We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laurel Point was an enjoyable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laurel Point Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Staunton, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Laurel Point was an enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

My wife and I rented a timeshare from an owner at this resort. We had never stayed at a resort before, but had toured one in Branson so we kind of had an idea. This is an older resort and that was not kept a secret but it is claimed to be well maintained. Although there were some areas where attention was necessary, I would have to agree that it was well maintained for a resort of 30 plus years of age. Upon arrival, we found the front desk clerk very courteous and helpful. Our room was exactly as pictured on the internet. The carpeting was an obviously dated shag which made it difficult to open some of the bi-fold closet doors, however everything about our unit was clean. The unit we were in (301-B) had a very nice balcony with access from both the living room and master bedroom via sliding glass doors. The kitchen was good size and fairly well stocked with most things necessary for cooking. We brought a few specialty cooking items and were glad we did so, but all the basics were there. This place was extremely quiet even though we were staying at the height of tourism season (7/4 thru 7/11). They have a laundry room, recreation room, and fitness room. The indoor pool was nice however it is rough textured and if you have young ones who do more jumping around as opposed to actual swimming, I would recommend bringing or purchasing swimming socks. Our younger ones ended up with some raw spots on their toes. Having never stayed in a resort, we were highly pleased. The amount of space you have is about 4 times what you would expect in a typical hotel suite, perhaps six times the space of a typical hotel room. It was so nice to have a full sized kitchen as well. We saved a great deal of money eating breakfast in as well as some lunches and dinners. To give you an idea, some of our meals included french toast on one day, fried potatoes, sausage, and scrambled eggs on another, baked barbequed pork steaks one night, and grilled steak on another. (there are charcoal grills and one gas grill available outside the pool area) Obviously, meals of this magnitude cannot be accomplished in a simple hotel suite, especially for a family of six. I just can't say enough for the positive experience we had. We are seriously considering buying a timeshare because staying in a hotel just isn't the same anymore. As far as any real concerns we had, the mattresses were extremely firm. Also, driving up and down the mountain daily is kind of hard on your vehicle. The entrance to the resort is right at the crest of a hill, on a blind curve. Those truly are the only complaints I have. I would highly recommend anyone to not hesitate to stay here especially if your only experience is with hotels. If you have stayed at newer, top notch resorts, this one may be lacking for you. However, as stated, this was our first experience and we stayed here for a lot less money than what a hotel would have cost. The only drawback with a resort is that there is no maid service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C_and_H_in_Staunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
58
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kosciusko, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

This Resort was very nice. I had my family from Switzerland over and we stayed here, we were all very happy. Was very clean, staff was very friendly.

  • Liked — Location very quiet.
  • Disliked — no Answer
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mg170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

We "swapped" within the RCI system. We had a delightful time in spite of construction on site. They are in the process of adding elevators to the two buildings that previously did not have them. Which will make it even nicer for those of us who are in the boomer years as well as for the families with young children who have to travel with practically everything they own. The management is in the process of updating the facility -- both outside and inside. The units are quite roomy with good views from the balcony..moutainside or tree tops, depending upon the building you will be staying. The furniture is in very good condition. The staff is very courteous and helpful as well as being friendly. Their actions tell you they are delighted to have you "visit". They are knowledgeable of the activities in the area and can be most helpful if you are unsure of exactly what you would like to do. This was a very enjoyable vacation trip..made even more so with having stayed at Laurel Point.

  • Liked — size of unit and staff
  • Disliked — the quick turn-in to the resort
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank alabamabelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

We did an RCI exchange to Laurel Point for June 15th - June 22nd. The resort is about 30 years old, but well maintained. We stayed in building "C" which offered a Friday check-in with an elevator. I called the resort a few days inadvance to request a unit close to the elevator as we were traveling with someone who uses a cane. They were very accomodating to my request and were given the first unit closest to the elevator. The unit had been recently painted, new dishes, new pots and pans and new carpet. Even though the carpet was fairly new, there were lots of stains already on the carpet. The dresser in the master bedroom was so close to the end of the bed that you really could not open the drawers. The room really needs to be reconfigured to accomodate the furniture. This is really my only complaint.

The indoor pool was nice. It was cold, but nice. When I called the resort inadvance they advised that they open the retractable roof over the pool when it's nice. It wasn't open while we were there and it was 80 degrees plus each day. There were lots of leaves on the roof and it did not look as if the roof had been opened for a long time!

They offered a self service towel exchange Sunday - Thursday. The ladies working in that area were very nice. I used the laundry facilities on site, also very nice.

This is one of the best places to stay if you want to stay close to the Smokey Mtn. National Park. It's just a mile away. You don't have to drive through the Gatlinburg traffic to get there. We did horseback riding, caving (Tuckaleechee Caverns), Dollywood, Fanny Adams theatre, Ober Gatlinburg, lots of hiking. I highly recommend the Gatlinburg Trail. The trailhead is located almost directly accorss of The Happy Hiker which is located in a shopping center at the bottom of Ski View Mtn. This is a 2 mile hike from the edge of Gatlinburg to the Sugarlands Visitor Center. Easy hike with easy access to the river...great place to take the kids creek stomppin'!

There is a great waterfall hike in Cherokee. It's called Mingo Falls and it was a great short hike to a fantastic waterfall. There are lots of steps leading to the falls, but it not bad if you take your time. Kids can definitly do this! The National park won't direct you here as it's not in the park, it's in Cherokee.

If you have the time, a drive to Bryson City in NC is a great trip. This is the southside of the park. Here you can go tubing down the river in Deep Falls. Also there are lots of White Water rafting companies in this area too...class III and IV rapids. Kids have to weight at least 60 lbs. There is a wonderful resturant at the NOC (Nantahala Outdoor Center) - Relia's Garden. We also took a Jet Boat tour...it's a rollar coaster on water..it's a must do!

There is a lot to do in the Smokey Mts...don't let your vacation end in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge...explore!!!!

Also, take the family to the Arts and Craft district of Gatlinburg...it's a great area to see first hand how pottery, moccasins, etc are made.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Sue0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2006

Laurel tree was a great place with friendly staff. Unit was nicely equipped with lovely view. It is located at Traffic light #10 in Gatlinburg. This was a good thing for us since we primarily wanted to see the Smokey Mountain Park. # 10 is just at the entrance of the park and did not need to go thru town. The town of Gatlinburg was a very big disappointment from the last time we were there a couple years ago. Too commercialized and touristy. Does not have a mountain town feel to it and alot of the smaller shops are gone and replaced by "waste" attractions. That was the only downer of the trip.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank marietta58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2006

The staff was great. The complex has a diligent maintainence department . The location offers excellant views. The accomodations were well appointed and clean. I have nothing but praise for the place.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2005

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Laurel Point. Since we spent many days in the Great Smoky National Park, we found the resort to be in the best location. Also, it was a very convenient location to get to the many attractions in Gatlinburg. The two bedroom condo was spacious and nicely decorated. Friends spent a few days with us and they enjoyed the privacy of their bedroom and bath facilities as well as the beautiful view from our balcony--clear view of the great Smoky Mountains. We took advantage of the exercise room and pleasant pool surroundings. Grills and tables are available for cook outs. The location is great for accessing the Ober Gatlinburg tram. Our only disappointment was finding out the tram was closed for maintenance the week we were there. One thing to note is that only one building (green trim building) has an elevator.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.2 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#43 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Laurel Inn Condominiums
Laurel Inn Condominiums
#22 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
#6 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oak Square at Gatlinburg
Oak Square at Gatlinburg
#21 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Place Condominiums
Park Place Condominiums
#17 of 52 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Point Resort

Property: Laurel Point Resort
Address: 805 Ski Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3904
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laurel Point Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laurel Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Point Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing