We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheese Cupboard & Hofbrauhaus

Cheese Cupboard & Hofbrauhaus
Ranked #52 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toledo
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were a little disappointed with this place. Very average sandwichs at very high prices. Portions were not in line with the cost. I would not try this place again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uncle_stu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    56
    25
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheese heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I were looking forward to visiting this shop. We walked in and could not decide which cheese to select. The front end worker was very helpful to us. She recommended the Buttercheese from Germany and the Drunken Goat from Spain. Both were excellent! We will make another trip to this store the next time we are in Gatlinburg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We never leave Gatlinburg without eating from our favorite sandwich shop. The Reuben is THE best I've had and use it to measure all other ruebens by. My wife loves the roast beef and says there is no other like it. The owners are the staff and are always one of the most friendly folks we run into there. Located in the Village it's a short walk from where we stay, Baskins Creek Condos.
When you eat at the Hofbrauhaus you will agree with my review. If not, then you're just looking for something to complain about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EASeabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Reuben”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went here for lunch and had Reubens. They were very good. It comes with a pickle and chips. This is not a fancy place, just a very small Deli upstairs from the Cheese Shop. The owner both worked at the cheese shop and served us. She was very friendly and did a good job. We will go back next time we are in Gatlinburgh.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hardshell911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Section
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great reuben sandwich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Did not even know they served sandwiches! It is a small place with the cafe upstairs. Well worth waiting on a table. This is a must do in my book! We will be going back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sphilli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Cupboard & Hofbrauhaus also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Cheese Cupboard & Hofbrauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing