We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what was described!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not what was described!!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

When we got to the norwegin hus there was little parking( on a wry steep hill). Then the sitting area wasn't big enough. The benches back was broken. There was no heat on the main level. The chairs around the table were broke and there wasn't but 8 of them. Not the 12 advertised. Only 3 TVs in the place and the wifi and phone didn't work. Upstairs the shower didn't have a head on it. The pool table was in the loft an the balls would fall thru the hole and end up on main level which wasn't safe.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kennedyklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2015
As best we can tell by looking over maintenance work orders, this review must have come from a friend or relative traveling with the guest of record. The internal guest survey for this stay did not mention any of these items except the heat issue which was noted as being resolved quickly by a service technician, giving the maintenance department an excellent rating. Some of these issues did appear on a work order, post check-out, and were promptly handled. We regret we were unable to satisfy all the concerns during the visit which is what we always prefer to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    10
    20
    25
See reviews for
53
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed for a week in Cuddly Bear Cabin at Mountain Shadows Resort in Gatlinburg, TN - Oh my goodness...the beds were so uncomfortable - it was the most painful nights sleep we ever had. Also had family staying in Bear cabin - they also same issues with the beds being hard and uncomfortable. After a few days we bought air mattress at local store to try to sleep more comfortably. We had to buy blankets as they did not have any blankets or extra linens. Not enough towels - had to buy cleaning supplies and detergent and had to wash towels daily so all could bathe/shower. Cabin was too small and there are NO CLOSETS or STORAGE at all. Pool table was in the loft and could not be used since it is put in a room too small for pool sticks to be used. Floors were dirty - had to keep socks or slippers on. Great view and location was close to Gatlinburg...that's about it.

Room Tip: Worst beds - worst night sleep we ever had - painful nights sleep for the whole family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2015
We are very sorry for your unpleasant experience with the Cuddly Bear cabin. We make every effort to meet guest requests for extra linens and supplies as well as have our cleaners come in for any housekeeping issues that we are made aware of. Thinking we may have missed something, we went through this cabin’s guest folios during this time period and could not find any contemporary notifications on these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Providence Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

WE stayed in Blue Mountain View Last December for a week. The cabin was clean and easily accessible. It was warm and cozy Our only complaint was the bed was lumpy and worn out and the sheets were ill fitted. Alll in all it was a good value for the price We will return again in the future

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richiepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your week’s visit in Blue Mountain View and appreciate the heads-up concerning the bed. We will pass this information on to the cabin owner for updating. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We are staying at almost home. We have 12 in our party. The cabin is very nice and clean. Lots of space. Not cramped The beds are NOT comfortable. We did have to wash towels every day. Bring your own laundry detergent. The kitchen is some what stocked. We cooked our Thanksgiving meal here. We had to run to the store to buy Pots and pot holders. The oven did not cook evenly and burnt the food on the bottom. The gas grill and hot tub are nice. The biggest downfall was no WI-FI. Apparently it is up to the owner to have wifi. Some cabins have them and some don't. I would stay at this resort again but maybe not this cabin due to lack of wi-if.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2015
We appreciate your comments and willingness to return even though things weren’t as ideal as they should be. Your input has helped us in stocking the cabin’s kitchen better, addressing the beds comfort level and adding Wi-Fi to the home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The cabin was great it was close to stores and only 5 minutes to all the attractions , it was in a great location and was really great deal and pet friendly.We stayed sept. 22 till sept 29th. Only thing there is not to much for kids in gatlinburg and pigeon forge the rides are way over priced and not worth it the best time was at parrot mountain .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imaprincessliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
We appreciate your positive remarks about your cabin and do hope you will return to our area again for a vacation or getaway. When you do come back, be sure to check with the front desk staff about things to do in the area, our clerks have brochures and information on hand to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, WV
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sugar House in mid August. It was our first trip to Gatlinburg area and I found Mountain Shadows via an internet search. We were satisfied with our cabin. It was cute and clean. We had a hot tub on the deck which was nice but I don't think all the jets worked. For our first dip we felt we had been completely disinfected as the chlorine was so strong! It burned off a bit as we left the cover off for a while!
Pros for this cabin: private with lots of tree cover around back deck, very clean and well furnished, close to downtown area, grocery and gas. Big jacuzzi tub and a nice size bath room.
Cons: the kitchen is poorly stocked for dishes and utensils...not one potholder in sight! There would not have been enough flatware for four. You have to take your trash to the office which is just crazy! We had two trash runs for the week, the last with a fully loaded car and we had to stuff a smelly bag of trash in to check out. Pool was not open in the evening when we would have used it. One last con....owners, please spring for a better cable package...it was hard to find news and weather!
All in all we enjoyed our stay at Sugar House but for the price we paid I did expect some more amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJWSummersville_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
We sincerely regret your less than satisfactory experience at the Sugar House cabin. We have notified the owners of your concerns of the areas requiring their approval and addressed some of the others we could shortly after your departure. Unfortunately there is no efficient way to handle garbage in the resort area due to poaching bears, raccoons, et al save for having it brought to the dumpsters. Even the permanent residents who live in the Mountain Shadows community are required to take their refuse to a county site as no outside containers are permitted in the community by the homeowner covenants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading some negative reviews about this resort I wanted to come back and confirm it was excellent.

We stayed in Southern Comfort Cabin and we could not have asked for more, 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, hot tub, washer and dryer, everything worked and it was much better then we were expecting.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank autumnsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2015
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your cabin and stay in Mountain Shadows Resort. We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
3.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#43 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
2.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Property: Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Address: 1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious log homes - hot tubs, spas, fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, gas/electric grills, game rooms, swimming pool. Honeymoons to Family Reunions. Gatlinburg trolley, Adjacent to National Park. Children's Playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Shadows Log Home Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing