We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherokee Grill

Cherokee Grill
Ranked #10 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a big family dinner here immediately after our wedding. Everything was perfect! There was plenty of space for 16 people in the River room where we sat. They also let us store our wedding cake in their cooler the night before. Servers were friendly and prompt. Food was amazing and the drinks were also great. A word of caution though~ one of our servers poured my 18 year old son and his 18 year old girlfriend each a glass of champagne and had zero intention of checking their ID's. Luckily, they don't drink or they could have easily taken advantage of a situation like that. We just laughed it off and told her to take away those glasses :) Overall, a GREAT experience and we will definitely dine there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank supermommyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,634
    730
    260
    89
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, cleanliness issues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The food was great and the servers were very nice, but we had utensil after utensil and plate after plate sent back with bits of food or grime on them, and at no point did they offer an apology, only excuses.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good prime rib”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The service was very good on a slow night. We arrived into town late and stopped in for dinner. We started with the house made egg roll and that was very good. My wife had the prime rib and it was cooked as she requested and had good flavor. We both thought that it could have been seasoned a bit more, but we like alot of spice. I had the teriyaki sirloin and it was very good. The flavor was deep and again the steak was cooked to a great medium rare. We both had the mac and cheese and that stole the show for us both. It was tremendous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SkunkyWunky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the place it used to be.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have been coming to the Gatlinburg area for quite a while and were originally very pleased when the Cherokee Grill opened. Having a little more upscale restaurant is a nice change when there are a plethora of casual restaurants available. Times have changed.

One of the first times we were there the food was very good and I felt it was worth the money. That is not the case any longer.

Several of us started our meal with a cocktail and 2 of them ended up being sent back. Mind you these were not some weird concoction that only a couple people would know how to make, these were Amaretto sours. The orange juice and sour mix were the predominant flavors as I think they only waved the bottle of Amaretto over the drink. My drink was a featured drink of the resaurant and I don't know if it was good or bad as it was a interesting mix of flavors that didin't taste of anything in particular.

The entree's were your typical steakhouse fare ranging from NY Strip to Prime Rib. For the side dishes I hope you like potatoes. There are 5 ways to order then with only a couple of other options. The big rub is that if you would like to substitute a salad for one of your potato sidedishes it is an upcharge of $4.00. For the prices at this restaurant I would certainly think that a salad would be included(note: a salad is one of the cheapest things a restaurant has-I have worked food service) Once the meals arrived I was very surprised as to the amount of fat that were on the Prime Rib, I understand that this is usually a fattier piece of meat but these portions seemed even more so. They did not appear to be seasoned in anyway and overall were unappealing. My dinner was the Steak au poive that is a NY strip with pepper and a brown gravy. My past steaks prepared in this fashion were made with fresh cracked pepper and a nice flavorful gravy, This one was not that. It was pretty much your standard pepper from a pepper shaker and the brown gravy was clearly made from a powdered mix as it tasted grainy and did not have much flavor. The only redeeming part was that the steak was tender. The filet that my son had ordered only got an "it's nothing to write home about".

We passed on dessert however their choices were limited to three things.

The Hostess and our server was very nice and the service overall was ok.

Sadly tho this visit will be our last as we have no desire to go back based on the quality of our meals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JustUsfromtheBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

What a great atmosphere and friendly helpful staff! Our family meal was wonderful. The crabcakes are to die for and the fillet was cooked to perfection and very tasty. Highly recommend!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank britinus_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherokee Grill also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Cherokee Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing