We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, Nothing Fancy, But Fine for a Short Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Heritage Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Heritage Inn
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Armuchee, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean, Nothing Fancy, But Fine for a Short Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I recently stayed here with my daughter. We stayed in a room with two queen beds. Our room didn't have a microwave, but it did have a nice -sized refrigerator. We stayed on the top floor in the corner in a relatively quiet area. Our room was clean and I feel that the towel supply was decent. The front desk gentleman was very friendly. The pool area and hot tub seem to be well kept. The hotel sits on the street running behind the parkway. To get to the main street you have to either cut across a parking lot and go up through the Moonshine Holler Parking Garage or walk down the street and up a side street. Really, the walk wasn't too bad, and we cut through the Rondettes a couple times. If you don't put out a "Do Not Disturb" sign, the cleaning staff may be knocking on your door early in the morning, so keep this in mind. This place isn't fancy or modern, but if you are only using your room as a "landing spot" while you enjoy the area, it is just fine. I will stay here again. but may try to get a room with a balcony next time. I didn't really like not having one. For a longer stay, I'd try the Rondettes. The beds were very comfortable also.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, or, for a longer stay, get a Rondette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmallFamilyBigWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    54
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
52
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown
Level Contributor
89 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Mountain Heritage Inn located on River Road in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, is a quaint Inn with standard rooms, deluxe rooms, cottages, Roundettes, and suites. When I’m on business, I usually stay at the Cottage, Room 127 but when Patty (My wife) and I go to Gatlinburg, we move around a bit. Last time, we stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, room 201. (Married 28 years and counting)

The cost was $124.00, just $25.00 more per night than the deluxe rooms. It was a bargain. The suite has a nice size bedroom, king size bed, TV, window, a good size bathroom, a ready room, large living room, with fireplace, a heart-shaped jacuzzi, kitchen with stove, refrigerator, sink, dishes, etc, and a wrap around second story balcony with a nice view of the Smoky mountains.. There is even an elevator so you do not have to lug your luggage up stairs. It did come in handy.

The room was clean, spacious, felt very secure, (Door locks were tight with no wiggle) and the area well-lit. A great place to stay when visiting Gatlinburg as the Inn is just a several minute walk to the Parkway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I were staying in different hotels in Gatlinburg, but grew weary of the main drag. We started looking around town to find a different place to stay. We found Mountain Heritage Inn with affordable prices, within walking distance to every where. Close to the Smoky Mountain (which we enjoy), with us spending most of our time in the mountains. The place needs updating, but rooms are clean. The staff is very pleasant and can't say enough about Louise in how she has made it feel like home for us.
Our search for a different place to stay happened in 1994 and we go to Gatlinburg 4 to 6 times a year. We now consider this place our home away home! We've been there so many times, everyone there seems like family to us! I now have additional people staying here and have found everything I have said to be true and now this is the only place that they will stay also!
If you decide to stay here, tell them Bud Sams send you! It'll bring a smile to Louise or Janice's face.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is bad room, there is a room for everyone's budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our first stay at Mountain Heritage Inn....and we will definitely be back...We stayed in a king suite and the room and balcony were awesome...Yes...it is outdated.....but very clean....We had a small kitchenette....dining area.. bedroom....and living room....and as I stated.....a very nice balcony to hear the mountain stream.....Housekeeping went out of their way to keep us happy....and the staff..(Ms. Louise,and in the office) were all exceptional...It is located just a block off of the parkway....and you can sneak up through the Smoky Mt. Moonshine parking lot to the parkway.....I would HIGHLY recommend the Mountain Heritage Inn if you are looking for a CLEAN, FRIENDLY, and rather QUIET place to stay....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gatlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

It's not the Ritz by a long shot, but we don't take a trip just to stay in a fancy room. It had everything we needed, pet friendly, clean, comfortable, everything worked, and it was very close to the convention center where I had business there. Didn't break the bank to stay there. I felt like we got a real bargain. Going back again in 2 weeks on business and we're staying there again. As long as I am getting clean, comfortable accommodations, I could care less whether it's "fancy" or not.

Room Tip: The Rondettes are pet-friendly if you have a family and need more room. We stayed in a regular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Taking a short trip on a budget, we returned to this hotel for our 2nd visit (we stayed here over the 4th of July last year) As usual we found our room clean and ready for our arrival. The rooms are outdated and could use a face lift but they keep it clean and you cant beat the price or the location. The only thing we were very disappointed in was the pool nor the hot tub were up and running. The pool is still closed as it needed repairs and we were told by the male in the office they would not open the hot tub fearing someone would fall in the unfilled pool. They did make it up to us on the nightly rate.

Room Tip: The handicap rooms on ground floor have huge bathrooms. The end rooms have their own balcony with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family has stayed at Mountain Heritage Inn for many years and on many occasions. We haven't, however, stayed in the Rondettes since 1994 until now. The Rondettes are perfectly round, free standing units beside the main hotel structure. They are equipped with two bedrooms, two full baths, a living area with a queen sofa-sleeper, recliner, gas logs, central a/c, and a fully equipped kitchen. Out front is a full deck with charcoal grill, table and chairs.
Mind you this is in the middle of town on River Road, but is somewhat secluded, relatively private, and very quiet. There is easy walking access to the Parkway as well.
Our stay was fantastic with four adults and four kids. The place was spotless clean and was like home away from home.
In eighteen years, these structures have stood test of time with obvious great care, which the same can be said for the entire facility at Mountain Heritage Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gunny214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 82 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#8 of 82 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#30 of 82 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
0.0 mi away
LeConte View Motor Lodge
LeConte View Motor Lodge
#32 of 82 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage Inn

Property: Mountain Heritage Inn
Address: 575 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3126
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Heritage Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing