We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe everything you read, some people like to "expand" on things.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greystone Lodge On the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't believe everything you read, some people like to "expand" on things.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

I've stayed at Greystone several times and no, it is not brand new, no, it isn't perfect. It's a very old motel as is almost every other one, but trust me, we go several times a year to Gatlinburg and some of the motels are so bad I would not let my dog in them to use the bathroom. I love Greystone, the location, the service, lots of "mature" people that are in housekeeping which makes me feel safer and they are very friendly. They now have fridges in the rooms and if my hubby hadn't lost his job, I'd be there right NOW, this is my favorite month to go due to the colors of the leaves. Gatlinburg is my favorite place in the world and Greystone is my second home, I would not steer anyone wrong. Just know to expect it is older and you'll be fine, ask for non smoking. The only problem I have with G'burg is the CONSTANT nonstop crazies who yell at you while you are trying to enjoy your trip wanting you to go view their timeshares. Did it one time before we knew and lost a whole day of our vacation because of it. AND they get furious with you when you tell them you are not interested after you view their properties, I mean it shows too! So take my words as you will, but it's an awesome, quaint, beautiful town and Greystone is a great place to stay while you are enjoying your trip, you aren't in the room that much anyway! Try it and enjoy and just realize that some folks have bad experiences everywhere they go, you can't make them happy unless you give them the room for free if they complain enough. It's how they pay for their vacations. Nuf said, have a great trip!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmokeyMtndreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    304
    125
    47
    45
See reviews for
383
332
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I travel to Gatlinburg every year for the past 12 years, same time of year. We choose this hotel for the location and that our usual place was booked solid. Check in was quick and the girl who checked us in was very friendly. We were in room 358 on the 3rd floor. The room was ok, little dated, bed was not comfortable and the sheets seemed very old with stains and rips/tears. TV was very nice, which was odd to have a flat screen TV in an outdated room, looked a little funny in the room. The "closest" was a standard dresser, not huge and limited space and hangers. The main point of the room was the huge balcony that over looked the creek, seen lots of wildlife. The bathroom was this ugly pale green color that was kind of depressing to walk in and the toilet was barely hanging on!! It was leaning one way or another due to the seat being broke and the bolts not securely holding it down to the ground. The parking garage was great to have. Very safe and loved the idea of haiving our door so close to the parking garage door. The only thing we did not like was the fact, we like to walk every where, never move our car until we leave to go home, this hotel is set back off the main strip, not as close as we like it, some may, but we did not. Not a total turn off, but I probably will not stay here again for the fact that it was a little further then we like, not the hotel's fault. I can not comment on the breakfast as we ate out everyday. Oh and our room came with a fridge free of charge, without asking for it, it was there when we arrived. Check out was quick also. House keeping came in everyday and cleaned the room, no issues on that. Will post pictures later.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We chose lodge due to location. However, the beds was sooo uncomfortable, no microwave, scratchy sheets and awful old blanket. A make shift closet. Be sure and inspect room before staying. We will tell our family and friends to avoid this lodge.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunner197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

We chose to stay at Greystone because of the location and price. I had stayed years before and remember a nice clean room, awesome pool and decent breakfast. This time I was wrong. The price was good for our budget but everything else was horrible. We stayed in a King Suite on the main floor only steps from the pool. The room smelled like a mix between chlorine from the pool and really cheap cologne. The bed was slightly damp, which led me to believe they didn't dry the sheets all the way or that the room may be moldy although I didn't see any. It looked as though the bathtub had just been rinsed out and was in need of a deep cleanse. Although the staff was friendly we arrived an hour after checkin to find our room was not ready, the extra time didn't help. Although the location is great we will be returning to the Johnson Inn and staying in a Condo the next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachykeen1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hotel is in a great location. Nice, clean room. The breakfast wasn't good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

When we arrived and checked into our room we were very shocked. The bathroom was filthy and had mold in it. The beds were horrible and the room had a musty and moldy smell to it. My husband, who has asthma began to have a reaction because of the mold in the room. We went back to the front desk and requested another room and were given another one without a problem. The second one was better, but still smelled kind of musty, but at least there was no mold in the bathroom. We were on the second floor, over the parking garage, which was okay. If you stay there do not take a room on the first floor in the parking garage as the door to your room opens directly into the parking garage! Pool was so small my husband thought it was a hot tub. This hotel is in a great location and that is really all they have to recommend it and it is next door to the trolley stop. They need to demolish this hotel and just start over from scratch. It is dirty, moldy and just horrible. The only reason we stayed there was it was close to what we wanted to do in Gatlinburg, but if we ever go back I told my husband we are staying at the Hilton and I don't care how much they charge me a night, it would be worth it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crabbyappleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We came for the Nascar race in Bristol Tn and stayed in Gatlinburg because we were not going to pay the 300 to 400 dollors a nite for a room in Bristol area. After reading many reviews we picked Greystone Lodge because of (1) the great location in the middle of the strip which is great for walking the town. (2) You are next to the trolly stop. (3) The price of the rooms. (4) Had a pool and free Cont breakfest. We stayed on the ground floor in a standard king room which was very clean including the bath room. The bed was nice and soft and we slept great all 5 nights. Room had a 32" flat screen TV, hair dryer, ironing board and iron. No microwave or refridgerator but you can request them for a small fee, we never use them so it was no big deal for us. This place was clean, the parking lot, the pool area, hall ways , lobby, breakfest area all very clean. The staff does a great job and all were very helpful and friendly. We will stay here from now on each time we come back to Gatlinburg. Hope this review helps someone because this place is a high 3 star to a Middle 4 star motel for the price. As a nascar fan who travels to alot of races I have stayed in some real dumps for twice the price as Greystone and my friends this is no dump, very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.7 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#8 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Property: Greystone Lodge On the River
Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing