We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Riverhouse Motels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverhouse Motels
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
N.E. Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The rooms at the Riverhouse Motor Lodge are roomy, clean and each room has a view of the river. This is one of the few family owned hotels left in Gatlinburg, and is worth checking out. Location is great.... Not right on the main strip, but just a short (1 block) walk.

A+!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    69
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
97
151
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I,ve never slept to the sounds of a river roaring by my door, but I got lucky at Riverhouse Motorlodge. We left the door open all night just for the sound & woke up to watch the sun hitting the water on the Pigeon River. Coffee and doughnuts were fresh & hot too. Another plus was the 2 big comfy chairs in which to relax by the fire. I would definitely come back here. P.S. bathroom was newly renovated, clean and nice .

Room Tip: All rooms face the river, so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Returned back to hotel after 20 + years. We travel to Pidgeon Forge - Gatlingburg at least once per year due to close distance. We normally stay at the larger hotels since we generally know what we will be getting and often trips are planned at last minute. This motor lodge was special and we will plan ahead next time and return again.

We were in room 15 near the office, first floor. We chose wood burning fireplace which had a jacuzzi type large tub. Yes, little dated as compared to new hotel but this is what Gatlinburg is all about. (or used to be) Quaint, on the river and very special. Exceptionally clean. Loved that you could park your car right in front of door! We splurged and indulged in the homemade donoughts for breakfast. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitnesscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The good reviews here were all correct. Just stayed the weekend with my family and was beyond happy with the hotel. Very clean room .. We had two queen beds and the room had lots of room . If your looking for a quality room without setting the wallet on fire this is the room place for you. All the rooms overlook the water which is relaxing. The continenal breakfast is delivered to the room in about 7 or 8 mintues after you hang up the phone . Also being within walking distance from all the downtown attractions was a plus.I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hollywood c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our first visit to the Riverhouse, but will not be our last. Excellent location and service. Our room had a balcony overlooking the river and a wood fireplace. The fireplace was fully stocked each day. This is an excellent property to relax, enjoy the area and recharge. Continental breakfast delivered to room was also a plus.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with our weekend stay. I normally would stay at the more well known chain hotels. We made a last minute plans to visit Gatlinburg and found the Riverhouse Motor Lodge. The room was large, little outdated, however it was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was recently remodel. Balcony overlooking the river, wood burning fireplace and homemade hot donuts delivered to the room in the morning made the stay very enjoyable. Next visit to Gatlinburg will include a stay at the Riverhouse Lodge.

Room Tip: Every hotel/motel on River Road is call River(something). Make sure you look for River "HOUSE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larryf_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Walk in check in was fast. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room had rustic cabin-like feel to it. All rooms look out to the river. There are 3 options: no fireplace, gas fireplace or wood burning fireplace. We chose no fireplace. The room was clean and comfortable. Room had fridge and microwave. Did not eat the complimentary continental breakfast. The bathroom was excessively cold. The heater for the bathroom really didn't work too well. Next time we will get a room with a fireplace. Water pressure for the shower was excellent. The location could not be beat! It really made our stay in Gatlinburg great. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrigmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse Motels

Property: Riverhouse Motels
Address: 610 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Riverhouse Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing