scott, was great! The food was expensive, but worth the money. We barely had room for dessert, but Scott sold us on the chocolate cake. We were not disapointed. Nice selection of wine and the house wines were a good brand.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yadkinville,nc
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very good food and friendly people but come prepared to pay a lot for it... I have been to much better places that didn't cost nearly as much and had better food...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommaofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not bad, but expensive”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our first trip here to the Alamo in Gatlinburg. Based on the reviews, we dicided to order a meal and share it. We ordered "The Steak" (that's what it's called on the menu) which comes with a salad, rolls and a side. We were very surprised by the salad - it is very big with lots of veggies. It was LOADED with dressing - the salad was swimming in it. We had to take off some of the dressing to enjoy it. So, I'd advise ordering the dressing on the side. "The steak" came out cooked properly and it was very big. I had a terrible time cutting into it. There was so much fat and marbeling in it I couldn't get the knife to cut through it. We ended up sending it back because we wanted meat, not fat. We changed our order to the New York strip. It was very good. Perfectly cooked and well seasoned. We ordered the side of mac and cheese which was not good. Very bland and not very "homemade" tasting.
We haven't decided if we'd eat here again. Our bill wasn't too bad because we split the meal, but if each person ordered their own meal it could easily cost a fortune for a family to eat at this place. For the money, we've had just as good of a steak at Texas Roadhouse.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank au322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing