We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Blah?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laurel Point Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Holiday Blah?”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Don't get me wrong this place has lots of potential. Good location for Gatlinburg (5 min) and easy bypass for Pigeon Forge (15 min). Our room was nicely laid out and nice view of trees, winding road underneath and mountain trolley (enclosed ski lift for multiple people) The is a fireplace, you have to provide all wood and clean out upon departure. There are also about 5-10 check list things to do prior to check-out; non of which are hard to do or individually take much time, just be prepared if you push the last minute time...also so many time shares have done away with these...just fyi. Pool with changing room and some activities for a game room can be checked out from front desk (ping pong ect) Use caution entering and exiting driveway and know that not all places listed in there book deliver up to that location.

We did have what seemed to be staff with the holiday blues, as if they couldn't wait to be off, understandably. However you still have people to wait on and they will have questions, especially if they have never been to the area. On holidays, you are left to fend for yourself, emergencies only by phone.

The only problem we had with the room was the smell, and when addressed we were told sorry they were booked so we couldn't change rooms or we could have some room treatment done but we would have to vacate. ???? There was like absolutely no one there, they do staggered check-in days so we could have been moved, the room cleaned or treated and given to someone else on one of the 2 other check in days. And the thought of vacate after a 10 hour drive and unloading....hmmm. Other problems with room included, doors did not shut correctly, all locks did not work, couch smelled really bad.

Caution to those with disabilities, there are ramps and elevators to get to your rooms, but if you need to do towel exchange, i guess you have to make arrangements with the front desk, several "mini" levels of steps to get there. Same with if you plan to do your own laundry, someone in your party will have to be able to get to laundry room, it is on offset level than any other, a good flight of steps down.

This was a RCI exchange, definitely not what we expected, but did work for a get away for quiet and rest.

Room Tip: on a hill so all will probably have about same view, may want to ask for renovated if there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank creekbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
58
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Ridgeville, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We decided to spend two extra nights on our vacation and found this place. What a find. There were 2 large bedrooms, living room, dining room with table that sat 6, roomy kitchen with everything you could possibly need and 2 full baths. One bath had a large 2 person jacuzzi in it. Also had large porch with sliding doors in living room and bedroom. The wood burning fireplace was a plus. This was also th only place I got to see a large black bear up close and personal. He surprised me in the parking lot. I was probably ten to fifteen feet away. He was very docile. The staff at check in were great. We even were given two free tickets for lumberjack feud dinner show. The place was very clean. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM BAY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. We traveled with friends who had swapped their time share for this resort. They made a great choice! We were close to many attractions and things to do. The view from the patio was very nice. My husband had gone down to the laundry room and was sitting outside of it at a table when a momma bear and her 2 cubs just walked right past him! She looked up at him, he was about 6 - 8 feet away from her, and when he didn't move, she just put her head back down and kept on walking! My husband was so exited, took him a minute to get his camera on! But he did get a few pictures! The units here are very nice and comfortable. Lovely views! And the management staff were very nice! He is an excellent singer! Really enjoyed listening to him! The resort is fairly close to everything, too. We will definitely go back to this resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAGGIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked a week stay at Laurel Point thru Veteran Vacation for a terrific price. It is a great place to stay in Gatlinburg. 2bdrm/2 bath was perfect for three of us. Very clean, quiet and had everything we needed. Staff was friendly and ready to help with anything you needed. Will definitely check them out for our next trip to Tennessee!!


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clancy7952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have seen this place for years while visiting Gatlinburg and finally got the chance to stay there.
2 bedroom, 2 Bath roomy condo- all the large. large balconies ( opens off both living room and 1 of the bedrooms) are totally private- can not see from another unit and overlook either mounatins or woods or both. 1000 sq feet, dining room table seats 6 and in addition there are bar stools along the long/large pass thru. Very roomy kitchen, dishwasher, microwave and coffee maker stove ( it said stove top but we had a full stove) and lots of counter space. Living room had large couch, large loveseat and nice armchair, all comfortable.. 3 TV's in unit, and master bath had large jacuzzi. The best thing was the comfortableness of the beds and pillows!!! They have lots of amenties, indoor pool, hot tub, 2 sundecks,picnic area, fitness room and laundromat. ` Wish the fitness room had opened at 7AM instead of 9 ( by then we were ready to be off for the day)
A plus is- they have discounts for most ot the attractions and will order the tickets for you.
I would have liked non-stick pans in kitchen- but I had brought PAM and that solved the problem. Make sure you bring your own salt and pepper- they don't stock it.
Only wish we could have stayed longer- will the next time. The best thing was- we got a really good deal because of the time we went- the weekend after labor day, and the rates really drop, plus Gatlinburg is not so crowded then and no traffic problems!!! Suggest you go thru Hotels.com , or Booking.com or Expedia, etc. You get better rates that way- rather than just contacting the resort itself. ( which is usually the case w/ condo's/resorts) The only thing is- be prepared to clean up after yourself on checkout day- they have some "housekeeping" requirements of the guests.

Room Tip: They are pretty much all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was a perfect vacation spot. Very clean, quiet, and relaxing. The staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly. It was nice to be on the mountain, but quite close to town (approximately 1 mile). It was also nice to be so close to the visitors center to the state park (less than 2 miles). Huge jacuzzi in the master bath and very functional kitchen with dishwasher and garbage disposal. Convenient laundry room (50 cents) and hiking trail at the resort. Beautiful view from the spacious balcony and lots of wildlife. We saw a baby black bear less than 1 mile from the resort! We will stay here again and would highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: Great view from the 3rd floor. There is an elevator, so I would recommend a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for an entire week, had zero complaints.
Everyone was very accommodating.
Place was clean, comfortable, and well maintained.
I suppose we would have liked the pool open a little bit later, everything else in Gatlinburg did!!
Otherwise, fully satisfied.
Would return, would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DS9fanforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.2 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#44 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Laurel Inn Condominiums
Laurel Inn Condominiums
#21 of 51 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
#6 of 51 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oak Square at Gatlinburg
Oak Square at Gatlinburg
#20 of 51 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Place Condominiums
Park Place Condominiums
#15 of 51 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Point Resort

Property: Laurel Point Resort
Address: 805 Ski Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3904
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laurel Point Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laurel Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Point Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing