We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Price and Location are good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Heritage Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Heritage Inn
Save
You added Mountain Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Price and Location are good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Absolutely bare bones but clean and convenient. The only things furnished are soap, toilet tissue and Kleenex which is OK since I always take my own shower gel, shampoo, etc. Take your own coffee maker and coffee if you want coffee in your room. They do have free coffee in the lobby. The lighting is terrible - so dim you cannot see you apply makeup. It is an older motel and very dated but it was very clean. Bed was just OK, heater/ac unit appeared to be relatively new and was quiet. WIFI was furnished and worked really well. Price was great. All in all, it was good for a short stay and we would stay there again. I do think they need to put in some brighter lights, at least above the mirror.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parrothead43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    49
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
44
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stay here every year for our anniversary and love it. Its a great location to walk around town and return to your room at night.This time we rented room 101. It is a great room to have,it has a seperate bedroom,couch kitchen,fireplace and balcony.The price was good and the room was clean and comfortable. We have already booked a room for NewYears.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the nicest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It isn't fancy and it's certainly dated in appearance and functionality compared to modern hotels but for the money it was a perfectly fine place to stay. We spend most of our time in the park or on the strip anyway so the amenities of the hotel are not a high priority. What was missing for the price? There weren't many places to plug-in chargers and appliances conveniently although we didn't suffer because of it. Wifi in the room was inconsistent and spotty. The hot water in the shower was a little unpredictable at times. But everything else was very adequate.

The great part is the location. The main drag in downtown Gatlinburg is an easy walk away and access to the park is wonderfully easy via River Road. No traffic to fight by staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We happened to get a handicapped-accessible room, although we hadn't requested one. There were 2 sinks with mirrors, one outside of the shower area, which was a good thing since the bathroom fan didn't work. The bedroom had a microwave and refrigerator, but lacked any chair that was movable and had no table or desk for eating. There is no breakfast provided. The lighting was poor. There was some noise from neighbors going in and out all night. The location away from the main strip was a plus to us. There were a couple of restaurants fairly close by. The room was clean and the bed was OK. The price was good compared to most in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCBirdLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This was a perfect place to stay. No bells and whistles (continental breakfast, coffee in room) but VERY neat and clean. Shower was hot, AC worked great and right in the heart of town. All other hotels wanted $125 and up, so the $70 per night was great. This is the way a hotel should be run. I definitely will return and I am telling my friends about it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Beau Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The family stayed here in Sept. of 1991 fro the first time it was great. Been coming back and forth to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg since then over 217,000 miles and we love The Great Smokey Mountains. We never could remember the name or the location of the MHI but this past wekend we made it a specail thing while in TN to look for it. We found it!!!! I was excited and so was the wife. I couldn't wait to see the small cabin type outside. They were there and it was a welcome sight. The kids have all grow up now so our trips will be the wife and myself, maybe grow kids to, but I just had to stop in and ask about the rates and so on. The people there were friendly and when I explained how we came about them they were glad and welcomed us back. The place was as great now as it was then. This is a must stay and we will!!!! Thanks Mounatin Heritage Inn this is what vacations are about.

Montgomery ALabama

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountains217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here again the second weekend in June after picking up my Marine son from Parris Island, SC to take him home on leave. There were 9 of us so we got 3 rooms together on the 2nd floor. This motel has not changed much in the years we have been coming here. There's no breakfast bar (god forbid!), no fitness center (gasp!), and no "work-all-year-just-to-pay-for-my-vacation" high price (thank god!). This is a basic motel, family owned, quiet, and, as far as we have ever seen, clean. We love the place and have not stayed anywhere else in Gatlinburg since we found this place about 15 years ago. It has an outdoor pool with hot tub, free coffee in the office everyday until noon, rocking chairs in the shade outside the office to relax in, an elevator to the upper floors, and a few concession machines. If you need all the "bells and whistles" stay somewhere else and leave this place for folks like me who want to relax but not go broke on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#33 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#7 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
0.0 mi away
LeConte View Motor Lodge
LeConte View Motor Lodge
#30 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reagan Resorts Inn
Reagan Resorts Inn
#52 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage Inn

Property: Mountain Heritage Inn
Address: 575 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#25 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Heritage Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing