We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steakhouse”

The Peddler Steakhouse
Ranked #15 of 197 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located at the entrance to Great Smoky Mountains National Park in Gatlinburg TN, The Peddler Steakhouse is literally built upon tradition. Families continue to return from one generation to the next. We invite you to start a new dining tradition with us.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived without a reservation on a Thursday night around 6:00 and were told it would be a 1.5 hour wait. We walked upstairs to find a place to wait and were told all tables upstairs are first come first served, so NO WAIT! We were seated and served immediately. Enjoyed their huge salad bar, drinks and food delivered without a long wait. Good, friendly service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,481
    457
    266
    137
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Prime prices but not prime cuts”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The atmosphere was nice and the staff was capable, but for the price we paid for the steaks, I feel they should have been prime, not choice. Although they do allow you to select the steak, the marbling was substandard on all the available choices. I recommend sitting near the eindow to watch the water flow by over the rocks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuntmanmik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Its a bit pricey but worth the money!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great salad bar, there are few in Gatlinburg. Steak was great and cook to order. Dessert was soo good. Always a line to wait and a bit pricey but well worth it! Best place to eat in Gatlinburg!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Still the Best!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We dined at the Gatlingburg Peddler last evening and it was just as good as ever! Outstanding selection on the salad bar, and our rib-eyes were cooked just as ordered, and were very good, almost as good as I cook at home! but, it is a little pricey!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoachC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food terrible service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to the Peddler for years and have been disappointed with the decline in service over the years. This last visit topped it off. We will never go back. Our server started off by asking if we wanted an appitizer while handing us the menu's, failed to give us bread plates or apitizer plates. Then when she did bring the appitizer plates, slid them across the table at us. Then she said she'd send us themeat cutter in 10 minutes and we had to flag him down ourselves 20 minutes later. The steaks themselves were great, but having to deal with that type of service isn't worth the wait and hastle. It seems they have let their previous sucess and popularity go to their heads.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peddler Steakhouse also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to The Peddler Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing