We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greystone Lodge On the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
bowling green, ky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were lucky to find a room here on a busy July weekend, having arrived in town without reservations! The room was clean and looked brand new, but a little small for the price. The location is convenient to attractions and shopping, so you can park your car and enjoy this fun destination on foot. We had a small balcony that overlooked a creek which was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast area has plenty of seating and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank syl j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    304
    125
    47
    45
See reviews for
383
332
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This seems to be our favorite place to stay while in the Smokey Mtn. Area. It has a great location, very clean, and always a smile to greet us when we walk in to check in. It is nice to have a consistently nice place to stay, with no "suprises". Always very clean, not fancy, but very comfortable. This time we stayed in one of the new remodeled King rooms, and it was just perfect. One of our favorite things is being able to listen to the river behind our room, and watch the ducks. It is the perfect area to be able to park your car and walk everywhere you want to go. The trolly line is right across the parking lot, so you really don't have to get in your car till time to leave. They also serve a wonderful complimentary breakfast, with biscuits
and gravy, oatmeal, fruit, other dry cereals, doughnut holes, milk, coffee, variety of juice's.........a wonderful breakfast, something for everyone. No, it is not a discount hotel, but I feel it is not expensive either. I like cleanliness, and comfort with no suprises. Also, from the time I call to make reservations to the time of our check out we are treated so kind and caring . I feel like we are treated like friends, and that they value our business. I always recommend the "Greystone Lodge" to everyone coming to the Smokies for a nice relaxing stay !

Room Tip: Creek side is always wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 864Terri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the greystone several times in the past. This is the first time we have not stayed in the main portion of the hotel. The "tower" part although nice with the parking garage is somewhat dated. Door knobs are hard to open sometimes and the beds could stand to be a little softer. The location makes up for some of it. We will probably stay here again on those trip that we want to be close to the strip but don't want to have the heavy traffic of the strip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've stayed here twice and I was never impressed with the room, but the location is great . Everything is within walking distance including the amazing aquarium. The breakfast was okay but the first stay we had bagels a d cream cheese and some apples and bananas, now this second stay which was on 4 th July weekend was awful, oatmeal was disgusting, there were nothing but biscuit and gravy, plain bread and cereal... I think the room was overpriced but the location was the only reason I stayed at but there are other options nearby. The parking garage was always full on our floor and I'm sure other cars parked there from different floors because it should have one spot per room, the main foot on each floor was never locked so for safety purposes I didn't think that was right so anyone without a hotel key could walk in... The shower was awful there was no pressure on the water so I couldn't even remove soap off me. I'm not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie12300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is beside the aquarium, and within walking distance to all the other major attractions in Gatlinburg, which cuts down on parking costs. It's roomy, has a pool, and the staff is great. It's on the river, so you can hear the water just by opening the balcony door. It's one of the very few places that allows smoking; it actually has a whole building just for smokers, while the rest of the hotel is smoke-free. The parking deck was great, as we were right outside our room. Included in the rate was a continental breakfast. Overall, my grandson and I were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoCMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn City, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I loved staying there..It was very clean and everyone was so nice..We will be staying there again next vacation!!! I will be taking my granddaughter to the Aquarium next week and we will also be staying there. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meronda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

well it was supposed to be on sale,but for what we ended up with it was not a deal.the location to ripleys was good the motel itself was not great.we had a room in the upper level and finding the pool or the office was a very annoying experience.we tried to ask the cleaning people for directions they were friendly but couldnt explain or understand english.the elevator did not work half the time you had to go down from 5 to 1 then cross a parking garage walk past another building to get to either the pool or the office no internet at all unless you went down to the room next to the office that wasnt finished yet.the metal frame on the bed was sticking out in the middle we didnt notice that until i smashed my ankle on it.i was lucky i had an ice pack i did leave the pillow case with the blood on it setting on the metal frame when we left so i hope they fixed it for the next person not many plug ins and extra furniture that just got in the way,the river balcony would have been ok if there had been a screen so it could be left open the birds enjoyed it more than we did.breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 29ratatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.7 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Property: Greystone Lodge On the River
Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing