We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Older style rooms in great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse at the Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverhouse at the Park
Save
You added Riverhouse at the Park to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Older style rooms in great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Staff is very friendly, rooms clean and very nice overlooking stream. Hotel tucked back of the main drag but in easy walking distance. Room decoration looks dated, but adds to the charm. We look forward to staying there again! Kipp Brown

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbrown1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    83
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
79
144
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A friend of mine booked this hotel for us. I checked it out online, the rates were ok considering that we went on a holiday weekend and the pictures looked nice. The river just outside the balcony was a big plus for me! When we got there, the reception staff was really nice and helpful. The rooms were another story though. It was like I stepped into the 70s: old furniture, huge fridge and microwave, old wallpapers and decors, old bathroom fixtures and wall outlets. The biggest peeve I had was that it smelled musty. I usually don't complain and write negative stuff but I guess this was my experience here. I have never stayed in a musty hotel room in all our travels. However, because we were trying to make this situation work, we opened our doors, turned on the AC and tried to air out the mustiness. The sound of the river running kinda helped too. Don't get me wrong, the room is so huge! Lots of space and it has a fireplace (only works during winter) too. I also don't understand why they didn't have enough lights for a room that big. We had a hard time packing/arranging our stuff at night due to the lack of lights. The bed was ok. We were scared of bedbugs so we checked every nook and cranny and thank God, there weren't any. Having your breakfast delivered to your room was a nice touch. It was freshly made donuts or toast and coffee, juice or tea. The staff were really very efficient and accommodating. The place just needed to be updated and remodeled to keep up with the times. It is in a very good location in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jahzeel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times and still maintain this is our first choice for staying in Gatlinburg. Walking distance to several fine restaurants and the sitting on your deck listening to the river is a very relaxing visit to the National Park. Rooms are large with fireplace for winter guest and swimming pool for summer.

Room Tip: Corners suites on the south end have more windows but more expensive. All rooms are nice and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulldurham70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering,oh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at Riverhouse at the Park for first time after my wife and MIL have been there every year. Hate to admit but they are absolutely right, this is a fantastic hotel and everything about it makes for a wonderful experience.. Just don't tell anyone.......;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProudBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay here on a whim... we made a last-minute decision to go to Gatlinburg for the night and we ended up here because it was about half the price of the place next door and still in a great location (at the mountain edge of the back of the strip). Room was super clean and the staff is amazing! We have a new favorite hotel in the the Smokies :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been staying at Riverhouse at the Park for several years. We found it by accident and have been returning there whenever we can get to Gatlinburg. We love the location which is within walking distance to everything, especially nice restaurants and shops, but is on the quiet end of town by the park. We have been getting one of the Parkview rooms for the last few years and love the view of river and waterfall--definitely worth the extra cost. You hear absolutely no noise at all, except for the water flowing over the rocks. The balconies are very nice and relaxing. The rooms are nicely furnished and big, with plenty of room for a table and chairs and comfy seating in the bedroom. We also like the separate dressing area and bathroom. The beds are very comfortable, shower is great, and they have updated the TVs. We would not think of staying anywhere else in Gatlinburg. A very nice clean place with super friendly staff.

Room Tip: I definitely recommend a room with a balcony over the river -- the very best rooms are the Parkview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kytravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

When traveling to Gatlinburg, I always stay at Riverhouse at the Park or Riverhouse Motor Lodge. For a true Smoky Mountain experience, this is the place to stay. It's always immaculately clean, friendly, and nowhere else can you have the private balcony over the Pigeon River experience. And where else can you have breakfast brought to your room in less than a minute? Knowing that I can depend on the cleanliness, friendliness, and price, it is indeed like returning home each time.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the river. The first floor has the best views, but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuff39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#7 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse at the Park

Property: Riverhouse at the Park
Address: 205 Ski Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3142
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Riverhouse At The Park Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse At The Park Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing