We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Reuben!!”

Cheese Cupboard & Hofbrauhaus
Ranked #51 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love the Reuben!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My family goes here each time we are in Gatlinburg. The Reuben sandwich is the bomb. Served with plain potato chips and a pickle spear. On the table is horseradish, spicy mustard and relish. It is steamed on a press. Kind of like a panini press without the grooves. If you like Reuben sandwiches don't pass this up. Awesome!!! Cost for sandwich, chips, pickle spear and drink is about $10.50. The lady waiting on us was very friendly although very busy. Unfortunately, this business is up for sale. Hopefully, if someone buys it they will keep up the tradition of the place. My family has been visiting it for years and years and would hate to see it close.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMe1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    57
    25
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Adorable Cheese Shop and Wonderful Little Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Cheese Cupboard is a small shop, but don't let that fool you. It has a wide variety of cheeses from many countries. The Hofbrauhaus is one of my family's and my favorites. It is a place that is near and dear to our hearts. We always eat here when we visit the Smoky Mountains. The restaurant is cozy and just perfect. A husband and wife run the whole thing and do it with class. The food is consistency delicious. My husband and I have tried many things. Our favorites are the Hoagie followed by the Reuben. Our son loves the Frankfurter. We saw that it is for sale, and our hearts are broken. We are hopeful for the future, but we are fearful that it will never be the same.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KY_grl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was good for what it was. Not what we expected but still ok. Bratwurst was ok but "microwaved" as was the corned beef. We had so much bad food in Gatlinburg this year this place was better than most. Not a bad lunch overall and different than a burger.

The place is for sale, that may be one reason for less than excellent quality.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mouse Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are a cheese lover, expertise or novice, don't miss out! Incredible variety of cheese. Started drooling just entering the store. We also had lunch there and the Ruben is fantastic! The lady owner is as sweet as can be. The atmosphere is adorable, felt like we were transported to Europe. It does have very limited seating, might try to avoid lunch rush.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SquishyChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Cheese Cute Shoppe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place is nestled in the Village located in Gatlinburg .The shoppe has many different kinds of cheeses.My favorite by far is the Smoked Cheddar."I am addicted to it!!" They have a few tables upstairs where they serve there specialties.

I have been to many cheese shops in New York and this place is my favorite between both cities.

Brigitte Grisanti New York / Gatlinburg Semi Resident

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Cupboard & Hofbrauhaus also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Cheese Cupboard & Hofbrauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing