We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, clean and well kept.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis In.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, clean and well kept.”
Reviewed June 20, 2005

Nice location, close to many very nice restaurants and park entrance. Room (king bed) was spacious and clean. Friendly staff, plenty of parking, nice pool. Free breakfast was OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barthur58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    331
    132
    65
    44
See reviews for
357
442
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2005

The Bearskin Lodge was a lovely place to stay. It was nice and clean some of the staff were quite friendly some quite indifferent. The pool and lazy river are alot smaller than they appear on the internet but they were well kept and clean. The housekeeping staff was nice and friendly. The rooms well decorated and the outside of the hotel itself is lovely and rustic looking. They have adorable wooden rockers out front that we had them take our pictures in. All in all it was a lovely hotel and I would stay there again. The one thing I should point out is that it is not actually on the river there is a stream/creek out back it is lovely but it is not a river. It is in walking distance to some great resteraunts and lots of nice shops go and have a good time!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank MelRuth1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2005

I Just spent two days at the Bear Skin Motel in Gatlinburg Tennesee. I found it quite enjoyable and very reasonably priced. The hotel is only a few years old, if that, and is a small cozy place. I recommend getting a room looking out over the river. There is a hotel on the other side of the river but you don't feel like they are looking in your windows. You also have a balcony that you can sit out on and enjoy the birds singing and the water running. You are one block off the main drag so it makes it convenient for your adventuring but keeps you away from the noise. The pictures on their web page are exactly what you get, both inside and out.

Helpful?
9 Thank camaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 21, 2005

Just stayed at the Bearskin Lodge on April 9 2005 for our hooneymoon. Staff were very friendly. Beautiful and clean place to stay. Close to
restaurants and shopping. Pools were heated and open even in April.

LOVED IT!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 11, 2005

Our first night was at a Holiday Inn Express (yuck) in Sevierville. We checked out of that place (grungy) and moved on to the Bearskin Lodge on the River. We paid $95 for a river view room with a nice balcony (3rd floor), fireplace and jacuzzi tub for two. Room was clean. Front desk when we were checking in (early at 10am--they let us in the room) was super busy. The woman checking people in also handles all the telephone calls for reseservations and checking people out. Loved the location on River Road.

Breakfast at the Bearskin could be better--but we normally just have a bowl of Raisin Bran anyway.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2005

Like another reviewer, we were originally booked at another hotel (The Holiday Inn). Our first night in town we quickly looked for another hotel. The Bearskin Lodge looked nice from the outside.
We told the staff how disappointed we were with our current hotel. They let us actually view a room to see what we thought. Well, we thought they were lovely. Nice decor, ample room, and clean.
We booked a room overlooking the river. They gave us a great discount as well. The rooms include a free breakfast. Not fancy, but enough choices that my kids were happy.
Our favorite part was the lazy river. The kids spent hours in it. While the lazy river and pool are not big, it suited us just fine.
The fitness center was very small, but I think I was the only who used it.
As far as the staff, I thought they were very pleasant. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank whatsinausername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 29, 2005

Hotel was GREAT! Staff was wonderful and very accomodating! Hotel was SO great that we decided to stay another night. Will return to this hotel this summer. I've worked in the hotel industry for a large chain, and it was very nice to stay at an independent of this quality!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
705 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing