We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden treasure in Gatlinburg!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kingwood Inn
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Rockingham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in Gatlinburg!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I read all the reviews on hotels in Gatlinburg before making my reservation at the Kingwood Inn. It is an amazing place run by some very friendly, accommodating people. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished, beds are very comfortable, grounds are immaculately kept, and location can't be beat. It is within walking distance to the main strip. Took us all of 5 minutes to get to the Village every morning for Donut Friar or Pancake Pantry. This will be the hotel that we will stay at for future trips to Gatlinburg. Thanks so much to the Kingwood Inn for making our trip so wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    43
    23
    17
    16
See reviews for
56
58
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel we normally stay in when visiting Gatlinburg was booked due to a large dance competition in town. The Kingwood Inn is a very efficiently run mom & pop hotel, especially for the price and time frame we booked, We checked in extremely late so the clerk had to be awakened, but still checked us in with a smile, and was able to still get us the room we desired. The room was very clean and tidy (a bit in the retro 70's) but very comfortable and inviting. The housekeeping and checkout staff was extremely warm and hospitable. Distance to downtown was a very short walk (3 min), allowed us to leave our vehicle even though we had checked out. Would definitely stay at this location in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bountyqlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have always wanted to visit the Smokies and finally got to it last weekend (16th & 17th March 2013). Booked this place after checking with a host of other Inns & Motels that infest this area. Nobody even came close to matching the price of this place. As a result I was slightly skeptical. To my utter surprise this turned out to be the best motel I have stayed in so far in US. This place is tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg, and yet its within very close distance to downtown. Kingwood Inn is a vast and expansive property having 2 primary buildings and a bunch of small cottages. Rooms are very spacious and clean. We were a group of 5 & 2 double bed rooms were sufficient. Got a free upgrade to 2 queen bed rooms as well since this is primarily off season and the beauty of smokies is subdued at the moment.

This place has got everything you need in Gatlinburg and I highly recommend this to everyone looking for an economic solution in Gatlinburg.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Indranil_Ganguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was my first trip to Gatlinburg, TN since I was a teenager. I heard about the Kingwood Inn from friends who had stayed there, so I gave it a try. Wonderful experience. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They had great advice on things to see and places to eat along with info on where discounts were available.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. I had everything I needed. Writing space, wi-fi, fridge and microwave and plenty of hot water! Too chilly for the pool but it looks like it will be great in warm weather.

The Kingwood Inn is located close to the main drag, just a couple of blocks off. It's perfect because it's close to the action but quiet. The price was really reasonable. I will definitely go back and I brought back info for friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here a night before we went to our cabin for the rest of the trip. Mainly so we could have a Saturday night out in Gatlinburg. We booked a King with fireplace online. But apparently the booking site (travelocity) made a mistake. We were credited by the owners. So it was really cheap to stay here. The walk to the main part of the stip is two blocks. You can even cut through the Village shooping center. It is a good place to stop for cheeses, teas and spices or coffee and doughnuts. Don't expect a five star Waldof Astoria, or even a Holiday in. This is a clean motel. You stay here to save money. The beds are comfortable enough. The pillows sufficed. They had a fridge in the rooms and a microwave and coffepot. Had a good stay and want to look into rentin onsite cabin.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm your room with the owners before you get there. They promise its cheaper to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napoleon504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Springs, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The owners (American owned!) extended warm and kind hospitality. They were eager to make certain that our stay was comfortable and acceptable. The room was clean! The whole complex was neat and clean! The wi-fi didn't work in our room but we were happy with the social/technology break. The location is a very short walk to the main strip of town; tucked neatly away in a cubby off the main drag. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Hot showers! They have 4 rooms in which they allow pets to stay which is very important to us as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAJewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Kingwood Inn is a mom & pop hotel a few streets off the main highway near the Mountain Mall in Gatliburg. It took about 10 minutes to stroll downtown at a leisurely pace. Rooms are comfortable and very quiet--something that is hard to get in larger chain motels. Although it was full the weekend I stayed, it was very quiet all weekend. Everything in the room worked including the mini-fridge and microwave. Cable TV was basic only but no real problem there. The price was reasonable and the bed was comfortable. It reminds me of a simpler time before life became so hectic and unpleasant.

Room Tip: I don't think you would find a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#26 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites
Economy Inn & Suites
#49 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Inn

Property: Kingwood Inn
Address: 117 Bishop Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3511
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kingwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Kingwood inn, you'll feel at ease in our tastefully decorated rooms with individually controlled heat/air conditioning. King and Queen size beds are available. All units with color extended basic cable TV, refrigerators and telephones. Rooms with kitchenettes or wood-burning fireplaces are also available. A launderette is located on the grounds for your convenience. All rooms are just steps away from Kingwood's sparkling, heated, 40-foot swimming pool with kiddie pool and sundeck. Also have Cabins Rentals on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kingwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing