We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing LUNCH”

Wild Boar Saloon at Howards Steakhouse
Ranked #114 of 197 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Meridianville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing LUNCH”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stopped here to have a quick bite to eat and oh my goodness the Hamburgers and fries were to die for. They were the best we had ever ate. I highly recommend eating here!!! The people are so nice and the food simply amazing!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    22
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaFayette, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch Special!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I ate at this restaurant with my wife this past Saturday. We had made a last minute trip to the Smokies (basically to get away before school starts back), and were just "winging it" as far as what to do, where to eat, etc. We were walking down the strip around lunch time when the manager of this restaurant asked us to keep them in mind for lunch, and pointed out the lunch specials for the day. He also told us he could seat us with a wonderful view of the river (which due to melting snow and rain the day before was very high). We decided to give it a try, and I am so glad we did. We both had the hamburger lunch special (they grind the meat in house) with the house made french fries (I added Pepper Jack Cheese to mine). The flavor of the hamburger was, no exaggeration, the best I have had in a very long time. I was very pleased with the meal, the service, and the view (as promised) from our table. I recommend this restaurant for lunch (and recommend getting a hamburger), and be sure to ask about the specials of the day. You'll be glad you did!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNB962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wild Start at Wild Boar, Good Finish”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

After walking downtown Gatlinburg my wife and I were ready to eat and we decided on Wild Boar. After we were seated the onslaught of who was going to be our server began. Then wait staff along with the host literally argued over who was going to take our table and not in a good way. We started to walk out but a server named Haley saved the evening. She was not in the fray as to who would be our server and did a wonderful job. After all settled we had fried mushrooms and they were delicious. My wife had the ribeye and I had bacon wrapped pork tenderloin. Both were cooked to perfection and tasted great. Needless to say Haley saved the day. Other than the wild start we enjoyed dinner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal and wonderful service”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our family recently had supper at Howard's Steakhouse - everyone enjoyed their meals which were made fresh. Drinks were served cold and the BLOODY MARY's were the BEST!!!! We recommend anyone going to Gatlinburg to go to Howard's Steakhouse and enjoy a local restaurant with great burgers and steaks and drinks! Our server did a great job and we were all taken care of! Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“sauces make it”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

To be truthful I wasn't all that impressed with my sandwich until I dipped it in this incredible au jus. My husband said what made his burger was the mushroom sauce. So if you get something get it in a sauce, they're really good here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sswingfieldky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Boar Saloon at Howards Steakhouse also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Wild Boar Saloon at Howards Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing