We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Istayed here with a group from church--17 people. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and the location was fantastic. We easily walked to the nearby attractions. A trolley stop and the aquarium were right across the parking lot but we didn't use the trolley or visit the aquarium. The free breakfast was small--basically biscuits/gravy, cereal, bagels, and donut holes--but good. A creek with ducks runs behind the hotel. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neesienoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
There are newer reviews for Greystone Lodge On the River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

My family and I stayed here while on a quick weekend trip to Gatlinburg. We stayed in a "2 double bed" room that had a balcony over the river. The room seemed a little bigger than most hotel rooms and was very clean. There were, however, some stains on the carpet. The room also seemed a little dated except for the new flat screen t.v. This hotel is very convenient to all of the downtown attractions and was priced a little lower that its competition. This hotel is a great place to stay if you are staying for just a couple of days and if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chevycess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The babbling brook directly below our second story tiny balcony was the best feature of this stay. We watched fishermen and wild animals, and loved the sound of the water gurgling by (when it wasn't being drowned out by the heavy traffic across the way). Unfortunately, between direct hot morning sunshine and afternoon/evening mosquitoes, we were only able to use the balcony part of the day, but chose not to spend much time in the room, as it was dark and depressing. The furnishings were shabby and worn; bed linens were anything but inviting (thin sheets, with an ancient bedspread and pilled blanket I was uncomfortable using). The mattress was apparently quite old, as there was a depression and it squeaked. The parking garage, while convenient to the room, had a roaring exhaust fan that made coming and going unpleasant. Fortunately our room as far enough away that we could only barely hear it at night. There also was no walkway from the second building, where we stayed to main sidewalks, so you either walked through the garage or wound your way through dark dingy corridors and then across the parking lot.

Gatlinburg is too touristy to be cute or relaxing, restaurants were passable but not really good. The in-town location was good for walking everywhere, but not for a quiet country vacation. Nearby Pidgeon Forge has many places for family entertainment, which could be a draw, but isn't our type of entertainment. Other negatives: no WiFi in room; poor breakfast buffet. Won't go back!

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in the main building are in better condition/more inviting???
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachly271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay in the heart of downtiwn Gatlinburg We were really disappointed with how shabby the hotel was. The for furnishings were old and everything was a little dirty. We stayed in a king suite so I assume it was one of the nicer units. The parking garage was attached to our room and you smelled exhaust fumes all the time. The continental breakfast could have just been skipped. One nice thing about the room was it had a little balcony that overlooked the little creek that runs through Gatlinburg. Won't stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelnut1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I was a little disappointed when i first saw the room because i thought it was like lityle cottages but after i hit the huge king size bed i never wanted to leave the room again! The room was nice it had a few little issues but what motel wouldnt with so many people coming and going. We would stay here again with no problems.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinsumvaca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have stayed here before but has been a few years. We like to stay at hotels with private balconys which the Greystone has. The pool is a nice size the chairs could be cleaned of bird droppings and cobwebs. The breakfast only consist of bagles, donut holes and biscuits and gravy (so much for healthy eathing). The rooms are a little out dated but clean. My biggest complaint is they do not have WiFi available in the room. We bring our ipad with us so we can read our local newspaper when we travel. I was completely shocked to find out this somewhat modern hotel does not have it in the room only in the lobby. Now come on even motel 6's have WiFi. How inconvient to go down to the lobby every time yoou want to use your computer. On the upside of this hotel it is in a good location right behind No Way Jose's Mexican Restaurant (they have a nice outside covered patio to have chips and salsa) and only about 2 blocks from the beginning of the main strip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weloveretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have stayed at this facility four different times in the past 8 years and have never been disappointed, Our room has always been clean and if there ever was an issue i.e. sink would not drain, it was fixed right away. Check in staff were friendly and quick. We were allowed to park anywhere on the property which meant even though our room was not in the parking garage area, we were able to park our motorcycles in there which kept them out of the weather. The breakfast is decent and is more than enough to get you started for the day. Cannot say enough about the location. Easy walking distance to all the stores and attractions. Will be going back again next year!!

Room Tip: For peaceful evenings, choose a room overlooking the water stream.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWLJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $45 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing