We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed ever!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best bed ever!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I was a little disappointed when i first saw the room because i thought it was like lityle cottages but after i hit the huge king size bed i never wanted to leave the room again! The room was nice it had a few little issues but what motel wouldnt with so many people coming and going. We would stay here again with no problems.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinsumvaca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    330
    133
    49
    46
See reviews for
452
379
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southgate, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have stayed here before but has been a few years. We like to stay at hotels with private balconys which the Greystone has. The pool is a nice size the chairs could be cleaned of bird droppings and cobwebs. The breakfast only consist of bagles, donut holes and biscuits and gravy (so much for healthy eathing). The rooms are a little out dated but clean. My biggest complaint is they do not have WiFi available in the room. We bring our ipad with us so we can read our local newspaper when we travel. I was completely shocked to find out this somewhat modern hotel does not have it in the room only in the lobby. Now come on even motel 6's have WiFi. How inconvient to go down to the lobby every time yoou want to use your computer. On the upside of this hotel it is in a good location right behind No Way Jose's Mexican Restaurant (they have a nice outside covered patio to have chips and salsa) and only about 2 blocks from the beginning of the main strip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weloveretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have stayed at this facility four different times in the past 8 years and have never been disappointed, Our room has always been clean and if there ever was an issue i.e. sink would not drain, it was fixed right away. Check in staff were friendly and quick. We were allowed to park anywhere on the property which meant even though our room was not in the parking garage area, we were able to park our motorcycles in there which kept them out of the weather. The breakfast is decent and is more than enough to get you started for the day. Cannot say enough about the location. Easy walking distance to all the stores and attractions. Will be going back again next year!!

Room Tip: For peaceful evenings, choose a room overlooking the water stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWLJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently stayed at this property with my handicapped son. It was very easy to get into & out for us with him in a wheelchair. They even have orange cones that you can save your parking space while you are there!!!! Ground floor access with no stairs or elevators to deal with!!

Breakfast is great with easy service to get various items!!

Pool looked fun, but we never had time!!!!

Good property with very nice workers!!!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in main part & not the towers for easier parking!!!! They even did this for me with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were booked to stay here through a travel company! It was so filthy! Hairballs behind the frig, used make up pads behind the refrigerator, stained carpet, black mold in the bath, missing shower head, dirty bathroom floor, dirty toilet ( to the point we lined it with toilet paper before sitting down), dirty bathroom sink, used soap in the shower, dirty sheets, door jammed shut hard to get in and out, moldy trim, foul odor in the room and hallway. Was scared to go to sleep for fear of what might crawl on us. Wished there was shower caps to use for shower shoes! Hard to even feel romantic in such a discuting place! The health department should condem this place! Totally by far one of the worst hotels we've ever stayed at! We requested our money back and moved to a much cleaner, friendlier, more accomindating hotel in pigeon forge for the rest of our smokey mountain vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hawaiiplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just held our Military police Reunion (3-6 August 2012) at the Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium and the staff at the lodge went out of their way to make our reunion a resounding success. The front desk staff, George from Maintenance, and Barbara and her daughter from the breakfast dining area were outstanding! I experienced two minor glitches in my room during the week I was there and both times George showed up within minutes and took care of the problem. Barbara went out of her way to entertain us and treated us as if we were long lost friends. She made us feel so welcome that we hated to leave. The location was excellent and the prices for the rooms was very reasonable. If I come back to Gatlinburg I will stay at the Greystone again without fail. It was excellent!

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the stream and really enjoyed seeing the animals and ducks playing in the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The location is outstanding. It is adjacent to the Ripley's Aquarium and provides easy access to the Gatlinburg Trolley and other area attractions. The price was reasonable for the location but the facility itself could use some updating. The staff on the other hand went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and provide us with area information and discounts to help make our weekend more enjoyable and affordable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Property: Greystone Lodge On the River
Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing