We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good for the price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greystone Lodge On the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Whitesburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good for the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with 3 teenage boys for rodrun. The suite we got was pretty good. It was new so we had no complaints. The bathrooms were very nice and the beds were very comfortable as well. They had a decent free breakfast too. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    304
    125
    47
    45
See reviews for
383
332
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Apparently they had just remodeled this place, it was very nice: new rooms, new beds, newly remodeled outside. Everything seemed to be updated. We stayed here several yrs ago and it wasn't really much to talk about. So we never really had a reason to stay there again. But when we saw they had availability for memorial day weekend and from the pictures, it seemed to have had an update; we thought we'd give them another try. It was very nice, we didn't use there pool, but it looked nice. And we didn't eat their continental breakfast, but I guess its good. We will stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank B-rad1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We should have stayed at the lodge. They also rent small cabins which ours overlooked some rapids. I give it one star as when we got there it looked as if no one ever cleaned it. EVER! We walked into spider web after spider web. Even had spiders crawling all over the place. Then do you ever go fix anything at your places??? None of the light switches worked for any of the porch lights. All were burnt out. Terrible Fridge noise that would not quit humming really loud. Every switch we tried didn't work. The downstairs toilet. I'm sorry anyone over 6'0 tall good luck. Go upstairs and sit on that one instead!! Terrible place. I told the lady at the front desk the next day and she never said SORRY or anything. Nothing. Bad experience and I will not stay there again!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in any of their cabins. Or pay the price for them. Over priced for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littlefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

3 Stars for Greystone. It is centrally located. Ample parking in the Off Season. The restaurant next door takes up Greystone Guest parking until it closes in the evening. Average amenities. Has a pool with a slide. Breakfast served each morning... skip it and hit one of the many local pancake houses for better fare. But for the $ the Greystone is the best place to stay in Gatlinburg. Free internet also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel twice. First time was 5 years ago and we were not impressed at all. Second time was this memorial day weekend. We planned a last minute trip and this hotel was one of the only ones still available so we figured we would give it a second chance. I am very glad we did. We stayed in one of their recently renovated queen executive rooms. It was so much nicer than I expected. Well appointed, aesthetically pleasing decor and very clean. Nice balcony overlooking the stream. We did no take advantage of the breakfast or pool but the pool area looked very nice. Front desk associates were very friendly. Best of all it was centrally located so that most everything was within a reasonable walking distance. The location was quiet compared to many places we have stayed. This may be our new favorite place to stay when we make our 3-4 trips a year to the smokies!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelgirl0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed one night here while in Gatlinburg. The price was better than the crappy chain hotel down the road. The rooms were very clean and had everything you would need. The bathrooms were kind of small with no countertop space for makeup bags or anything. The fan in the bathroom ran constantly so we had to keep the door to the bathroom closed which was very stiff, squeaky and hard to close. In room coffee pot and fridge was a nice addition. Our room had a view of the river from a nice sized balcony. There was a pool but it felt a little cold for my liking since it was outdoors. The free breakfast was decent. Eggs, sausage gravy with biscuits, plain donut holes, cereal and toast and bagels. It was in a great location to all the fun downtown activities and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony over the water and a newly remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaW623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel based on their price and location and we were not disappointed! Our room was in the newer remodeled section and it was very comfortable and clean. The local trolley/tram service was across the street from the hotel and very easy to use. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalTravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.7 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Property: Greystone Lodge On the River
Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing