We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Economy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Economy Hotel”
Reviewed July 6, 2008

The hotel is terrific. The hotel exceeds the standards of the chain by a lot. The design of the hotel is exceptional. The pool far exceeds that of other economy chains as well. Breakfast was good. The suite we stayed in had two tv's and a moderate amount of space for a family of three or four.

There is trolley stop on the property, which is good since it is a good walk from "downtown Gatlinburg". The trolley route that stops at the location is limited but will connect you to other trolleys at the main hub near the aquarium. Another convenience is being able to purchase discount tickets to Dollywood, Splash Country, and the aquarium at the front desk. Believe it or not the three day Dollywood ticket was a better deal than any other discounts. You can take the trolley to the front gate of Dollywood and save the drive and parking charges.

If you do not care for the free breakfast the Flapjacks that shares the hotel parking lot is excellent (a little slow). The in-room Internet is wired and very god.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Moost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    236
    97
    28
    22
See reviews for
306
222
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

This location was clean and nice. The room was much smaller than expected. My husband, toddler, and I stayed in a room with a king bed, and the room was small. We were disappointed with the size. Also, my husband needed internet access for business use, and we were not able to gain access during our 4 day stay. (We checked on available internet access with a phone call before booking the room to ensure that he would have access as part of our booking w/o a charge.) We did report the issue right away, and we were initially met with a lack of concern by the first staff member, but another staff member was concerned and addressed it. We had a view of the mini golf course & mountains with a nice little patio. The miniature golf course was a bit loud, and it was a bit annoying as you tried to go to sleep. However, we made it through. The indoor pool was nice, small but nice. The location of the hotel is on the end of the "strip", so there were not any restaurants within walking distance nearby. (The restaurant w/in walking distance was being remodeled, so that was disappointing.) The hotel was clean, and most of the staff was pleasant. The continental breakfast was nice, but it gets crowded...go early. I would stay here again, but I would ask for a river view and larger room.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — too small
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OceanSurfSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We booked our hotel through marriott.com and got a decent rate. It wasn't a holiday weekend but that never matters when traveling to Gatlinburg. It's always packed! The hotel isn't in the center of the city but Gatlinburg is small so the walk isn't long. We didn't walk b/c we have an 8 month old daughter and it was quite windy out so we drove into town.

The hotel itself is decent. We looked everywhere for a luxury hotel in the center of the city but all I could find were basic accomodations. We chose this hotel b/c it is a brand and we were more likely to get consistent service here rather than the independently owned hotels where you may have issues with since they were just 2 stars. We got the king room with a jacuzzi. No refrigerator which was bummer since I had mommy milk that I would have liked to store. The ppol was very small but it was heated and very comfortable. There was only one other family there so it worked out well. We never got to use the Jacuzzi in the room or the pool area. The breakfast was hearty. There were the waffles, and they also had little packaged egg/bacon sandwiches that you could warm up which were good too. There was fresh juice and fruit which was nice. I would stay here again when we return to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Great hotel--very clean and attractive, good breakfast
Location suited our family as it was not right in the heart of Gatlinburg--quiet and pleasant
One slight problem was that the room with the indoor pool and spa was too hot for comfort---somewhat better the next day after contacting front desk

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Disliked — not enough breakfast dining space
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jskva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This hotel was a welcome place after a horrible experience in a log cabin. The room was clean and comfortable with new linens and your choice of foam or feather pillows. The hot tub was nice and we met a lot of nice people there (very family friendly). The continental breakfast was also nice. The decor of the lobby and dining area was very nice and inviting. If you have children they have a water park and miniature golf on the property.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank travelingdentists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

The Fairfield Inn appears to be the newest and nicest hotel in Gatlinburg. We normally do not stay in Fairfield’s but we chose this hotel based on availability and reviews of this and other hotels in the area. The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk from the beginning of the “strip” section of town (the Hard Rock). The trolley stops at the hotel but it only runs every 45 minutes from 10 am to 10 pm but when it picks you up it goes towards Pigeon Forge to the welcome center and ends up taking 30 minutes or more. It would be fine riding back to the hotel from town, but not to town if you are in a hurry.

The executive suite was very nice and I would recommend getting a creek-side room on the second or third floor, you look out and all you see is trees and it is very quiet and peaceful.

The room had a nice layout but the sheets and towels were sparse. We were surprised to find both a microwave and mini-fridge in the room, and it was VERY clean and comfortable – despite the small towels. We left a do not disturb sign on the door all day and housekeeping even left a bag of fresh towels outside the door for us, which we thought was a very nice touch.

The Internet did not work very well. We could not get any service wirelessly, we could connect but not pull anything up. The room had wired Internet but that wasn’t great either – although my husband says he could do everything he needed to do.

Overall this was a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I would probably stay here again but would also like to try some places located in town. Based on this experience, I would try other Fairfield Inns!

  • Liked — Nice, clean room!
  • Disliked — Towels
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Buttercup2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

Wow! This is the perfect place to stay with kids! Kids traveling ages were 9,8,7,5.
The hotel was very clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful! It is in a very convenient location; literally on the edge of Gatlinburg (the Pigeon Forge end).
The reasons I have for liking this place so much are really "perks" for parents, but anyone can appreciate them...
1. Indoor pool - They have one outside (with a waterslide), but in the winter, of course, indoor is a must. We loved that after we finished our daily activities, and since it was too cold for any outside activities at night, we could come back to the hotel and not have to worry about how to keep the kids occupied for the rest of the evening, (and it doesnt cost anything! LOL!)
2. Good Continental Breakfast - Cold and hot items: cereal, fruit, muffins, instant oatmeal, waffles, etc. It is such a pain to try to get everyone ready, leave to eat, then have to wait for ? until the food arrives. This was great because everyone went down in their pjs or warm ups, ate, then we would get ready to go out for the day....everyone stayed happy.....
3. Trolleys - There is a trolley system that picks up in the parking lot at the hotel. It is a great way to conserve gas, it's cheap ( .50 per person each time you get on), and the kids enjoy it! And it sure beats the parking garage....!
4. Putt Putt Course - Ripley's Davey Crockett mini golf is right next door, so it is totally convenient; just walk across the parking lot. It has 2 courses and is inexpensive. The best thing about it is kids play free the next day...We play one course one day, then play the 2nd the next....
This is definitely the way to go with young kids.......

  • Liked — Service, Location, Ammenities,
  • Disliked — We have absolutely NO complaints
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank namkraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.3 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Address: 168 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn And Suites Gatlinburg North
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing