We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Too expensive”

Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #17 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Unfortunately our Alamo Steakhouse location in Gatlinburg was lost in the wildfires in the area on Monday November 28th. We had celebrated 18 wonderful years in the building, and we are heartbroken at the loss. We are committed to rebuilding our beloved restaurant in the same location in 2017. The timeline is uncertain, but we will keep you posted.
Elm City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Averages about $30.00 plus for an entree and the food is not worth that much. It was a place we will not go back to.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Wester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    473
    250
    144
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A traditional Steakhouse”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stopped in for dinner. I got a steak and my wife got the Grouper (fish). Our dinners were good, especially the grouper. We felt the prices were a little high for what you got. Your meal comes with a salad and one side. The place was average inside, nothing fancy. We had a great waitress. She was full of energy and constantly kept a check on our table. I doubt if we would return, not because we did not like the place, only because there are other places in the area where I feel the steak was better (The Peddler).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank offseasontravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Excellent Food and Service"”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My wife and I chose this restaurant at random. I'm not much of a steak person, but she loves a good one. The atmosphere was quiet, and our server was pleasant and attentive. She was very pleased with her steak, (Filet Mignon) and I loved my entree. We had the Texas Taters for our appetizer and New York Cheesecake for dessert. I have no suggestions or criticism for this place. I'll be sure to visit each time in Gatlinburg!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kestp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
836 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Consistantly Good”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have been to the Alamo in Gatlinburg three times in the past 4 years. It is a chain steakhouse but is a little better than the base line type. Steaks are consistantly above the average, prices a little higher but not bad. We like the sirloins because they are thick, well cooked with a good smoky flavor and are low in fat (we both have had heart problems in the past so we watch it). They are good and juicy which sometimes sirloins can be a bit dry. The sides are always good, the mixed veggie grill has a ton of mushrooms that compliment the steak. A good place for the money a little out of Gatlinburg which limits the crowds

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and affordable”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Service was great and food met expectations. Our waitress was honest about the selections and offered alternatives to our selections.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing